Rose Tattoo rocker loses cancer fight

pies4ever Aquarius

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:40 am
Post subject: Rose Tattoo rocker loses cancer fightReply with quote

Rose Tattoo rocker loses cancer fight
Nui Te Koha
29mar06

ROCK great Pete Wells of Rose Tattoo lost his battle with prostate cancer yesterday.

Wells, 58, was diagnosed with cancer in 2002 and combined treatment with a spirited fight.
Initially doctors told Wells he had six months to live.

"I proved the bastards wrong and will continue to do so," Wells told the Herald Sun late last year.

"I am not going anywhere. I have too many friends and family and supporters to stay around for."

Wells, acknowledged as one of the world's best slide guitarists, vowed to be positive.

"I get angry but I don't get bitter," he said last year.

"It's a bloody hard road because I'm good one day and s... for two others.

"That's when you think: 'This is just a waste of time', but I'm not a negative person. I look on the bright side.

"Every day I'm walking is a good day. Every day without pain is a good day.

"I don't have much time for bitterness -- I am just glad to be alive."

His partner, musician Lucy De Soto, had helped Wells in his battle.

"There are a few tears before bedtime but Lucy is a very different person to me," Wells said.

"She has a masters degree in something and a bachelor's degree in so-and-so.

"She is, in a sense, an academic. I am the total opposite but she gives me another perspective on life."

Wells' diagnosis forced him to quit Rose Tattoo in 2002.

Yesterday, a posting on Rose Tattoo's official website said: "We have to announce with much sadness that Pete Wells passed away today.

"Our thoughts are with his family and friends.

"The good news is that Pete's music will live on for the inspiration of generations to come."

His funeral will be held in Sydney on Friday.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5478,18638842%255E2902,00.html

Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:26 pm

Truly a massive massive loss for Australian Rock 'n' Roll, Certainly a huge influence on my musical direction for 30 years. R.I.P. Pete and no irony in that it's the same day (maybe the same bloody hour) Pants gets into the HOF. Crying or Very sad
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:01 pm

Truly sad. Loved the Rosey Tatts.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:49 am

A big Loss to music the Tatts were a very unnderarated band and influenced many. A sad day for Rock n roll . I remember writing Rose Tattoo on my school bag when I was 13.

ima dropkick 

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:08 pm

Rock great... oxymoron
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 8:58 pm

G'day that pathetic low-life wanker!
ima dropkick 

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:02 pm

Hello Ska, all set for a big season?... i think we are going back to the big dance myself, the forwardline when Rusling comes back will be the most damaging force in football
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:15 pm

Potential, potential, potential. As Gerard Healy says, we have potentially the most potent forward line in the league. Lets hope it all gels together this season. If we dont make finals (at least), I'll be spitting blood!
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:21 pm

Maybe..."Bound for Glory" and the memories of the 1990 premiership cup being held up by a bandaged hero Greg. Thats the image and possible connection I envisage.
Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:05 pm

magpie greg wrote:
Mountains Magpie wrote:
Truly a massive massive loss for Australian Rock 'n' Roll, Certainly a huge influence on my musical direction for 30 years. R.I.P. Pete and no irony in that it's the same day (maybe the same bloody hour) Pants gets into the HOF. Crying or Very sad

Apart from the fact that they are both dead, I fail to see any connection between Millane and this person. Confused

Well they're both legends - so there's one connection. Cool

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:00 pm

Pete was a great guy, anyone that knew him would testify to that. I was introduced to him at Bombay Rock many moons ago and I had not seen him for about two years after that and the guy still knew my name. He was always friendly and gave me a few tips when I played in one of my old bands and made me realise 12 bar was good fashioned rock and roll and everyone could enjoy it.

RIP mate

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:33 am

it's been 24 hours and I ain't going near Tulsa.