Bullies.... Get Stuffed!

BJ Aquarius

Harry C - The champion of the Harrys

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:37 am
Post subject: Bullies.... Get Stuffed!Reply with quote

I have a 14 year old son who was bullied at school 2 years ago, now I have a 10 year old going through the same thing.... It shits me. The system in schools is pathetic, I have written to the district manager of the education department on this one, I have had enough. Every child has a right to feel safe in a school environment, and yet in my experience to date the schools won't implement a thing.

This is what my 14 year old wrote after we moved him from the school, as we had no other option......

With no worries or fears,
I walk out of class,
Past the school the oval,
End of the day at last.

My little brother follows he’s singing a song,
Then a boy shouts out, "Who are you?"
By the look on his face
I think, “What is wrong?”

I look at him and turn away
then his voice calls me back
with an arrogant voice,
"Did you hear what I said?...."
Do I have a choice?

He punches me hard, I try to move away,
Then I tell him my dad is a copper,
To try and stop him from throwing another,
But it’s not my lucky day.

He hits me again,
My head goes back,
He grabs my jacket and pulls me down,
I feel no pain as I hit the cold hard ground.

He sits on top of me,
And punches my face many times.
Then he lifts me up,
Through the strength of my hair he’s holding,
I feel him bring my head forward,
Then he takes it back,
I know what's going to come as I start to fall back.

He hits my head against the ground,
I open my eyes,
Then as he lifts my head,
The sole of his foot meets my eyes..

He punches me in the face and the head,
I begin to wonder does he want me dead?
Then he lifts my body via the hairs on my head....
I think to myself, please God I don't want to be dead.

I heard a boy shout, "Keep going, keep going!"
A crowd has now built,
The blood is now flowing.

I look at the crowd and wonder why,
They are all there staring....
No one can look me in the eye.

I feel another blow to the side of the head,
he lets go of his grasp to my hair,
Enabling me to be set free, or so I thought,
I lie on the floor,
Again, he stamps on me....

When will this end?
Will it end???
He shouts at me, "You remember me? You remember me?"

He says his name, I remember him now,
I lie on the floor and wonder when will he stamp on me, hit me or punch me again?

I lay on the ground,
In a daze I looked round,
I hear the gasps of horror from a now big crowd.

I can feel my face swell,
I put my hand to my face,
Blood on my hands....
I silently ask....why? Why my face?

I try to get up but fall back to the floor,
Then a lady helps me up,
I think, "Please don't let me suffer any more...."

I get to my feet,
A friend comes to me,
Then two teachers appear,
They just look at me.

I thank the lady,
Then see my younger brother,
I tell him I'm okay,
But by the look on his face, I wonder....
"Does the pain in my eyes give it away?"

I walk into school,
Into the first aid room,
They talk about my injuries,
They treat them and ask do I know why it happened
I genuinely reply, "I haven't a clue."

My parents arrive, the police shortly after too,
As she takes a statement,
They all ask why too....

A visit to Hospital,
Amid x-rays and gasps,
Then back in the car and on we go....
They tell me its over now,
No more beatings to go....

As I tell the story to the police again,
I feel every blow,
And feel the pain and the beating for the second time that day,
As I relive the horror I'd faced that day.

I wake next day,
The memories of yesterday too hard to forget,
Looking in a mirror....I wonder....will I ever forget????

Pictures are taken,
messages are sent,
Phone calls are made,
But will the memories EVER fade?

I don't want pity,
I haven't cried yet,
And without the pity,
The whole thing may be easier to forget.

I close my eyes and try to sleep,
But the horrors of that Wednesday,
Come back like an action reply,
I guess their memories I'll have to keep,
Take pills the doc says, family and friends agree with him too,
But they just fade the nightmares,
Doc you got anything for the memories too?

I return to school,
I get told I'm brave,
I wish they wouldn't say it,
If I had the choice I'd have never have gone through it.

It's Saturday now,
He's still out there free,
thinking he got away with beating me.

I'll never let it go,
If I could tell him now I would,
I'd give him a good beating too....

taking the law into your own hands IS wrong,
But if I don't he could do it to you....
But this time you may not be so lucky....
Now remind me....which is justice....give me a clue!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:47 am

BJ m8..... I'm lost for words, I wish I could help.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:28 am

I read this not long after you posted it BJ and yet it's taken me this long to say something, but what can be said that hasn't been said in your post and in the poem by your son.

I'm so sorry that your children have had to go through this, but i can't offer any words of wisdom of how to stop it.

Your sons poem touched me deeply and i could feel his pain and cried whilst reading it. As a mother my thoughts were......"the poor baby".

I hope that the animal that did this is brought to justice and i hope that your son can recover from this, although i know it will be a long slow process.

bucksisgod Scorpio

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:58 am

Very sad BJ. Hope the new school is a step up mate, they've obviously just enrolled a quality student. I wouldn't have read something that long at your son's age, let alone written an articulate piece to signify my thoughts. Obviously a sensitive, intelligent, warm, well parented quality kid. Any child who can express himself so honestly and openly has a very positive future. I get the feeling there's plenty of happier times ahead for your son mate. Best wishes.
Syd_Magpies_Girl Gemini

The Russell Street Pole Dancing Bogan

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 1:57 pm

I went through a lot of crap when I was at school. So bad, I ended up skipping school almost every day throughout year 10 and then eventually dropped out because all of the bullying. I wish there was some advice I could give you Sad
fan4collingwood Aries

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:31 pm

That is the saddest thing I have ever read.

Hope the new school is a lot more dilligent with protecting the students.

They say we should record the bad times in our life as well as the good times, it helps to move on.

Your son has a gift for writing, and portraying his feelings, I hope that helps him to recover.

I hope the person who did this gets help soon, or he will be one of the people we read about in years to come, that you just say WHY! The Bully has too many issues to be just a bad apple.

Best wishes to you and your boys BJ.

magpiesgirl Aries

Crazy About Daisy!!!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:10 pm

Syd_Magpies_Girl wrote:
I went through a lot of crap when I was at school. So bad, I ended up skipping school almost every day throughout year 10 and then eventually dropped out because all of the bullying. I wish there was some advice I could give you Sad

Im with you Simone but I skipped in Year 12-the year I could least afford to do it.

Only thing I can suggest you do is tell your son that it does end,as unforseeable as it can be,and it does not define who you are now or in the future.

“I can honestly say there will never be another Strauchanie and the boys at the club can’t help but be thankful for that” -Nathan Buckley

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:33 pm

very unpleasant situation.

I hope the other kid, if he went to the same school, was expelled.

Bullying has always been around, but it seems to be getting worse than ever. The popular theory's about how you aren't supposed to react don't work. It's also pretty hard not to show a reaction when you're getting punched in the head repeatedly.

I copped a bit when I was young and generally found the ones who want to fight you only give it a rest when you stand up and fight them. I usually came off second best by a long way but never had any come back for seconds.

Your son seems to be sensitive, intelligent and articulate. Wonderful qualities that unfortunately will mean some low lifes will target him.

As some others have said, don't let him change who he is and try to become a different person or spend too much time in introspection trying to work out why.

At the risk of being howled down, some kind of self defence training may not hurt. He doesn't need to take the law into his own hands or look for revenge but being able to protect yourself isn't a bad thing.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:45 pm

Very moving poem.

This kind of thing is probably one of the main reasons my parents home-schooled me... hope your son is ok, and manages to avoid anything like this happening again. No kid should have to deal with this kind of stuff, especially at that age.

zoia Virgo

didak's number 1 fan

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:48 pm

personally i woulda just went back to school if i was ya son and beat the living **** outta the guy who did that to me, either with my fists or trolley pole

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:24 am

yes paul ofcourse you would being the big strapping lad that you are.

BJ you know my story and we both know that ain't the way, I read that piece this morning and shed a tear or two for you and yours, it also had me seething, I can only speculate what you must be going through, but you and yours are never alone, you know that m8, thousands of children every day go through this crap and it has to stop, it has to.
that poem cuts to the core, perhaps it should be sent to education departments across the country, to all media outlets, if people can read that and not be effected they are dead inside, some one has to hear the voice of the children, some one has to make it stop.
if we don't fly the flag this generation who will.

keep in touch m8, I'm here if you need me.

Steve.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:19 am

Very Sad, I know how he feels I was Picked on at Primary and High School
qldpie02 

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:24 pm

does your kid now anyone in older grades? maybe he should find a "buddy" in year 12? (preferrably a larger fella) i know when we were in year 12 we had a few of the younger kids that used to come and hang with us, and if anyone tried to pick on them, we would look after them, (not bash - just have a "word" to them) (not me specificly seeing im a girl and the scare factor isnt as big), well actually my bestie put a kid up against the locker cos he was kept picking on her younger bro...he never did that again.

one of the best things was the year 8ers used to say they felt safe when they were with us, cos wed look after them, maybe that might work for your child?

all the best.

leonmagic Pisces

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:59 am

how old is the kid who did that to your son?

i'm more than happy to kick him in the dick until he cant have kids.

let me know.
member34258 

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:27 am

leonmagic wrote:
how old is the kid who did that to your son?

i'm more than happy to kick him in the dick until he cant have kids.

let me know.

Violence begets violence.