Round 3: Teams, scores, match reports, etc.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Williamstown Factor

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:28 pm
Post subject: Round 3: Teams, scores, match reports, etc.Reply with quote

Northern Bullants v Williamstown
Saturday 22nd April
Australian Motor Finance Oval at 1.10pm (ABC)

Seniors:

B: Williams - J. Cloke - Greene
HB: Pendlebury - Anthony - Tallis
C: Iacobucci - Burns - R. Cook
HF: Lloyd - Egan - Rowe
F: C. Cloke - Lawry - B. Johnson
R: Fanning - Stanley - Davies
Int: R. Shaw - Walker - Picken
Brewer - Hall - Nicholls - Iles
Morrison - Toovey
- Galea - McKenzie - Boyd

**Game to be shown live on ABC-TV.

Interesting to note that there are 19 CFC listed players named. Will be interesting to see what happens when Williamstown plays a stand-alone team where the 12/10 rule comes into effect.
Cannibal 

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:38 pm

Good to see Shawry back.

Live on the ABC, eh? I think I know what I shall be doing on Saturday arvo, then!

Thanks, Dale.

JAJH Libra

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:59 pm

Looks my boy is moving up the ground...better position for him too I reckon.
AFL_Record Cancer

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:05 pm

Good luck, John.
I hope your boy plays an excellent match in the back line.

As for the game, I will be watching it -with interest- on ABC tomorrow.

Go Williamstown!
jonesy86 Pisces

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:11 pm

does anyone else find it strange that willy are playing on saturday and the collingwood team doesnt have to be finalised until sunday which means nothing cos we can still make changes all the way up to 40mins before game time on TUES

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 11:45 pm

thats a intresting side that willy have in.

i know ill b there to see how the boys go, also on how shaw goes 1st game back (i fink it is)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:20 am

Must be a bit of a worry for an experienced player such as Chad, named on an extended interchange...

Not a bad team at all, again displaying both the depth the Collingwood team possesses as well as how far some of our draftees - with Anthony, Pendlebury, Cook and Stanley all holding down spots in the first 18, Iles and Toovey on the pine.

I'll have the tape recorder set this afternoon - I'm probably going to the WB vs Geelong clash.Smile
loki04 Leo

Tiger Treloar lmfao NOPE.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:58 pm

Bloody the ABC here have the SANFL game on.
leonmagic Pisces

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:06 pm

well that was possibly the worst preformance by a footy team that ive seen for years.

shit house.

only positive i can think of is that rhyce looked good in his comeback.

booch and jules racked up touches, but rarely hit targets.

pendles was ok without being outstanding.
AFL_Record Cancer

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:12 pm

My best;

J. Cloke, Pendlebury, Anthony, Brewer.

Special mention to Shawry on return. Ran hard, And used the ball well.
Well done mate!
HARMZ Libra

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:27 pm

One of the worst games of footy i have ever seen.

Not much to come out of it although walker and fanning are still useless.

Booch and rowe love kicking it to the other side dont they?

Cooky was pretty good, anthony showed a bit, pendles was okay.

That is all.
blackmissionary Cancer

Lurker King

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 7:44 pm

loki04 wrote:
Bloody the ABC here have the SANFL game on.

Surely that's to be expected if you're in Adelaide.
Magpie Since 1986 

Traitor

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:04 pm

Great, a topic entitled 'scores' and not a single score? Cmon people who won? Who kicked the goals? I missed the game, help me out here.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:49 pm

Notice the VFL website hasnt even got the scores up yet either, very slack
perthmagpie Aries

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:57 pm
Post subject: Match highlightsReply with quote

I watched it on ABC. We were spared the indignity of watching the Bullants kick 4 unanswered goals in the first quarter when the power at Preston went out and the broadcast stopped for ten minutes. That really was the highlight, that the power company had good timing. Besides that, the fact that there was no noticeable injuries was a rare positive. Mick played no-one from our 25 man squad for Anzac day. So Sheedy still doesn't know (and us) who will play. This weakened the Willy team significantly. The silver lining in that is that guys like Toovey got a run. Willy in the end lost by 6 goals after kicking only two or three after quarter time. Were never in the game.

My Summary:
A shocking game to watch. The Bullants flooded for the whole game and Willy was hopeless at counter acting it. At 3 qtr time Brad Gotch pleaded with his players to get something out of the game in the last quarter but to no avail, they played the same way for another 30 minutes. For Collingwood what was gained out the game?: not much. The return of Rhyce Shaw at least. He moved well, missed a few targets but looked a class above. Ran well and will be back soon you'd expect. Ryan Cook looked good, John Anthony looks likely and Julian Rowe got a fair bit of the ball but wasted some of it. Here's my summation of our players' performances. I can't remember all the Collingwood players so forgive me if I left some out:

Very good: no-one
Good:
Iaccobucci: got plenty of possessions, is quick and crisp with most of his kicks. Works really hard. Not quite there yet though.

Jason Cloke: started off quiet but as the game went on started to take over in the backline. Plenty of spoils and a couple of lovely high marks. Still does no damage with his kicks (some things never change).

Cameron Cloke: kicked one or two goals. Took a few nice marks, played first half up forward and on the ball more in second half. Looks huge and isn't far off. Nothing spectacular but serviceable. Not enough to replace Richards or Travis yet.

Rowe: plenty of the ball. Made good space. Looks classy but kicking was wayward quite often. He looks like he's on the way back though. Will have to improve his disposal to get back in the team.

Rhyce Shaw: despite a few missed targets looked good. Spent most of last quarter on the bench. Can't wait to have him back. Maybe round 6 against Carlton?

Cook: moved really well. Not a big guy but seems to play tall. Didn't make many mistakes. Looked polished. I was really impressed with him.

Satisfactory:
Pendles: Very quiet early. Just couldn't get into the play from a flank. In second half was moved onto ball and found more space but really made little impact. Mind you everything he did was neat and classy. But today was not his day or the team's day. I will reserve my judgement till I see him again. Read nothing into his game today. He's certainly not a Scott West type nor a complete outside player. Looks like a winger or half back.

Anthony:
Looks the goods. I like him alot. Played full back and got better as the game went on. Looks very capable. Good disposal, reads the play well and knows when to rebound. Looks too short for fullback although may grow a bit more. Could play a Maxwell type role down the track.

Quiet:
Toovey: Came on second half and looked okay. Not as advanced as the others though.

Stanley: spent a fair bit of time on the bench. Got a few possies when he came on but pretty quiet. Goes in hard.

Fanning: Did most of the rucking but had little impact. No noticeable improvement from last year.

Unsighted:
Sam Iles: on the pine from what I can tell.

Walker: did nothing worth remembering. Totally out of confidence.

Hall must have been in the reserves which doesn't say much for his prospects considering all the emergencies didn't play.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Williamstown Factor All times are GMT + 11 Hours