#13 Dale Thomas

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 19, 20, 21  Next

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:36 pm

Should we nickname the Kid Ronny!

Pearcey Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:39 pm

YEs i thought the "Tank" showed alot. Very pleased with what i saw and seemed to get alot of the ball. (Not sure of his stats)

Hopefuly be develops into a 150+ player for us!

Great Game, Go Pies

Pearcey

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:39 pm

Yes he did indeed - but by God I am must be getting old he looks likes he is 10!!!!!!
Zakal 

One Game, One Club, One Jumper

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 12:43 am

6 kicks, 2 HBs, 5 marks, 3 tackles and a behind.

Not a bad effort considering he only really got some good gametime right at the end....right when it counted, he bobbed up. Solid first hit-out.

Good to see mick playing him at the end too.
Magpie_Dan Taurus

The KING And I

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:50 am

Loved that handball off to I think it was Lica at CHB Saint CS end where he took the mark and as soon as he hit the ground the ball was off again! Upire didnt even have time to blow hes whistle!
PAUL MEDHURST'S #1 FAN
NATHAN BUCKLEY- 280 Games 284 Goals
Bucks You Are THE KING

AT COLLINGWOOD, YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:12 am

I thought he could hold his head high. Showed a few flashes of what may be capable of in time. Showed composure, stuck his head over the footy and, best of all, tackled well - he showed great defensive pressure for a midfielder/forward.

Pleased with his efforts - he will get a run early in the main season.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:14 am

The ' smiling asassin ' killed em !! a kid in his first serious knockout against a top four club from season 2005 i reckon did pretty well.
DaicosMagic Scorpio

1970 Grand Final Boundary Umpire

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:03 am

I like the kid ... I like him a lot. Already looks like being one of the smartest footy heads at our club. From just one game I can already tell.

Also, not too many first gamers will run back with the flight of the ball to spoil the way he did at the half forward line in the 3rd quarter.
vinnie_vegas69 

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:24 am

Northern Pie wrote:
Should we nickname the Kid Ronny!

No, because the real Ronnie has moved down from Queensland so that his son Dylan can play for the Western Jets this year.

If he's good enough, he'll be ours, and it'd be kinda strange having a Wearmouth at the club, but having ANOTHER kid nicknamed after his father...

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:09 am

He was caught out by the pace of the game. Did some good things, he can play better than that. Next week throw him in early.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:22 am

Daisy has a long way to go to be a Ron Wearmouth. Ron played in 4 GFs (inc the draw) and numerous Prelims and Semis and was a Collingwood champion through and through.

He just has that 'Ronnie' energy about him.
I thought he coped well with the pace of the game.
The key to his play is that he considers what he is going to do with the ball when he gets it. Not unlike Bucks. He doesn't just blaze away he trys to create opportunities for his team mates.

Last edited by die4pies on Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:25 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:25 am

If he started on the ground I feel he would have played better. In saying that MM through him in at the deep end to see how he adjusted and he did well enough.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:45 am

Very encouraging performance, kid definitely has heaps of ability and just needs to build his body up.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:12 am

With the numbers that Thomas (13) and Davies (19) have got and at the dome with the roof open, they can be very hard to pick from the other side of the ground.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:32 am

I was really impressed with Daisy's attack on the ball and his opponent, given how light he is. I reckon Lonie and Leon could learn a bit from this kid.

Overall I thought it was a great spirited performance by our team, who can only improve. It was important for confidence and self belief to get a win on the board early. The 3 Clokes all played well and look set to form the core of our team. C1 is looking in great shape, and has picked up some speed, and C2 was really throwing his weight around, which is how he plays best. As for C3, we're in a dilemma as to where he plays best, as I thought he looked great at CHB in the first quarter, but then he helped turn the game around at the finish at CHF, where looks like he naturally fits. The only problem I see with him playing at CHF, is that makes it hard to fit C2 into our forward line, with Pebbles and Tarrant.

Speaking of Taz, apart from one really good mark and a great tackle near the finish, I thought he looked his usual uninterested self for most of the night. Maybe I'm being a bit harsh on the guy, as I know he cops heaps from disgruntled fans, but I reckon he is lazy much of the time, which is not what we need. Also, I thought Caracella was a waste of space, while the much maligned Chad Morrison, put his body on the line when it was needed. It was also great to see Lockyer back to his best.

Josh could be a smoky for the brownlow if he can maintain that sort of form, but Guy Richards needs to make an impact pretty soon or he'll finish the year at Willi. Rocca was a bit Rusty, but his mere presence straightens up our side and he will only improve from here on. I'd be interested on others thoughts on a few of these players.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Page 3 of 21