John Howard under attack

uey 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:22 am
Post subject: Re: John Howard under attackReply with quote

Dr Alf Andrews wrote:
Was sickening to see John Howard being attacked by Lebanese Australians yesterday ...

Oh, I dunno ... I reckon any attack on John Howard is a good thing.

What I'm pissed off about is how that useless little private school knob with the screw-driver the other day had a golden opportunity to make himself a hero and blew it.

A case of a suckhole from Carey Grammar giving the suckhole from Sydney a great big suck.

I reckon that sucks.

Here here

Take a leaf from your fellow collegian Wally Yallop and put the tiny little rocks you have on the line!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 8:29 am

Robert Walls (not really) wrote:
John Howard is the greatest Australian in the history of Australia.

Howard will go down in History as the greatest divisive PM this country as ever had. Rolling Eyes

Another 4 years Culp, read it and weep. Crying or Very sad

lol, I would prefer him than Costello, it amazes me two brothers can be so far apart in their thinking.

Labour won’t win the next election, Howard will lose it and if the polls suggest that as the next election draws near, he will jump ship and appoint Costello at the helm of the Titanic.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:19 am

nah unlikely. I'd say Howard has pretty much committed to contesting the next election. The earliest he'll make way for Costello is probably going to be halfway through his next term, if he is re-elected of course.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:25 am

David from Canberra wrote:
nah unlikely. I'd say Howard has pretty much committed to contesting the next election. The earliest he'll make way for Costello is probably going to be halfway through his next term, if he is re-elected of course.

He will want to go out a winner, a few more interest rate rises and higher inflation and fuel costs will cost them the next election. You never lose elections when the economy is going well, when its not that is a different story. Time will tell.
Robert Walls (not really) 

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:07 am

John Howard is the greatest Australian in the history of Australia.

Howard will go down in History as the greatest divisive PM this country as ever had. Rolling Eyes

Another 4 years Culp, read it and weep. Crying or Very sad

lol, I would prefer him than Costello, it amazes me two brothers can be so far apart in their thinking.

Labour won’t win the next election, Howard will lose it and if the polls suggest that as the next election draws near, he will jump ship and appoint Costello at the helm of the Titanic.

Howard in a canter.

No one wants to give the keys to fat Beasley.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 8:34 am

History shows us you don't win elections, you lose them. No one gave Bracks a chance and he didn't win. Kennet lost. It happens, as people are more out of pocket they will vote any government out.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:03 am

Who actually wants Beazley as pm though? as unpopular as costello is, even he could probably beat Beazley in an election. Labor made a ridiculous error of judgement in reappointing him, although if he wins the next election then I guess the caucus knows something I don't Laughing

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:20 am

No one does, but no one wanted Bracks either. Governments get voted out.
sherrife Scorpio

Victorian Socialists - people before profit

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:36 am

Labour Liberal... all same old bullsh*t, all equally unimaginative and equally right-wing on everything except some IR policy.

What we need is to convince people that Greens are the best value for their vote because it effectively goes to Labour anyway, but simply means that Labour has to consider a little more of the 'green concerns' and pushes them slightly more to the centre-left.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:41 am

sherrife wrote:
Labour Liberal... all same old bullsh*t, all equally unimaginative and equally right-wing on everything except some IR policy.

What we need is to convince people that Greens are the best value for their vote because it effectively goes to Labour anyway, but simply means that Labour has to consider a little more of the 'green concerns' and pushes them slightly more to the centre-left.

Agree with you there, trouble is the media who are controlled by the right wing and they won't give the Greens any credit for anything and promote them as morons etc.
sherrife Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:51 am

Uhuh... I went to a meeting a few months ago where the Australian ambassador to Burma/Myanmar was talking about the problems the country was facing, what can/should/is being done (sweet f%#@ all) etc.

Anyway the point was Peter Garrett was there and was asking very intelligent and interesting questions, especially for a guy widely depicted as a celebrity idiot brought in to make Labour popular. It is incredible how negatively the Media depicts everyone with a slight leftwing slant.

Bob Brown as another example, does not drive a car around Canberra (uses his bike), went to all sorts of openings and rallys and was one of the most active Pollies i knew over there, but has this reputation as a slack pot smoking greeny radical.

Don't believe anything you hear in the media.

Wait, believe that Howard is an arrogant bastard (especially during question time), that Abbot is a right wing bordering on racist nut, and that Downer and Rudd are private school boys playing playground games against each other and using question time as their vehicle.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:54 am

sherrife maybe the reason that the Greens don't get many votes is just because they're so out of touch with what most voters want. Look at what happened to Labour last election when they tried to adopt Greens policies. People complain about the similarity of the major parties, but in that case why is there not a further left party (ie the Greens) that are raking in the votes? Perhaps, the average person tends more towards conservatism than what is commonly thought.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:59 am

Mr Speaker, on behalf of the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, I agree that Beazley is a useless tub of lard who is definitely a liability rather than an asset to the ALP.

But Federal elections are not just a popularity contest over who would make the best PM.

People vote in accordance with the "hip pocket nerve" (excuse the cliche, Mr Speaker) ... and there are enough voters among the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, who can see clearly that their lives are about to go down the shitter under this government, to give the ALP a huge chance of winning the election by default.

To use the famous Hayden cliche from 1983, a "drover's dog" could lead the ALP to victory at the next election.

To use another cliche, this government is "on the nose". The got elected on the flimsiest pretence that they would keep interest rates down.

They failed, Mr Speaker, they FAILED ... not that it was their fault, of course ... but then they should never have made a promise to the Ostrayan people that they had no power to keep.

In fact, they ran their ENTIRE campaign on one single non-issue ... INTEREST RATES.

I quote John Howard in pre-election mode, late 2004:

Interest rates, Mr Speaker, the Ostrayan people want low interest rates, Mr Speaker, Mr Speaker, interest rates, the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, interest rates

So, having hoodwinked the public into voting them back in on the strength of interest rates, Mr Speaker, and then getting an unexpected Senate majority into the bargain, they proceeded to reveal their true agenda, Mr Speaker, by royally rogering the single mothers, the unemployed and the disabled ... and then biting off a lot more than they could chew by attempting to royally roger every wage earner in Australia.

They are dead meat, Mr Speaker.

They attempted to introduce an anti-Australian un-Australian agenda, which nobody wanted ... and now, Mr Speaker, the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, Mr Speaker, the Ostrayan people are telling them enough is enough, Mr Speaker.

John Skunk Howard ... you are on the nose.

Your government stinks.

The Ostrayan people don't want you any more.

You better get your mates in the CIA to cook up a terrorist attack on Australian soil some time between now and the next election because that is the ONLY hope you've got, you dirty stinking green and gold track-suited skunk.

Let the dance begin, Mr Speaker ... on the grave of the worst government in the history of the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:03 pm

Dr Alf Andrews wrote:
Mr Speaker, on behalf of the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, I agree that Beazley is a useless tub of lard who is definitely a liability rather than an asset to the ALP.

But Federal elections are not just a popularity contest over who would make the best PM.

People vote in accordance with the "hip pocket nerve" (excuse the cliche, Mr Speaker) ... and there are enough voters among the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, who can see clearly that their lives are about to go down the shitter under this government, to give the ALP a huge chance of winning the election by default.

To use the famous Hayden cliche from 1983, a "drover's dog" could lead the ALP to victory at the next election.

To use another cliche, this government is "on the nose". The got elected on the flimsiest pretence that they would keep interest rates down.

They failed, Mr Speaker, they FAILED ... not that it was their fault, of course ... but then they should never have made a promise to the Ostrayan people that they had no power to keep.

In fact, they ran their ENTIRE campaign on one single non-issue ... INTEREST RATES.

I quote John Howard in pre-election mode, late 2004:

Interest rates, Mr Speaker, the Ostrayan people want low interest rates, Mr Speaker, Mr Speaker, interest rates, the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, interest rates

So, having hoodwinked the public into voting them back in on the strength of interest rates, Mr Speaker, and then getting an unexpected Senate majority into the bargain, they proceeded to reveal their true agenda, Mr Speaker, by royally rogering the single mothers, the unemployed and the disabled ... and then biting off a lot more than they could chew by attempting to royally roger every wage earner in Australia.

They are dead meat, Mr Speaker.

They attempted to introduce an anti-Australian un-Australian agenda, which nobody wanted ... and now, Mr Speaker, the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker, Mr Speaker, the Ostrayan people are telling them enough is enough, Mr Speaker.

John Skunk Howard ... you are on the nose.

Your government stinks.

The Ostrayan people don't want you any more.

You better get your mates in the CIA to cook up a terrorist attack on Australian soil some time between now and the next election because that is the ONLY hope you've got, you dirty stinking green and gold track-suited skunk.

Let the dance begin, Mr Speaker ... on the grave of the worst government in the history of the Ostrayan people, Mr Speaker.

Could be used as a script for "Yes Primeminister".. lol
sherrife Scorpio

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 1:03 am

David from Canberra wrote:
sherrife maybe the reason that the Greens don't get many votes is just because they're so out of touch with what most voters want. Look at what happened to Labour last election when they tried to adopt Greens policies. People complain about the similarity of the major parties, but in that case why is there not a further left party (ie the Greens) that are raking in the votes? Perhaps, the average person tends more towards conservatism than what is commonly thought.

Mate it depends what sort of policy and where you apply it. Woodchipping in Tasmania is basically the single biggest industry in the state, undermining that was never going to be a very good tactical move, however in most cases people are willing and ready to support environmental policies.

HOWEVER then we hear the rumblings of the Liberal propaganda machine... Interest Rates bla bla economic management credentials bla bla bla fiscal responsibility bla bla bla

What a load of tripe. I don't blame people for being scared about the economy when most of the country is living outside it's means, but rather than Howard's win last election being evidence for the conservative nature of Australians, I would argue that it simply shows people are scared of debt repayments and being broke. That's not exactly a radical conclusion!

Basically, people still consider the hip pocket before they consider anything else (including ideology or the environment), and I think that's the main reason Howard won the last election. I think the best way of undermining the main parties is to work at grassroots to educate people that they don't need to keep buying cars and houses and all that shite to be happy.

Last edited by sherrife on Sat Aug 05, 2006 1:12 am; edited 1 time in total

Page 3 of 5