Coffee: Best & Worst - Brands or Cafes/Restaurants

rambopriscilla Sagittarius

vvv USE FOUND FOR CAT!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:05 am
Post subject: Coffee: Best & Worst - Brands or Cafes/RestaurantsReply with quote

Probably easiest to start with worst I think. And I reckon MACCAS. Yuk. Closely followed by the Pancake Parlour or any joint that uses Coffex coffee.

Best: I love Grinders. Vittoria have a couple of good ones. Hungry Jacks coffee isn't all that bad for what it is, it certainly smashes Maccas. Starbucks I reckon is probably the best of the chain cafes.

I'm mainly looking forward to hearing what others rate as their best coffees.

- "No that's God. He just tries to play like Millane"
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:40 am

I love Coco Locos at Gloria Jeans. Though I hate the brain freezes I get having them! mmmmmmm yum.
magpiesgirl Aries

Crazy About Daisy!!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:44 am

Gloria Jeans across the board have pretty crap coffee in my opinion.The "baristas" are just taught the basic make up of each drink on the menu without really knowing how to make a coffee.(I use to work for Gloria Jeans so I aint talking out my bum).Starbucks is usually abit hot,but American coffee is.Although Starbucks do make an awesome caramel iced coffee there.

Best coffee place I know of is Peaberry's in Charman Rd,Cheltenham.Think they use Gigantie(?) coffee.

“I can honestly say there will never be another Strauchanie and the boys at the club can’t help but be thankful for that” -Nathan Buckley
Syd_Magpies_Girl Gemini

The Russell Street Pole Dancing Bogan

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:11 am

Starbucks would be the WORST coffee I've ever had followed by McDonalds and Gloria Jeans.

I stick to small coffee shops. There is a coffee shop in the BHP Building on Collins Street...they make an awesome coffee in there.

skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 11:10 am

The best coffee I used to have came of the American naval ships, based in Japan. Called ? (name escapes me at the moment..I'll find out!). Needless to say it came in a can via vending machine hot or cold and made by the Coca- Cola company.
Really gave you a buzz!

Georgia Coffee...thats it (phew! I wouldnt sleep tonight if I didnt find out!) Laughing

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:26 pm

I'm not into coffee. I drink instant nescafe in the morning purely for the caffiene hit. If I get dragged to a coffee shop, I'll ask for an OJ or a pepsi.
~Madness~ Aries

...The Cat...

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:02 pm

Don't drink it either. But if I do happen to have one, it doesn't matter what it is, lots of milk and sugar.

Im a tea drinker...Earl Grey only

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:00 am

I'm a big iced coffee fan. Haven't drunk enough of the real stuff to form an opinion yet... all kind of tastes the same. One condition though is no sugar and probably a little more milk.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:08 am

Don't Drink Coffe
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:14 am

Im actually a tea drinker as a rule. At home I have tea. At work we have an Aromas, so their coffee is nice (and the chicks are friendly), so I get that, as something different.
Syd_Magpies_Girl Gemini

The Russell Street Pole Dancing Bogan

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:15 am

I love Japanese Green Tea. I've also got this really nice Herbal Tea at home that has orange skin, popcorn, lemon, lime and some other stuff in it. I have it before I go to the gym and it peaks my energy levels right up.
Didaicos Libra

The Macedonian Marvel = The Croat Confoundment!!!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:27 am

Best at the supermarket is Illy (an Italian brand). I have a few places around uni I go, especially Lygon Street. As a rule I avoid the big chains, not because of morals etc. but as a rule their baristas generally aren't as well trained as smaller established cafes. Nothing like a good latte, although an espresso if I need a caffeine hit never goes astray. As a rule I drink leaf tea (family drinks a lot of it), it only takes 5 minutes more to brew and is a much better drink. (Manildra?) from Mildura is a good tea. Like their normal blend but also occasionally like Earl Grey.

SWAN'S GOING TO KICK A GOAL. THEY'RE HOME YOU'D THINK I KNOW IT'S A LONG WAY TO GO BUT THEY'RE KILLING THEM NOW!!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:31 am

That sounds like it would be cool to have : )

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:17 pm

That'd be iced tea or coffee Hal Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:20 pm

Are you really a "it"?