Can you imagine....

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:10 pm
Post subject: Can you imagine....Reply with quote

Can you imagine 90.000 Collingwood supporters during the finals series singing this one as one!

Abide with me fast falls the eventide
The darkness deepens the lord with me abides
When other helpers fail and comfort flees
Help of the helpless O abide with me

Swift to its close ebbs out lifes little day
Earths joy grows dim it's glories pass away
Change and decay in all around i see
O thou who changest not abide with me

Not a brief glance i beg a passing word
But as thou dwell'st with thy desciples lord
Familiar condescending patient free
Come not to sojourn but abide with me

Come not in terrors as the king of kings
But kind and good with healing in thy wings
Tears for all woes a heart for every plea
Come friends of sinners and thus bide with me

Thou on my head in early youth didst smile
And thou rebellious and perverse meanwhile
Thou hast not left me oft as i left thee
On to the close O lord abide with me

I need thy presence every passing hour
What but thy grace can foil the tempters power
Who like thyself my guide and stay can be
Through cloud and sunshine lord abide with me

I fear no foe with thee at hand to bless
I'lls have no tears no bitterness
Where is deaths sting where grave thy victory
I triumph still if thou abide with me

Hold thou thy cross before closing my eyes
Shine through the gloom and point me to the skies
Heavens morning breaks and earths vain shadows flee
In life In death O lord abide with me.

Grab the song have a listen make sure you got the tissues handy...GO PIES!!!

DaicosMagic Scorpio

1970 Grand Final Boundary Umpire

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:14 pm

How about keeping it simple, like singing the club song?

Hail Satan.
Robert Walls (not really) 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:15 pm

Joffa

They already do that at the FA Cup Final

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:16 pm

Whats the tittle Joffa?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:18 pm

nuxta wrote:
Whats the tittle Joffa?

Abide with me

Im warning ya norm you will get misty eyed...it's a ripper!!!

Infact norm if ya can put in on CD please do me a copy.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:22 pm

Consider it done mate.

Robert Walls (not really) wrote:
Joffa

They already do that at the FA Cup Final

I would seriously give my left leg to be a part it mate Wink

DB 

Most people can't recall the lyrics to the Aussie anthem, you reckon they can remember all that Joff? Smile

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:24 pm

nuxta wrote:
Consider it done mate.

Listen to the song associate it with Collingwood success and tell me what you think...shivers down the spine!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:25 pm

DB wrote:
Most people can't recall the lyrics to the Aussie anthem, you reckon they can remember all that Joff? Smile

LOL true..oh how i wanna be at the FA cup Smile

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:26 pm

Joffa, Your exuberance is good to see, however, the only hymn i will be singing at the finals will be the Collingwood Theme Song.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:43 pm

It is commonly reported that Henry Lyte wrote this hymn in 1847, when he was dying of tuberculosis. He reportedly finished it the Sunday he preached his farewell sermon to the parish he had served for many years, before leaving for Italy in hopes of restoring his health. However, there is evidence that he wrote this hymn in 1820, after visiting a dying friend, who, on his death bed, kept murmuring the passage from Luke 24:29, where the disciples who were traveling to Emmaus asked Jesus to "abide with us, for it is evening and day is almost spent." Perhaps, feeling his own frailty on that Sunday in 1847, he remembered the hymn he had previously written, and brought it out at that time, lending credence to the first scenario.
spoljar Libra

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:48 pm

Looks like something you would sing at Mass rather than at the Footy! I'll stick to the Collingwood Theme Song! If I am singing it at 4:45pm on that last day of September, it's going to be a great B'Day present for me on the 3rd October! Very Happy Also makes great bragging rights for the next 12 months!
pace 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:03 pm

Mate i just taught my 2 year old to sing the collingwood theme song, i wouldnt know where to start with this.
However would love to see some songs at the footie like the soccer. Although i guess in soccer you get the time to come up with songs as there not always a lot happening.
bazdaddy Capricorn

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:06 pm

I can barely be bothered reading it, but yes the sound of it would be one to behold. I'm happy to stick with the long slow Collingwood, much more simpler for those who live the life of the lazy...ie myself.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5