What made you happy today?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 531, 532, 533 ... 864, 865, 866  Next
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:03 pm

Yesterdae the missus (and I) took a friend out to a birthade lunch and went to Trentham.
The food was great and after wards we visited the falls.
STUNNING!
Saw a wombat that had got under a truck on the way home which took the gloss off the dae abit but what can you do?

Trentham falls...
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:43 pm

Got up at sparrows crack this morning to go to a farm and sale and almost collected an eastern grey roo.
He was bouncing ahead of me on the side of the road and I passed he did a quick left turn and into a wire fence.
I stopped and went back and found the poor bugger with his foot stuck in the wire and panicking.
I couldn't get the leg free by myself so a flagged down a passing CFA ute to see if he had any wire cutters.
No dice but after about 10 mins I managed to get a couple of the binders off the CFA bloke sat on the fence and off the roo went... straight across the road (with-out looking) and was nearly cleaned up by a car coming the other way.
Got some really cool stuff cheap for the Talbot swap meat in 2 weeks.
Very happy!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:52 pm

Going to work for QCW in january, flying to Queensland to commentate the wrestling event and judge some matches during the night. I cannot wait, they're paying me to fly up there so it's going to be awesome.

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:54 pm

Todae I made a complete stranger (and his family) very happy.

A week ago I bought a mixed lot of tools at an auction.
When I went through it I found a small cardboard tube.
I looked inside and it had a number of letters and certificates from the Australian Army to some-one (with a very unusual name) who first joined up in 1914 and last letter 1939.
He started out as a private but had risen to the rank of Captain.
I'd been wondering what to do with them and typed his name into my cp and got 14 results.
I rang the first number and I found myself speaking to his grand-son.
(He told me he is a Lawyer, but won't that against him).
I told him what I had and he wanted to know where I got them!
I explained and we spent a good 1/2 hour speaking about his grand-father and what he had done in both wars and how these lost family papers ended up in Ballaarat.
He told me "old Charlie was a bit miffed when his request to re-join in 39 was rejected".
I said "I bet he was, I have the "thanks but no-thanks" letter the Army sent him on 16th September 1939.
He told me "he was an honorary Lieutenant", I said "No, according to this certificate he was a full Captain!"
He said he joined up as a private in 1914!
I said "I know, and I have his travel orders to Plymouth by train and shipping home to Australia as a Senior Sargent Major and adjutant to Brigadier General Blimp-Someone in 1917!"

He was extremely pleased I'd bothered to call him and asked what I wanted for them?
I said "it isn't about the money, if this was my family I'd want this stuff and I figured some-one elses family might too!"

He told he would re-numerate me anywae!

I'm sending him the letters & certificates to him tomorrow.

Last edited by 3.14159 on Thu Oct 16, 2014 6:31 pm; edited 2 times in total
KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 6:21 pm

That's great well done!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 6:28 pm

Good work. I'm with you, you didn't pay for those things, just found them with the tools so if a family member wants them, they should have them. If they choose to offer to remunerate you, so be it but I wouldn't be asking for coin for them.

Good stuff.

Just for interest, if you want to look up old government records, this is good. http://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/NameSearch/Interface/NameSearchForm.aspx

If you want to see if someone served in WWII, try here. http://www.ww2roll.gov.au/

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 6:34 pm

Thanks guy's.

I tried the War memorial first Stui but was put on hold.
I typed his name into the white pages while I waited and bingo, only similar 14 names in the country and I picked the right one (the family history buff) first off.

It cost me so little (in time and money) but the warm inner glow I'm feeling right now is beyond price...err re-numeration... Wink

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 6:49 pm

3.14159 wrote:
Thanks guy's.

I tried the War memorial first Stui but was put on hold.
I typed his name into the white pages while I waited and bingo, only similar 14 names in the country and I picked the right one (the family history buff) first off.

It cost me so little (in time and money) but the warm inner glow I'm feeling right now is beyond price...err re-numeration... Wink

Bastard. Mad Wink

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:38 pm

^^^
Sorry mate, that wasn't a dig.
I wasted 1/2 a day todae.
I drove into the Rat & spent 2 hours sitting in a dingy cheap lawyers office talking to his ventrilequist's(?) dummy. He was too busy some-excuse about having to be at court (tennis, I presume).
I had lunch and the only really coherent that stuck in my head was what was that was little session with an organ grinders monkey costing me...grrrr.
The re-numeration wasn't a dig.
I was thinking of the irony of a lawyer with a 9th floor law firm in the center of Sydney is offering me (shock horror) re-muneration
(for basically doing a good thing) while a cheap organ grinder's monkey is speaking nothing but jibber-jabber,only pretending to listen to me and taking my money hand over fist.

Last edited by 3.14159 on Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:08 am; edited 3 times in total

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:51 pm

hah, People who pronounce remuneration as renumeration is one of my pet hates. It's not that frigging hard, mun-money, num-numbers.

if you want to re-count something by all means re-numerate it. If you're talking dollars you're talking remuneration. Wink

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:07 pm

Your absolutely right, he said "re-numeration" not remuneration!
Then again I am bit deaf and he is a lawyer so he could have said either (or neither).

Oh well, I wasn't too far wrong "re-numerating" about the cost of my expensive snooze-fest with the Raat's non-finest legal-mind!

At least the story I reckon is worth a good for a drink or too around town...

Maybe that's the "remuneration/re-numeration" that Sydney bloke was talking about? ...
Damn I knew I should have made that ph call it in writing!

Wink :

Last edited by 3.14159 on Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:12 am; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:25 pm

Well I enjoyed your rememberations!

Good stuff

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:35 pm

Thanks Jo, speaking of rememberations...
Combinations and happy permutations for ...last week(?)!

(Sorry I didn't get you a card, to much other stuff on my mind).

xxx

Last edited by 3.14159 on Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:12 am; edited 4 times in total

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:43 pm

3.14159 wrote:
Well thanks Jo & Happy permutations for ...last week(?)!

(Sorry I didn't get you a card, two busy).

Xx

48 hours ago! Cheers mate, had a day off and thoroughly enjoyed myself!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 11:04 pm

3.14159 wrote:
Well thanks Jo & Happy permutations for ...last week(?)!

(Sorry I didn't get you a card, two busy).

Xx

48 hours ago! Cheers mate, had a day off and thoroughly enjoyed myself!

Embarassed oh so sorry Jo - belated birthday wishes - I hope you had a great day and that hubby is doing ok!

Busy busy week - International Jehovah's Witnesses conference in Melbourne this weekend - 70 thousand expected - hope they don't get sick i.e. anything that requires blood!

You know all the bestest people are born in October Wink my shout next time!

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 531, 532, 533 ... 864, 865, 866  Next
Page 532 of 866