Random thoughts for today

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:17 pm
Post subject: Random thoughts for todayReply with quote

I've come to the conclusion that I spend waaay too much time on Nick's Laughing. Seriously I go on here at least twice every day. And what with schoolwork I can't afford to spend too much time on the internet, especially when there's essays and the like due. So I reckon I'm going to try to post a lot less.

Lol this thread is a bit ridiculous I guess but I think there's other people out there who may well share the same problem Wink

I have to wonder what other people's thoughts on this are. What sort of relationship can we have with other people where we get to know their characters to some extent and read their thoughts on so many things, and yet never meet the majority of them, or hear their voices, or even know what they look like. On a couple of occasions in the past I have even gotten a little bit upset over some things people have said on here. Why should I care though? I'm never going to meet them, and wouldn't know them if I bumped into them on the street. But, for some reason, I do. The thing is, while this phenomenon I guess has existed to a minor extent for centuries, in the form of letters, this method of non-personal communication has become more and more popular with the onset of the internet, and with it chat forums and discussion boards. It is quite hard to understand it really, but there can be no denying the popularity of it. It is quite amazing really that I have known some posters on this board longer than most of my current friends. And yet it is really no substitute for real relationships with real people. Which is one reason why I enjoyed it and had so much fun meeting a few of you in real life last week in Melbourne.

Last night, I was a bit upset, the reasons of which are not important and are my own fault, but it made me think. Maybe I'm taking all this too seriously. Maybe I'm compromising the enjoyment of the rest of my life by investing emotions into an internet board. In my opinion, the ideal thing should be that you post here, and don't really think about it for the rest of the day. And certainly not take it so seriously. If there is some poster bugging you, who cares. It's only an internet board. We all come here to talk about Collingwood right? And, in some cases, in the other boards, politics, stories of interests, or just random stuff in the bored board. Not getting worked up about whether other posters are impersonating someone, or baiting you. They've got their own problems. Just be happy that you're strong enough to not get frustrated about it. What I'm saying may go against some natural instincts of human nature, but what makes one stronger is being able to battle those instincts that make you weaker.

I apologise to anybody who actually read all that, as it probably doesn't even make much sense, and I've sort of forgotten what the subject was Laughing But hopefully there's something to take from that anyway.

Magpie 24 Libra

AT least I have more than one jacket

Location: YIHAA! Welcome to redneck land. All typing furiously!!!!!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:38 pm

Apology accepted.
Harvey 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:55 pm

stop being jealous tess
Magpie 24 Libra

AT least I have more than one jacket

Location: YIHAA! Welcome to redneck land. All typing furiously!!!!!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:57 pm

And in one long post it goes from all about David to all about Tess.
Cathalyst 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:09 pm

Lets all look at my avatar for awhile, you'll feel better in no time
Harvey 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:15 pm

dammit, even if you are that pathetic low-life wanker, with that avatar, all is forgiven
Cathalyst 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:17 pm

Harvey wrote:
dammit, even if you are that pathetic low-life wanker, with that avatar, all is forgiven

Why does everyone keep calling me large in German?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:19 pm

All of them?
Harvey 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:20 pm

well there is something very large in your avatar

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:23 pm

How would you say 'generously proportioned' in German?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:10 pm

"Your boobs are how you say, LARGE, and should be set free..free those suckers."

David mate, don't worry, the net is just a tool with a few tools.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:25 pm

Cathalyst wrote:

hmmm sounds familiar too

pica 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:38 pm

Magpie 24 wrote:

Yep. Nice hijack attempt.

(Not touching the comments about looking like a goat and not having balls) Wink
favourites 2008 

The Machine

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:50 pm

Cathalyst wrote:

it works Surprised

http://magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:41 am

pica wrote:
Magpie 24 wrote:

Yep. Nice hijack attempt.

(Not touching the comments about looking like a goat and not having balls) Wink

And this is exactly the sort of thing I'm talking about. You've just got to ignore this stuff.

BTW I thought Tess' reply was quite appropriate and on topic. Unlike the posts of Magpie 24 and, well let's not even talk about Cathalyst Laughing aah what can I say, usual suspects.
But who even cares... I'm not going to lose any sleep over it Laughing