What made you happy today?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 809, 810, 811 ... 864, 865, 866  Next

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:29 am

Dark Beanie wrote:
Red headed chick had her last 1st day of school today - 1st day of year 12.

Hope its a good year for you all. Cheers

You to Wokko, milestones

Congrats to all: Are milestones now kilometre stones?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:47 am

Youngest in the beginning of her second year in law won another law competition with her same colleague from last year.

Last year was in contract law if I recall was sponsored by a flash law firm. This year same process: heats, semi-final and grandfinal.

This year put on by the Law Society and was on legal negotiation. The adjudicators were from 2 top companies, a community legal centre and the law society. Im told it was a unanimous decision.

Well done her and her school mate, theyve done so well and worked so hard.

I dont know what the scenario was that they had to negotiate in the GF. In the semi-final scenario they were representing the state government over a native title claim where a state minister for Aboriginal affairs and other ministers were being racist and inflammatory and where their opponents representing Aboriginal communities wanted apologies, resignations etc

Proud dad Very Happy

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:49 am

How about that. Sorry, I forgot what "what" was.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:20 am

Dark Beanie wrote:

Hard for young kids these days and parents. Does she know what shed like to do post school and more importantly is she a Collingwood supporter?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 1:18 pm

Youngest in the beginning of her second year in law won another law competition with her same colleague from last year.

Last year was in contract law if I recall was sponsored by a flash law firm. This year same process: heats, semi-final and grandfinal.

This year put on by the Law Society and was on legal negotiation. The adjudicators were from 2 top companies, a community legal centre and the law society. Im told it was a unanimous decision.

Well done her and her school mate, theyve done so well and worked so hard.

I dont know what the scenario was that they had to negotiate in the GF. In the semi-final scenario they were representing the state government over a native title claim where a state minister for Aboriginal affairs and other ministers were being racist and inflammatory and where their opponents representing Aboriginal communities wanted apologies, resignations etc

Proud dad Very Happy

WOW! thats fricken awesome! proud Dad indeed, calls for a big celebration!!

Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:05 pm

Dark Beanie wrote:

Hard for young kids these days and parents. Does she know what shed like to do post school and more importantly is she a Collingwood supporter?

In answer to the most important question, yes she is a Pies supporter (has been a member since she was born). Was no question of supporting the Pies as her dad doesn't follow at team (is more a soccer supporter) and all of my family (including 4 brothers-in-law) support the Pies. She did have some delusion of going for the Saints when she was about 10 but soon changed her mind when it was suggested she would have to go and live on the back shed if she did so Very Happy .

At this stage she is interested in Forensic science, PE or PE teaching (secondary).

Not expecting a high ATAR. Aim is just to get through year 12 without too much trauma. A few of her friends are already stressed and the year has only just started.

Both my kids are not big on study or homework, have tried bribery, tutoring etc. but they have to make their own choices & mistakes.

The 21 year old got a pretty crap ATAR but got into a Diploma course at Swinburne and is now doing 3rd year of Health Science degree at Swinburne. Still only does as much as needs to but he is enjoying uni and working part time.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:56 pm

Good stuff. The only reason kids should be stressed about their ATAR is if they have a particular uni course picked out they want to do and it has a high requirement.

Otherwise, apart from uni course entry requirements, no one will ever ask them what score they got for the rest of their life. It's not make or break.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:16 pm

exactly Stui! its all bullshit anyway the way they work it out!
as long as the kids are healthy and happy, thats the main thing

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Sent an email to my brother for his birthday yesterday thinking he either in suriname working or on rest in borneo. comes back i am in town in pattaya, staying above destiny go go bar. so after walkies with the dog, a shower i will meet him for happy hour at climax bar.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:40 pm

ronrat wrote:
Sent an email to my brother for his birthday yesterday thinking he either in suriname working or on rest in borneo. comes back i am in town in pattaya, staying above destiny go go bar. so after walkies with the dog, a shower i will meet him for happy hour at climax bar.

ummmm....either this 1 glass of wine is very strong, or im reading this very wrong!!!

err, enjoy....i think! and um happy ending...err i mean Birthday to your brother!!!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:56 pm

Good stuff. Interesting how adaptable the body is, how it chooses the fuel source to burn based on diet and can switch.

The principle is similar to the paelo diet and similar to the traditional diet of desert Aboriginals.

https://www.survival.org.au/bush_tucker_diet.php

Is there anything you really miss eating? If you go out and have the steak and salad, can you eat some of the chips?

When I go out for steak I substitute the chips for green veg.

I miss toast, porridge and felafel. A biscuit with a cup of tea at night and fish n chips or a pie. A fruit salad ..... none desperately

Going great guns!

I've dropped 3kg this year. Swimming a k comfortably now, about to head off shortly, eldest daughter Tamara is swimming too.

I can't stop eating the things I like, just doing it a bit smarter and you have to have a break out day once a week too I reckon.

Bloody beer... think I've smashed 5 or 6 cartons this R 'n R.... 16 stubbies yesterday, or thereabouts. Oh well, maybe I'll swim a few extra laps.

Off to the Casino for lunch today, a big staek sounds like a plan Smile

Swimmings great but the alcohol needs to be reduced. The weight will pour off.

I've dropped another 2kg. Been having a few AFD's and only had 2 cans last night. Swimming 5 x 1k a week and hitting the rowing machine/exercise bike in the gym a few mornings before work. Bloody hard getting up at 0315hr for the gym (or swim), then doing a 12.5hr day... I've been sleeping well Exclamation

The knee is feeling good now, I'm tempted to start running again, but will give it at least another 4 weeks.

I've got the exercise bug back, which is good. It's always a good feeling pulling the belt in an extra notch Very Happy

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:11 am

Well done, I bet your liver is pleased too!

Im only down a kg, but Ive lost that awful little pot belly thankfully!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:38 pm

Saw the cardiologist today for the test results.

Basically, green light and discharged. No blockages, Heart functions good pre and post exercise, some signs of high blood pressure but I aint going to have a heart attack any time soon. BP was 125/80

So, for a 53 yr old bloke who drinks too much, smokes and doesn't exercise anywhere near enough, I'm only a bit overweight (190cm/100kg) and all the tests on blood and vital organs are either good or not bad enough to require intervention.

I'll take that Very Happy

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:42 pm

How interesting. GREEN is a very tranquil colour, green.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:43 pm

Saw the cardiologist today for the test results.

Basically, green light and discharged. No blockages, Heart functions good pre and post exercise, some signs of high blood pressure but I aint going to have a heart attack any time soon. BP was 125/80

So, for a 53 yr old bloke who drinks too much, smokes and doesn't exercise anywhere near enough, I'm only a bit overweight (190cm/100kg) and all the tests on blood and vital organs are either good or not bad enough to require intervention.

I'll take that Very Happy

That's perfect BP mate.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 809, 810, 811 ... 864, 865, 866  Next
Page 810 of 866