AFL sham-This could be us soon

Bones 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2001 6:21 pm
Post subject: AFL sham-This could be us soonReply with quote

Now don't get me wrong here but the GF ticket fiasco is a bluddy disgrace. I do feel sorry (muffled) for these Bumhole supporters that have been to nearly every game this year and can't get their GF tickets. Mind you there are an awfull lot that seem to walk away with a great fistful of tickets from the queus, just as likely for ones 3rd cousin removed that hasnt been to a game for 10 years.

Should there be a reduction in the number of tickets purchased by one person? There has got to be a fair distribution somehow. Maybe member tickets could be swiped when they go to games (under the watchfull eyes of some official to make sure they don't swip every tom dik and harrys ticket also) Then maybe tickets could be booked, sold or whatever the week before to those with the most games recorded, a limited number per member ticket should be applied. ????? stuffed if i know.

It won't affect me because i have only ever been to one AFL game ever...That shitty day in 1980 GF. The only reason i got a ticket is because i know a ex-collingwood player and he took me down, he also had access to any number of tickets he wanted.

I did a have smile when i saw the Bumhole supporters crying because they couldnt get their stinking tickets.
BUT
It could be you guys one day...

As Leigh Mathews said today, PEOPLE ARE SICK OF THE ARROGANT ESSENDON SUPPORTERS...

So for this week only i am jumping on the BRISSY bandwagon...

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2001 7:35 pm

Hey i tell you what, you would not want to be the person telling joffa 'sorry mate none left'

I would pick up a piece of 4x2 and flatten every bastard in sight.

The AFL is full of bullshit and they know it, every year you hear the suits say 'we must get it right next year will be a fairer system'

Its simple get back to basics to get into a grand final you must have a membership ticket and then through the scanning system you will be given grand final tickets accordingly to the amount of games you have attended.( so if the guy next to you has attended 22 games and you have only attended 4 games on ya bloody bike)you dont deserve grand final tickets.

So then the days of the bandwagoners will be over, the days of the suits attending the grand final because its fashionable to do so will be over.

The MCG on grand final day should be full of passionate proud club members who bleed for there club and attend all games.

Why in the hell do other non attending AFL clubs recieve grand final tickets.

The days of the pretend supporters or bandwagoner supporters must come to an end.

Its time for the AFL to get it right.

I wonder how many scumbags will be in attendace on saturday who have only attended a hand full of games and yet they will carry on like the worlds greatest supporter.

ITS a disgrace !!

DONT BRING A KNIFE TO A GUNFIGHT...sean connery...the untouchables !!...DARREN MILLANE SIMPLY THE BEST...BETTER THAN ALL THE REST #42..GO OUR GLORIOUS BLACK AND WHITE MAGPIES FOR EVER UNTIL DEATH!!

[This message has been edited by magpie joffa (edited 25 September 2001).]

Bones 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2001 9:32 pm

Bandwagoners?? hmmmm at a guess 40,000

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 2:05 am

I couldn't agree more. The AFL are typically money-hungry and don't give a damn about the real passionate supporters/members who support their club week in-week out.

If there is the same ticketing fiasco when the Pies are in the finals (and Grand Final) then all hell will break loose - and that's starting with me if I happen to miss out on a ticket!!!

It's about time the AFL pull their finger out and ensure that the "real" supporters get their finals tickets and then the remainder are distributed to other clubs, corporations and competitions.

AFL - you are a disgrace!

Nick's BB veteran

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 3:04 am

LMAO JOFFA!
Yeah I could just see your face when they tell you "SOLD OUT!"
You would kill every bastard in site!

How much do you just want to someone to steal the tickets from the people in front of the cameras celerating they have GF tickets. I can see it now; "WOO HOO I GOT MY TICKETS...HEY THAT'S MY TICKET A*HOLE! COME BACK HERE!"

"Good 'Ol Collingwood Forever"
daicos4ever 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 3:41 am

Joffa - do the Cheer Squad get a certain amount of allocated tickets for the Grand FInal, or do you have to buy them yourselves?

Anyway, i like the idea of members having their games attended counted during he season, so they have priority when the finals come around. For instance, I didn't miss a (Collingwood) game that was played in Melbourne this year, so i should get priority over some guy and his missuss that come around in Round 22 (or Round 24, as the case may be), when it looks like we will make the finals. it will be even worse now that the 'G will only hold 70,000 for a few years, so the AFL should give club members priority over everyone else, including corporates. But knowing Lord Jackson and his cronnies, this will never happen....

daicos4ever

2002 - The Year of the Pie
molloymagic Aquarius

*Thanks 4 the great memorys Jarrod!**miss ya*

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 3:56 am

I hear what your saying but saying only those who attend say the most games get a grand final ticket isn't fair to those people who live interstate and can't afford the plane trip etc every week to see their team play but still get a membership, they have a right to see a grand final as well don't they??????????.

I say this because I have been supporting the mighty pies since the mid 80's and when the pies get into the final I don;t want to miss out just because I couldn't get to all the games just cos I live out of melbourne.
Jarrod Molloy RULES!!!!

[This message has been edited by molloymagic (edited 25 September 2001).]
daicos4ever 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 5:31 am

It's the people that jump on the bandwagon when the finals come around, not interstate supporters. I don't want to lose my finals tickets because of some glory hunter.

daicos4ever

Bones 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 6:49 am

I have been a member for years and do not expect to get a ticket ahead of those that have attended all year, can't go its too bluddy far for an old fart like me. BUT i do expect to be put ahead of the other 14 clubs, the AFL members and MCG members that have not been to a game since the previous years GF.

I don't think there will ever be an ideal solution.. Gewd help the AFL if its a PIE v BOMBER GF when there will be 70,000 lining up to get tickets.

MarkT 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 7:26 am

This has been a problem year after year.
In 1990 I got G/F tickets from a North member because CFC couldn't supply. It is only my opinion based on simple math but I "believe" the number they were allocated was substantially less than those sold to members. (I'm sure that is a safe (legally) comment Mike). I made enquiries at the time and have always been very anoyed at the attitude of most clubs to thier member come finals time - ours included.

There are really 2 issues here - the allocations by the AFL and the utilisation by the clubs. I know sponsors are important and have to be looked after but the MCG should contain a lot more rabid supporters of the competing clubs on GF day.

Allocation and distribution - over 100 years of practise and numerous highly paid exec's and it is still a huge problem.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 7:45 am

I agree with Joffa 100%

If you go through the pain week in and week out then of course you should get first option at Grand Final tickets. If you are interstate or in the country that cant be helped.

Its funny that i go to all the Melbourne games during the year and there are never lockouts. Yet when the Grand Final comes every man and his dog wants to go.

Im a Collingwood Seasons Ticket holder and an AFL Member yet come finals time i may as well have nothing cause thats the way you get treated. I think the grass root supporters deserve better treatment. Its sickening to see the amount scalpers who dont give a rats toss about the GF are scalping their tickets for. All those corporate packages are a joke as well. No wonder the grand final atmosphere has decreased as the people there are theatre goers.

Wayne Actionless and Jill Lindsay should wake up and listen to the screams from the general footy supporter.

APA

EVERYONE IS A COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTER ITS JUST THAT SOME PEOPLE ARE IN DENIAL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 9:01 am

The more "real" supporters at a final, the better the atmosphere by far.

The last Wimbledon final was a perfect example. Usually the majority seem to be "toffee-nosed" people who like to eat their strawberries and sip their champagne and the atmosphere usually appears pretty boring (at least from my vantage point in front of the TV). But because the final was played a day later and the real supporters were allowed to buy the majority of the tickets - the match and atmosphere were just incredible. Heaps of chanting, cheering and people jumping up on their feet. Just a pity Pat Rafter didn't win of course!

Our grand final is no different. I'm sure the players would much prefer a sea of black and white when they look into the crowd, rather than boring suits, ties and indifferent supporters of other clubs not playing.

I know we're fighting a losing battle when it comes to fair allocation of finals tickets but something has to be done.

And it will be interesting next year to see how the Collingwood Football Club also handle finals ticketing. I'm sure my membership this year mentioned something about a guaranteed grand final ticket if we made it. Going by this years fiasco (and previous years) I don't know how Eddie and the Club can guarantee anything.

I've been watching and supporting the Pies for many years now and have invested a lot of money (which usually means lots of scrimping and saving) into the Club. I do it because I love my football and the Collingwood Football Club BUT if I miss out on finals tickets next year I'd have serious thoughts as to whether being a member of a football club (especially considering the constantly increasing price of a full membership) is really worth it. I'd still support my beloved Pies and go to as many games as possible, but I'd be really p****d off!

I just hope CFC and the AFL are already planning on what they are going to do when Collingwood are in the finals next year and the demand for tickets will be greater than ever.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 10:02 am

with c'wood, I think a social club membership and above guarantees a grand final ticket if the pies make it (or so the club says).

unfortunately, the dollar drives most things these days and the ordinary fans are usually the ones who suffer because of it. however, I don't think it's fair to blame the so-called corporates or sponsors. after all, if the tickets were not made available to them, they wouldn't be able to buy any. also, the clubs would be up shit creek without them. imagine if emirates withdrew their sponsorship?

the problem lies with the AFL and the clubs who seek to make a profit from the grand final, even when they are not in it. I don't know how this can be rectified. I'm not sure if the attendance criteria would work because this works against interstate people who might also be passionate fans.

however I don't see how it is fair that clubs not participating in the grand final (c'wood included) can be allocated so many tickets, which are then sold on for $600 or more, when many essendon fans have missed out on tickets. somehow it doesn't seem right.

with increasing commercialisation, including TV rights etc, I can only see the situation getting worse. look at the NFL - they have a model based on equalisation principles similar to the AFL, but the super bowl is always priced beyond the means of ordinary fans.

"everyone's a winner hot pies"
daicos4ever 

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2001 3:58 am

From Real Footy.com

A grand plan for AFL final tickets

By STEPHEN CAUCHI
An AFL committee tackling the annual Grand Final ticket fiasco will consider a plan to give priority to club members who attend the most games.

The proposal, floated yesterday by committee member and Richmond chief executive Mark Brayshaw, is designed to placate furious members who cannot get tickets to the game while fairweather fans attend via corporate and sponsorship tickets.

Fights have broken out among stressed Essendon members at the MCG as queues formed days before tickets went on sale. The problem will worsen next year when the MCG capacity will drop to 70,000 as the northern stand is built.

Mr Brayshaw said that because membership tickets were scanned upon entrance to home-and-away games, a database could be formed showing who turned up most.

"The more loyal members - loyalty measured on their propensity to attend - are provided a priority to a limited supply of tickets," he said of the scheme. "(At the moment) members who have attended, say, 11 home games, are unable to get a ticket either because they're trampled in a stampede for tickets at the queue, or because someone who has attended only one or two is fortunate enough to get one."

Under the scheme, those eligible would have to pay for tickets at the start of the finals series. "If the club doesn't make it (to the Grand Final) you get your money back. If they do, you've got your ticket," he said.

Mr Brayshaw said the proposal would be raised when the AFL working party met before long.

AFL spokesman Patrick Keane said that if all seats and standing room tickets were sold, the Grand Final crowd would be about 98,000. According to the AFL figures, about 6000 tickets have been allocated to sponsors, media and AFL staff. But many of the 21,000 tickets allocated to non-Grand Final clubs - costs ranging from $400 to $1250 - end up in the hands of sponsors and the corporate sector.

Essendon CEO Peter Jackson, also on the committee, said this number should be cut to 14,000 and the 7000 given to Grand Final clubs.

Frank Mammone, a ticketless Essendon member, said the proposal could be abused by non-members "borrowing" tickets. More tickets needed to be made available to the Grand Final clubs, he said. "The other clubs just auction them off anyway."

Mr Mammone said he saw Essendon members queuing for Grand Final tickets before the preliminary final had started. "How am I supposed to be in two places at the one time?" he said.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

I understand your points magpie greg (about the family thing) but in all fairness, those club members who attended all 22 games should automatically get GF tickets. It's a reward for committment. If you attend all 22 games, then you deserve it. The 'fairweather fans' can get ****ed.

Anyway, that family would qualify as a family ticket. Maybe for family tickets, there must be a minimum aggregate of games attended by the members of the family to qualify for a ticket. Say, 45 games or something, to prevent dad from taking the family (or his mates).

daicos4ever

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2001 6:07 am

The bottom line is that there will never be a system that will make everyone happy. BUT there has to be something better than the fiasco supporters have to put up with at the moment.

Because I have to travel I usually get to around 16 matches per year. I think it's perfectly reasonable for someone who's attended more matches than I have to get preference for a final ticket before me. BUT at the same time, I think I should get preference over someone who's been to only 2 or 3 matches.

I understand that's rough for die-hard supporters who can't get to a lot of matches, but at least if nothing else, the supporters who go to the majority of matches are getting their finals tickets which is how it should be.