#20 Ben Reid

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 41, 42, 43  Next
rocketronnie 

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:19 am

Frankly, I'm not convinced.

His kicking is atrocious - way below AFL standard. Most of the posessions he got up the ground was against smaller players up the ground. Carlton didnt care about them, because his kicking meant he was never going to hurt them. His actual key back opponent was down back double teaming Cloke while a lesser defender went up the ground with him.

At present he also has no awareness of defensive play and defenders can run off him with ease.

His lack of temperament was evident in both games this year. He was cut up totally by North's backs and he seemed nervous to mix it with them. He avoided an impact he should have taken in the first quarter also.

I'm not saying he won't make it in the future but he should not be played in the seniors until he has a good grasp of the game's fundemantals

Kingswood 

//

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:35 am

the games he played last year were pretty good, and took some good contested marks.

give him time, he has shown enough signs. most likely he will get another call up against the doggies, and playing back to back games should be great for him.

lets judge him then Very Happy
The Night Cancer

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:21 am

Lets judge him when he has some hair on his aggots and a bit of fuzz on his chin. FFS people he is but a baby at the moment and might I add one with speed and size and obvious talent. Get your selves a picture of a young Chris Grant and you will see the kid has the exact same body shape and type and will take a little time to beef up.

This one is going to be a ripper and if we give him the time he needs and deserves he will become a Magpie favourite.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:33 am

Well,well .Isn't it GREAT to see the kids have the support and backing of their SUPPORTERS Rolling Eyes
Alec. J. Hidell 

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:51 am

I like him, heaps of upside.
Can you imagine this kid when he bulks up.
I think we have another Trav in the making

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:53 am

mudlark wrote:
Well,well .Isn't it GREAT to see the kids have the support and backing of their SUPPORTERS Rolling Eyes

it's tough enough having 16/17ths of the afl hating you but who needs enemies when you consider what some of our 'supporters' are like.

Podpicken Cancer

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:17 am

I reckon he's going to be a star, but could well be a star of the Richo variety on first impressions. I'd take that, however.

He really knows how to get the ball and will get smarter. Should keep playing him in the ones, only way he'll improve quickly and slot into the groove of AFL footy. We just need to cop his awkwardness for a while.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:17 am

rocketronnie wrote:
Frankly, I'm not convinced.

His kicking is atrocious - way below AFL standard. Most of the posessions he got up the ground was against smaller players up the ground. Carlton didnt care about them, because his kicking meant he was never going to hurt them. His actual key back opponent was down back double teaming Cloke while a lesser defender went up the ground with him.

At present he also has no awareness of defensive play and defenders can run off him with ease.

His lack of temperament was evident in both games this year. He was cut up totally by North's backs and he seemed nervous to mix it with them. He avoided an impact he should have taken in the first quarter also.

I'm not saying he won't make it in the future but he should not be played in the seniors until he has a good grasp of the game's fundemantals

Jesus hard to please at the Cross Keys give the kid a chance to develop! Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:39 am

if i knew he was going to do the shuffle i would of video taped it and sent it into aussies funnyest video show. i would of won the grand final, as im sure about 60 thousand people were laughing at the mcg.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:42 am

Maybe it will develop like the Ali shuffle and knock teams out of contention!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:43 am

-magpies are 2 good- wrote:
if i knew he was going to do the shuffle i would of video taped it and sent it into aussies funnyest video show. i would of won the grand final, as im sure about 60 thousand people were laughing at the mcg.

ah yes, reid's number one supporter!

GlovemanGayfer Taurus

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:46 am

For those who were listening before the shuffle the commentators were raving about his technique and his accuracy. Perhaps he made a mistake and stuffed up??
I would love to have been 19 and perfect like most of you. Talk about pressure on a kid. I bet he knows he stuffed up and I bet he's more down about it than you too. How about supporting the kid who as was said earlier did a bloody god job after no footy for 3 weeks. Stop making his the scapegoat we're not Richmond!
spoljar Libra

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:53 am

I think he will be good for us. Haven't quite worked out what his true position is yet, but who knows, he may evantually find his way down back similar to Presti who was a forward earlier in his career.

I would imagine that Bens position on the field may depend on what happens with Dawes.
Mich@el Taurus

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:58 am

Perhaps those picking on him are about Rieds age, therefore they are not looking at the long term picture where Chopper has the potential to be a superstar!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:58 am

Jock McPie wrote:
-magpies are 2 good- wrote:

ah yes, reid's number one supporter!

Shocked Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

no thanx.

you were even agreeing with me when i was saying how crap he was to you
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 41, 42, 43  Next
Page 2 of 43