Staff Carpark

qldpie02 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:26 pm
Post subject: Staff CarparkReply with quote

Hi guys,
just a question, where i work, theyve decided that staff must park in the designated staff parking area, (even tho customers can park in there too). This car park it the furtherest carpark away from the shopping centre (ok its not far at all, but it is the furtherest away), so if we are working til late, we park in the customer carpark because its well lit and closer to the exit.

ANYWAY....the other day we parked in customer carpark under the covers (theres heaps of carparks for everyone, its never full under the covers) because there was going to be a massive hail storm - which there was - meaning our cars would get wrecked.

THEN we had a flyer from security, saying that staff must park in the staff carpark or theyre license number will be taken and their boss will have a pay a fine....
how does the security find out whose car it is? theyre not coppers, just security - they dont have a right to look up a persons number plate do they? and if we purchase something - say lunch from another place in the shopping centres do we count as customers?

does this happen anywhere else? or is it just management being annoying

Syd_Magpies_Girl Gemini

The Russell Street Pole Dancing Bogan

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:43 pm

They have a right to do so. If you're not a customer, and are utilising carspaces intended for customers, then they are obligated to leave notices.

They've probably watched security footage, or have found out word of mouth where you guys work at. I used to work in Facilities Management, and we'd get this sort of problems all the time.

Customer parking in shopping centres is meant to be timed as far as I am aware.

qldpie02 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:58 pm

o yeh theres a timed carparking for the shops (like between the times of blah and blah), but thats in a separate area.
i parked there once wheni was there for dinner, and i got "locked in" - that is a piece of metal went across the entrance, we just moved it and i drove thru, but there was a piece of paper saying its costs like 50 bucks or something to get my car in the morning...i was like wat? i just came here for dinner, some other car had it on it too, saying theyd taken my details...obviously that section was closed... Embarassed
the thing is, u cant get hold of peoples license plates unless ur a policeman/woman, or a parking inspector, well thats what i thought anyway...
and if a car had hail damage can u hold them responsible because ur not allowed to park undercover? or is it just bad luck...i mean, im in QLD...theyre big storms! lol

Last edited by qldpie02 on Fri Oct 12, 2007 7:09 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 7:06 pm

Shopping centre carparks are private property, so the owners can do whatever they need to do to ensure everybody complies.
Alec. J. Hidell 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:20 pm

The answer is No, they cannot "look up your registration"

Only the Police and other Law enforcement Officers can do that and they would not do it for such a trivial matter.

The fact is they have probably seen you getting into or out of you car and know that you work at the centre.

Can they issue a fine?
No they can't. Only certain approved officers like Council Traffic Officers or the Police etc can do that.

However, they can deny you from parking there as it is private property (although some car parks are owned by the local council).

In short, they CANNOT fine you or Look up your Rego.
Tell 'em to get f***ed.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:01 am

There exists working at this centre wouldn't you be better to have a quiet chat with Management about being able to park at night.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:30 am

maybe you can ask these same security guys to escort you to your car after a late finish.
zoia Virgo

didak's number 1 fan

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:54 am

just take a club lock out with u to your car, if your worried about safety

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:49 am
Post subject: Re: Staff CarparkReply with quote

qldpie02 wrote:
Hi guys,
just a question, where i work, theyve decided that staff must park in the designated staff parking area, (even tho customers can park in there too). This car park it the furtherest carpark away from the shopping centre (ok its not far at all, but it is the furtherest away), so if we are working til late, we park in the customer carpark because its well lit and closer to the exit.

ANYWAY....the other day we parked in customer carpark under the covers (theres heaps of carparks for everyone, its never full under the covers) because there was going to be a massive hail storm - which there was - meaning our cars would get wrecked.

THEN we had a flyer from security, saying that staff must park in the staff carpark or theyre license number will be taken and their boss will have a pay a fine....
how does the security find out whose car it is? theyre not coppers, just security - they dont have a right to look up a persons number plate do they? and if we purchase something - say lunch from another place in the shopping centres do we count as customers?

does this happen anywhere else? or is it just management being annoying

Generally, the building owner (or facilities manager) allocates payking places to lessees as part of the lease agreement. I would assume they want to keep the parking places closest to the centre for customers so it's not really your management being contrary, it's the building managers.

As far as fining goes, the building owner/manager would have the power under the lease agreement to fine lessees who don't comply with the lease agreement. It's doubtfull whether your employer could pass the fine on to it's employees but it could issue a direction which would make it an act of misconduct to use those parking spots if it's going to get fined for it.

As far as an OH&S issue in walking to the further car parks, you'd need to factor in what time you'd be working to, lighting and the liklihood of an incident occurring. If it is potentially unsafe, raise it with your management as an OH&S issue which they then have to raise with the building owner.

Alec. J. Hidell 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:24 pm

Tess wrote:
I think if they have an arrangement $$$ with the Roads Department that department will supply the Company with the information. But if your working at this centre wouldn't you be better to have a quiet chat with Management about being able to park closer late at night. That may mean moving your car around dusk to the closer car park, but not using it for your whole shift. If the management still deny you that contact your local member, police station, work-cover ect to get a bit of official support for your reasonable request.

Silly for the following reasons
1. Its illegal
2. See one above

Alec. J. Hidell 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:29 pm
Post subject: Re: Staff CarparkReply with quote

Generally, the building owner (or facilities manager) allocates payking places to lessees as part of the lease agreement. I would assume they want to keep the parking places closest to the centre for customers so it's not really your management being contrary, it's the building managers.

As far as fining goes, the building owner/manager would have the power under the lease agreement to fine lessees who don't comply with the lease agreement. It's doubtfull whether your employer could pass the fine on to it's employees but it could issue a direction which would make it an act of misconduct to use those parking spots if it's going to get fined for it.

As far as an OH&S issue in walking to the further car parks, you'd need to factor in what time you'd be working to, lighting and the liklihood of an incident occurring. If it is potentially unsafe, raise it with your management as an OH&S issue which they then have to raise with the building owner.

You really believe that do you Stui?

You are actually saying that a corporation can fine another corporation?

Please can you point me to the law that allows that, while I try and stop laughing[/u]

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:33 pm

Laugh yourself sick Frank. It's not law, it's part of the lease contract.

If you lease a shop in a shopping complex, you can be subject to all sorts of conditions as part of that lease agreement. From what days you must be open, to how often you have to re-fit the shop. Non compliance can mean financial penalties under the agreement, otherwise known as fines.

I thought someone as intelligent as you would be aware of trivia like that.

Alec. J. Hidell 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:36 pm

You said a corporation could fine another corporation.

That is ridiculously untrue and patently laughable.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:38 pm

Did I really say that?

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 5:07 pm

Frank Stone wrote:
You said a corporation could fine another corporation.

That is ridiculously untrue and patently laughable.

Don't get tired of being wrong do you. Don't injure yourself climbing down off your high horse. Know a lot about contract law?

What I said was "As far as fining goes, the building owner/manager would have the power under the lease agreement to fine lessees who don't comply with the lease agreement". I assume that since you bolded it you actually read it.

Corporations "fine" other corporations all the time under lease contracts, managed services contracts etc. They're generally referred to as financial penalties for non compliance with contract conditions if you want to split hairs but a rose by any other name.......