Food items/snax you want back.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Post subject: Food items/snax you want back.Reply with quote

In line with the TV shows you want back, I've heard this subject on MMM.

What food (loosely defined so it includes snax with no nutritional value whatsoever) did you used to be able to buy, but now you can't and wish you could?

I'll start off with the KFC Bean Salad. I could have lived on that stuff. Every BBQ time, duck down to KFC for a medium coleslaw, large potato and large Bean salad. {Yum}

Loose mixed lollies where you could go to the milk bar and drive the person serving to distraction asking for 3 mates, 4 jelly beans etc or just throw caution to the wind and ask for 20 cents of mixed.

Pluto Pups. Haven't seen them for years, don't know if they still make them. Basically a battered saveloy on a stick that you deep fried.

Crumbed sausages on a pub menu. When I was a kid, Mum and Dad would go to the pub once a month for dinner Friday night. I'd have the crumbed sausages with mash and gravy and a raspberry lemonade. Later while mum and dad were yammering in the bistro, I'd end up behind the bar washing glasses for the publican and yapping to the bar flys cos I was bored.

Anyone else got gastronomic memories of something they'd love to see make a comeback?

favourites 2008 

The Machine

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:41 pm

BBQ fusion fries from Maccas.

Dr Pepper!!

http://magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:00 pm

Chipper Prices

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:06 pm
Post subject: Re: Food items/snax you want back.Reply with quote

Loose mixed lollies where you could go to the milk bar and drive the person serving to distraction asking for 3 mates, 4 jelly beans etc or just throw caution to the wind and ask for 20 cents of mixed.

and when you were fortunate enough to have 50 cents well, poor old shopkeeper.

are redskins and milkos still around? what about wizz fizz?

MultipleChoice 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:08 pm

When I was a kid you get a small licorice type block wrapped in a footy wrapper with your team's emblem on it. I think they were called Belgians.

Also reminds me of actual licrocie blocks, and [snip] cigarettes which were cigarette shaped licorice sticks. Quite politically incorrect.
Syd_Magpies_Girl Gemini

The Russell Street Pole Dancing Bogan

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:15 pm

McDonalds Shaker Fries, Chicken Tango Burgers and Chicken Ceasar Shaker Salads.

Oh and Nik Nax's! They were awesome! "Baked not Fried!" Haha!

Yes Redskins, Milko's and Wizz Fizz are still around Smile I am addicted to Redskins

MultipleChoice 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:17 pm

Chipper Prices

I think we traded Chipper to West Coast but I remember him.
Yarra Falls End 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:19 pm

RC Cola

The ad was pretty OK too from memory.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:30 pm

RC cola was OK, but I think it was the ad for TAB cola you remember. Wink
MultipleChoice 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:33 pm

Whatever happened to Victoria Quilter, or did John Diedrich have his way with her?
Yarra Falls End 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:36 pm

Watching the ad was a bit of this Shocked and alot of this Very Happy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:54 pm

Yarra Falls End wrote:
Watching the ad was a bit of this Shocked and alot of this Very Happy

And a little of this.

because there was lots of

MultipleChoice 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:00 pm

This was her

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:14 pm

did anyone ever get loy's soft drinks home delivered? i remember the house at the end of our street always getting a delivery. we were never allowed and come to think of it i'm a little thankful. the kids in that house turned out rather large.
EBB 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:27 pm

'Mars Food'...with the complete set of chemicals.

Edit: 'Mars Food' came in chocolate and caramel flavours.

Last edited by EBB on Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:59 pm; edited 1 time in total

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4