I passed ... you bloody beauty !

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 7:08 am
Post subject: I passed ... you bloody beauty !Reply with quote

A few months back I submitted my Ph.D. thesis for examination.

I was enrolled in the History Department at Monash, and my thesis topic was "Football: the People's Game?"

Well ... anyway ... to cut a long story short, I passed.

So I'm celebrating by changing my user-name.

But please, don't be daunted. I'm still very approachable. My friends can still call me "Alf".

Actually, the thing I like most about having the title "Doctor", is that I can insist that Centrelink send my dole forms to Dr.Alfred Andrews instead of Mr.Alfred Andrews.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 7:22 am

Well done Alf. I'll have to call you Dr Alf from now on. Congratulations.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 7:24 am

Congratulations Alf - a fitting end to a long and difficult road I'm sure.

Dr Alf Andrews on the Bulletin Board is almost as incongruous as Dr Alf Andrews the dole recipient. I'm glad to see your views on conformity won't be taking too much of a battering.

I'll just call you dralf - it has a ring to it.

GeorgeQ 

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 7:49 am

Congratulations Alf, do you bulk bill?

Nick's BB veteran

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 8:15 am

Well done Dr.Alf!
You gun you!

"Good 'Ol Collingwood Forever"

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 8:27 am

Well Doctor Spock congrats and that is a human expression of well done and very pleased for you.It is an emotion of which im sure your not familiar with as yet...

But us humans will only be too eager to assist you whenever possible...

I have a thought that will no doubt rattle your confusion of human passion and emotions and that is ...... carlton are nothing more than arse bum faces who couldnt really tell you the difference between shit and clay the dirty stinken rotten scumbag morons....

Until next time spocky.

'My God'i wouldnt go into hoddle street tonight for quids'.Bill jacobs 3aw, minutes after our premiership'That is like winning tattslotto and losing your ticket and some bloke puts it in the herald sun that he found it'Rex Hunt 3aw during the 1990 grand final'Well thats about as useful as a fly wire door in a submarine'sammy newman 3aw during the 1990 grand final

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 8:39 am

well done Alf, great stuff.

Magpie Gal 19 Pisces

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 11:13 am

Congrates Alfy, I am soooooooooooo proud of u buddy.

NICKY DAVIS KICKS ARSE!!!!!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 11:57 am

Congratulations and well done Alf.
I do hear that having Dr on your driving licence gets you petrol in times of petrol strikes etc, they never ask what you are a Dr of!
Is your dissertation going to be published, or is it available on the net? I would like to have a read if it would not be a hassle for you.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 12:02 pm

Well done Alf on your achievement, its something to be very proud of, so Congratulations

EVERYONE IS A COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTER ITS JUST THAT SOME PEOPLE ARE IN DENIAL
ck_nd Pisces

Pie Minister

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 2:09 pm

Well done DrAlf... I too would like to read your paper should it be up on the web or sent via email if it was no trouble.

Carol

Don't ask yourself what the club needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and go do that, because what Collingwood needs right now is people who have come alive.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 2:37 pm

yeah i'd love to read it as well alf, sounds very interesting.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 3:01 pm

Now you've got him - Yes Alf, WHERE'S THE PAPER!!! lol just kidding well done!

I am a bit disapointed though - I'm a med student and I though you beauty, someone to tell me the answers!!

Nice Work, Doctor!

ed healey 

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 3:07 pm

Well Doc what year was the cut off point in your theses.?
Footy a peoples game?
Like the sahara forest?
Once maybe,but not now.

Well done Doc.
whats next?
does this open a few doors or is there a need for a follow up graduate degree on the history of where the people have gone that used to watch footy as opposed to todays crowds.
A lot of the old brigade dont go anymore.
The corporatisation of footy has ruined the game for many older folk as have the rule makers.
no room for even a small biffo these days.not even in the crowd.
Doc i dips me lid and would love to read it but i fear it is way too long to post here.
maybe you could serialise it.

Nick's BB veteran

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2001 3:13 pm

Of course you passed mate!
This is what you submitted:

FOOTBALL-THE PEOPLE'S GAME?
By Alf Andrews

PIGS ARSE IT IS!
The End...

Professor: "PASS! WITH EXTRA CREDIT FOR YOUR TRUTH"!

"Good 'Ol Collingwood Forever"