Rudd and the Strippers

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:33 pm
Post subject: Rudd and the StrippersReply with quote

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22268603-661,00.html

KEVIN Rudd last night apologised for attending a New York strip club where he has admitted he "had too much to drink".

"If my behaviour caused any offence to anybody whatsoever that evening I, of course, wholeheartedly apologise" Mr Rudd said of his visit to the club while in New York to represent Australia at the UN.

In a statement, Mr Rudd confirmed he went to the club. But he said he could not recall what happened during the drunken night.

Damn. I might have to re think my vote. Confused Cool Laughing

magpiesgirl Aries

Crazy About Daisy!!!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:38 pm

I love it when stuff like this comes out,like Latham and his pot smoking. My god pollies are real people too shock horror!

“I can honestly say there will never be another Strauchanie and the boys at the club can’t help but be thankful for that” -Nathan Buckley

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:42 pm

hehe, he's got my vote Cool
sherrife Scorpio

Victorian Socialists - people before profit

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:51 pm

Mr Rudd went to the club, a well-known haunt of UN diplomats and journalists, with New York Post editor Col Allan and Northern Territory Labor MP Warren Snowdon.

Mr Allan (an employee of News Corporation, the parent company of the publisher of the Sunday Herald Sun) then confirmed he and the Leader of the Opposition had been to a "gentlemen's club".

"Yes, we went out for a drink," Mr Allan said.

"Yes, it was at a gentleman's club and he (Mr Rudd) behaved like a perfect gentleman

Nice selective quoting of the article Stui Smile This part of the article really makes it sound like Rudd has done something wrong doesn't it. Typical right-wing editing playing around with the headline and opening paragraphs to make the information seem as skewed as possible. (I mean the editors of the paper, but you acted in the same bloody way as well, sorry mate)

By the way, what a typical, cynical response by Howard. Attack the image, not the politics (which are too bloody similar to his own). And yes, I do think that this article was published in a CONSCIOUS, cynical attempt to smear the opposition leader, probably requested by one of Howard's underlings.

Syd_Magpies_Girl Gemini

The Russell Street Pole Dancing Bogan

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:59 pm

I can't believe this was even news in the first place.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:01 pm

LOL, welcome back Sherrife. I had to post something to get you stirred up didn't I? Wink

As far as selective posting goes I only posted the first 2 paragraphs and the link. You picked out the denial bit and ignored this bit.

"Not withstanding the fact that I had had too much to drink, I have no recollection (nor does Mr Snowdon) of any incident occurring at the nightclub -- or of being asked to leave. It is our recollection that we left within about an hour."

But, according to some sources, Mr Rudd was warned against touching the dancers by Scores management.

Didn't his mummy ever teach him to look but not touch? Razz

This one is also interesting if a tad sanctimonious.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22268601-662,00.html

THE political danger for Kevin Rudd as he contemplates his moment of New York madness is that it gives the lie to the persona he has so far successfully sold to voters.

Mind you, If they reckon this place is full on, they've never visited King Street.

Scores, on the East Side of Manhattan, is variously described as "a strip club", "a haven for horny high rollers" and "one of several gentlemen's clubs which changed the face of adult entertainment during the early 1990s".

It is full-on. An Australian who's been there described the "entertainment" as: "The girls start with dresses on. Then they come off and they don't have any bras on -- just a G-string. Then they start dancing, rubbing their breasts into the customers' faces while lap dancing."

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:15 pm

Maybe he can't recall what happened in the strip club, because his glasses fogged up too quickly.

Regardless of the dirty politics by releasing such a story the fact remains he was over there on Tax payers money as a representative of Australia as observer of the United Nations. He entered a strip joint, which calls into question his character, plus nobody has really jumped on the fact that his explanation for not remembering was because he was "Too Drunk" to remember...wonderful role model I say.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:16 pm

The Age view.

http://www.theage.com.au/news/national/rudd-admits-to-foolish-mistake/2007/08/19/1187462059922.html

In light of the description of the club, I find these 2 bits interesting.

Mr Rudd, a conservative Christian, said he was too drunk to remember much of his visit to Manhattan's Scores "gentlemen's club" in September 2003 with New York Post editor Col Allan and Labor backbencher Warren Snowdon.

He said neither he nor Mr Snowdon had a "completely clear recollection" of whether there were semi-naked women in the club or what they were doing.

"We can't actually recall anything that you wouldn't see in most pubs across Australia," Mr Rudd told the Nine Network today.

and

He rang his wife, Therese Rein, at home in Brisbane the next day to confess to her.

If he can't recall anything he wouldn't see in most pubs across Australia, what the hell did he have to confess? Confused

magpiesgirl Aries

Crazy About Daisy!!!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:20 pm

Had to confess the fact he's a regular bloke who likes looking at minimally dressed well endowed women.Thats a huge no-no didnt you know that? Razz

“I can honestly say there will never be another Strauchanie and the boys at the club can’t help but be thankful for that” -Nathan Buckley

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:29 pm

seriously, what's wrong with going to a strip club?

perhaps i'm just too open minded

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:44 pm

What Poli doesn't do that
Syd_Magpies_Girl Gemini

The Russell Street Pole Dancing Bogan

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:58 pm

Exactly.

I used to work for a global IT leader, and all of the Executives used to go to Gentlemens Clubs in Sydney with leaders from Telstra, Optus and members from parliament Wink It's nothing unusual. The guy who wrote this article is a very well known supporter of the liberal party, and likes to try and run smear campaigns. He's an absolute moron.

If he was going to see a prostitute to bang her in the back of a limo, then I'd have a different opinion. Gentlemens clubs are harmless. It's the stuck up idiots with too many 'morals' who ruin it for everyone else.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:09 pm

Syd_Magpies_Girl wrote:

If he was going to see a prostitute to bang her in the back of a limo, then I'd have a different opinion.

Same here, personally, I think a panelvan would be a much better choice Cool

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:49 pm

i saw this story on sky news this morning and had a laugh at his defence of being too drunk to remember anything. yes, the perfect response.

amazing what comes out of the woodwork as election time nears.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:02 pm

Syd_Magpies_Girl wrote:
. Gentlemens clubs are harmless. It's the stuck up idiots with too many 'morals' who ruin it for everyone else.

Which is exactly why I find this so bloody funny.

Rudd has been so careful to craft a persona for himself that can't offend anyone that he can't even come out and say, "yeah, I went to a strip club a few years ago. So?"

He has to fall back on the "I was too drunk to remember anything" and, just in case that upsets anyone, "That's only the second time in my life I've been that drunk"; "I rang my wife to confess" etc.

It's only news because it's completely against the image of himself that he wants to sell.

For gawds sake, if it was John Howard everyone would be aghast thinking. "ohmiod, those poor strippers"

If it was Hawke, people would be mildly surprised he wasn't thrown out for groping.

Little Kevvie is a victim of his own making.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4