Greetings from NZ

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Chicks Channel

Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:44 am
Post subject: Greetings from NZReply with quote

Hi all!
Been in Sydney and NZ since Tuesday playing rugby and I'm SO bereft of football that I just had to jump on here to say hi. I tell you what, you reckon Melbourne is obsessed with footy, you should see these bloody kiwis with their rugby! Every channel, every radio station, every commercial........it's ALL rugby. Thank god they're out of the world cup.

All the copeland pics are great - I'm still trying to deal with the retirements of Licca, Jimmy and Bucks *sniff*. I saw the news with Licca crying when he announced it - it must've been pretty emotional.

I'll be back on soon - keep the Pie news rolling!

bellastar 

got more wit, better kiss, a hotter touch, a better...

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:27 pm

hope you're having fun in NZ.

is the accent really as funny as it sounds up close!? Smile
i should i say: us ut really es funny es ut sounds up close?

ha ha!

have fun.

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/musical_bellastar
luvlicca Virgo

Oh Nicky your so fine, your so fine you blow my mind!!!!!!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 6:11 pm

Bet that the news of the kiwis getting flogged by the kangaroos today would be making them cry all over again lol!!!

Hope your having fun though Nutmeg!!!

Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:04 am

I know a lot of kiwis back in Melbourne, but yes, the accent still makes me laugh. I keep mis-hearing what they say.

"Dud you unjoy dunner eh?" funny.

Most of the talk about yesterday's league match is how HORRIBLY unfair it was that Steve Matai got sent off for 3/4 of the match. THe Kangaroos were all over them already - it may have made a difference to the final scoreline, but I think the result would have been the same. Go the Stormboys (and thank God it was Mark Gasnier that got smashed!). Folou a try on debut (big surprise) and I thought Cronk combined well with Bird.

BTW - I've been named in the run-on side tomorrow for the first test against the Black Ferns. I'm so excited! Go the wallaroos!

mel_kay39 

PIES PREMIERS 2010

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 5:44 pm

It's choice, Nutmeg! Just ask them to count to sux! I also like the way they say fush and chups, lol. My cousin's a kiwi but he lives over here.
luvlicca Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:06 pm

How did you go Nutmeg?? Did you win??
Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:59 pm

Unfortunately no.
We played a warmup game against a rep side and we beat them (I played the last 15 mins cos they were playing around with combinations). I then ran on in the first Test match (YAY) and scored a try, but in the 60th minute I sustained a grade tear in my medial ligament so that was the end of my tour. We got done 21-10 in the first test and 29-12 in the second. Considering NZ are world champs and Australia is ranked no. 7 in the world, it wasn't bad effort. It looks like the trans-tasman tests will become an annual thing and next year the Black Ferns will be coming to Oz to play.
Now I can get fat over summer (no more training WOOHOO!)

Back at work now....that's no fun!

luvlicca Virgo

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:37 pm

Oh mate! That sucks!! Do you need an op or anything??
Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:12 pm

Nah not at this stage.
I'm stuck in this ugly as brace at the moment - I look like a robot which is making all my students laugh!
Off to see the physio tomorrow - I doubt I'll need surgery, but you never know! Best case scenario, 4-6 weeks no sport.

luvlicca Virgo

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:31 pm

Man that sucks!!! But as you said best case is only 4-6 weeks!!!
Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:50 am

All Good!
My physio is rapt at the recovery rate of my torn brachialis muscle (in my arm) and now just have to get stuck into rehab for the muscle wastage around my injured knee. No sport for 4-6 (so a lot of cricket scoring is coming my way) but no surgery YAY

luvlicca Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:06 pm

Thats great news Nutmeg!!! Good for you!!!!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:01 pm

where did you play in nz? and what position did you play?

i lived there for a number of years and the kiwis always ribbed me about saying six and fish and chips etc. they actually don't think there is anything wrong with their accents even though no other countries slur their vowels like they do.

Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:34 pm

We were in Wellington, Palmerston North and Wanganui. It was BLOODY FREEZING!!!!!!! I was playing blindside wing though at state and club level I play fullback.

The accent is interesting - apparently the use of the plural 'yewz' as in 'yewz guys' was developed in NZ.
there's going to be a show on ABC on Thursday night 8:30 about the Aussie accent, which should be interesting (I'm a linguistics major ok? LOL). I've rarely heard anyone from overseas give a believable impersonation of our accent - they always sound like Cockneys or Kiwis. Anyone remember that simpsons episode?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Chicks Channel All times are GMT + 11 Hours