#31,#26 Ben Johnson

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29, 30  Next
EBB 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:14 pm

HAL wrote:
daVe, that is a damn nice read. Well done.
How about that. Do you mean you are finished talking?

Damn, this ro bot has got a smart mouth!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:15 pm

How about that. Do you mean you are finished talking?
fence-banger Aries

Zito Kypro

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:38 pm

The day you place your canned feet in footy boots, is the day we'll sit-up and take notice!

Nah, joking, love you heaps you rascally tinpot!

Back to Benno now, great Thread, enjoying it.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:59 pm

"Johnson he's a left footer.. will he line it up... he might ... here he goes...
(ROAR)............ goal!!!
Don't we love that!
Someone on here, could be Tannin I think. mentioned the fact that this year we hadn't lost a game where Johnson scored a goal. I'm not supertitious but when Johnno slammed that 50+ goal in the first quarter of the GFR the thought flashed through my mind! Very Happy
Go Johnno!!
selkevh 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:12 pm

Nice article.

You pull on a Collingwood jumper you get my backing.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:07 am

Mossi wrote:
Someone on here, could be Tannin I think. mentioned the fact that this year we hadn't lost a game where Johnson scored a goal.

Nope. Must have been someotherbody. Smile

I was a big-time BJ knocker through 2007 and 2008 and called for him to be dropped and delisted to make room for some kids. I was doubtful of the "new, improved" BJ in 2009, but it only took two or three matches to show me that BJ really was a different player.

Ever since then I've been a big-time fan.

For all Dave's talk about versatility, I reckon there is another, much bigger difference in BJ's game - his disposal. He used to be terrible and cost us countless turnovers at one remove (i.e., the player he gave the ball to then turned it over because he was under too much pressure after getting a half-volley or similar).

Not any more. BJ still has the odd clanger, but I think he has learned to really concentrate when he kicks, and the result is plain to see.

With Rhyce Shaw gone to Sydney and most of our youngsters being slow to medium, not out and out speedsters, BJ's pace is a vital part of our game.

PS: nice article, Dave!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:10 am

Why must you was someotherbody?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:11 am

Great article Dave, I read it when you put it up on Facebook. Great to see Johnson prove so many wrong, including myself.
carcarly_pieland 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:36 am

lovely article on BJ who certainly deserves a little love from his own supporters!!

and I think now that BJ, Swanny and Taz have all matured and become much better players, they will look back at the own days as a learning curve and will only motivate each other more (similar to how BJ got Swanny up and going).

They could also be the wise heads for the young kids we have in the club (i.e. Taz would let them know that flags don't grow on trees)

The Rat Pack would be nothing but a distant memory Smile

partypie 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:22 am

Probably one of Malthouses best decisions as a coach was to let BJ make his mistakes and learn from them. That faith has been repaid in spades
DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:21 am

The thing I perhaps didn't mention is that Jonno plays within his limitations. He'll never be an elite kick...but there is nothing better than seeing him running down a wing and booting it inside 50 to a contest. He makes very few clangers these days.

He just does his job.

BrodieisTops 

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:44 am

Yep Well said I luv Johnno, I found a 2003 Black and White today, very interesting article about Johhno. Quote at beginning of article,
Ben Johnson's memorable goal saving tackle in 2002 finals against Port Adelaide did more than turn a football match; it may well have turned an entire career.
Gavin Brown has some lovely things to say about Johnno as well.
regan is true fullback 

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:19 am

Remember right back to the 2002 qualifying final.

Johnson, who was having a terrible time against the Port Adelaide forwards, was on the mark against Peter Burgoyne. Burgonyne played on in the goalsquare, Johnson caught him and the ball dribbled through for a point.

Another legendary Magpie moment was born, like Manassa's run or Heath Shaw's smother.

It is great that a man who overcame so much, finally gets his reward for effort after all these years.
On the March 

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:34 am

and again in the last minute of the drawn GF. How Saints didn't score only Johno knows.
GoWoodsmen 

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:40 am

Great story. Survivor he is - and now he's a premiership player. Surprisingly for one of the older guys he provides us with some serious pace. Yep, he's kicking is a bit suspect but hey he gets plenty of the ball and at least 90% of the time he's bombing it in the direction of our goals.

Congrats Johnno...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 28 of 30