where we stand

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's - The Webpage

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 12:50 pm

I actually borrowed the legend sentence from someone else Steve, but it fits you so well that I had no hesitation using it.

'Growth from crisis' 'no gain without pain' etc. There are lots of trite truisms that cover it, but in this case I think that they are very accurate.

Skaman, I have a bit of a collection, I can't seem to sell old bikes. I'm actually without a car because I needed(!) the money for another bike and couldn't decide which old bike I should get rid of - with age comes maturity and responsibility Smile... and no kids. A couple of beemer boxers (r850r and r1100s) for touring 2 up or cruising in the sunshine on tassie twisties and my cobweb clearer is an aging blackbird that I love with a passion. It's not actually capable of 300k but I haven't managed to prove that to myself yet. I really like the ZZRs, I've been tempted a couple of times.
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:41 pm

Nice Mike, there all good. Thanks again for your input.
Eunos 

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:26 pm

Mike wrote;
I actually borrowed the legend sentence from someone else Steve

Ah...plagerism........

Now putting 2+2 together and seeing as there has been some plagiarism plaguing the boards, I have come to a conclusion...........

Mike is Dreamer!!!!!

Well, maybe not.....

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 3:43 pm

Has advertising been considered, or is that out of the question? I mean none of us wants to see a big pokies banner up the top of the bulletin board, but it might be a small sacrifice to pay for the continuation of the website.....

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 5:12 pm

Good to see you are staying, Steve, it wouldn't be the same without you mate, I hope to be able to add more articles to the site soon.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:28 am

Steve, I know how the frustration can build up, but after visiting
http://www.fukitol.com/, I feel so much better.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 8:14 am

David from Canberra wrote:
Has advertising been considered, or is that out of the question? I mean none of us wants to see a big pokies banner up the top of the bulletin board, but it might be a small sacrifice to pay for the continuation of the website.....

David,

There is minor advertising on the site already - for magpies.net email address, and for sportdelivered videos (where a small portion goes towards the cost of running Nick's). Apart from that, I think we try to avoid advertising it isn't really something that we want on the site. I think we'd prefer more content - and advertising can ruin a site.

It would be great if people could use those methods to help out, plus the 'Donate' button at the top...and/or help out on the site.
Euge 

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:40 pm
Post subject: SteveReply with quote

Steve

I have always derived enormous pleasure from Nick's, even if I do not get the chance to visit as often as I would like.

Keep up the good work. I can tell you that being associated with the greatest club on earth can take its toll (often at a personal level).

Thanks for all your hard work and years of dedicated service. Hopefully, the break will see you come back refreshed and re-invigorated (like our team!!).

Eugene Arocca

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:09 pm

Steve (Mad), as you say you are not chasing any accolades or recognition, but you do deserve it. That's the problem with a lot of us taking things for granted. As the above post by Eugene testifies there are a lot of us that get enormous satisfaction from this website and those that do the work deserve the appreciation of many.

Trust me when I say that although it is not often stated (never?) we do appreciate it.

And by the way, Thanks.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 6:02 pm

Just to clarify, this thread is not just about Nick's Bulletin Board, but the website as a greater whole, particularly the website - http://nick.magpies.net - and the rest of www.magpies.net

I'm sure most people realise this, but the bulletin board is part of a broader website.
Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:25 am

Top post Steve. If there's one thing I have a fair bit of at the moment, it's time. I'm certainly willing to put my hand up to help out. Enjoy your break and please feel free to contact me when you return.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:32 pm

Wow, that was exhausting. I'm a relative newcomer with very little idea of the ins and outs of the site and more importantly the amount of work some people do.

The work you guys do is not unappreciated, but isnt shown often enough, at the very least we need to hit that 'donate' button more often.

I don't want to be a legend I just want Nick's to last forever

That is exactly what makes legends, putting in the work without need for praise or 'ego polishing', but simply for the love of the club. Enjoy that holiday dude, lets hope not too many fish spoil your relaxation by eating your bait!

Now I need a lie down, and all I did was read it!

Time to watch Sydney bite the dust!

Hogiebbear Scorpio

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:47 am

To all that are involved with this website thanks.

No other way to say it then THANKS.

At the moment I cannot contribute financially, but if I can help in any way please let me know.

This is a great community and I hope that everyone can see the benefits of this community.

P.S. It is not just an empty promise, if you need any help with stuff let me know. I have just finished my major project for an mechanical engineering degree (a couple of weeks early mind you!) and can offer help if required.

Hope you catch somethin Smile
sherrife Scorpio

Victorian Socialists - people before profit

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 5:52 pm

In all honesty, i think we should put an ad at the top of the page.

As users im sure we can understand that its better to have the site go some way to pay for itself then to rely on the generousity of a select few.

It would be great if it could be an advertisement for something to do with Collingwood/football/sport ie. Collingwood store items, AFL.com site, Collingwood memberships, whatever. However even if that is not viable, i'm sure we can all ignore some stupid ad if it will help keep this great site alive.

We could even ask Ed whether Emirates would be willing to put in if we put a small logo or something on the pages? Because when you think of it, the money required to keep Magpies.net going would be miniscule compared to what they are paying the club as a whole, and it's great for public opinion etc.

Either way, thanks for the time and effort Mike, Steve, and all the Mods who make this site (not to mention the broader site) so great.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:52 pm

A great time to thank you Thankless lot! Thanks for your soul Steve you have no idea howmuch we apreciate all you all do! I am living 10000 miles away but with this site my love for footy and of course Collingwood has been rekindled. The regular posting makes us all live Collingwood and the bulshit that we read unites all ages to that special thing which is the joy of being a supporter. The web opens this new way of socializing that some people detest for what they say is impersonal and superficial but as all things the interpretation and reality are often different and more complicated. I also see it like a local rag where the authors may not be people you know but the reading is great stuff and one can apresciate the talent we have in our supporters. Some posts make you reflect on things others make you laugh for day others like the richo chewbaker look alike are priceless and make you laugh forever!! ( I dug it up recently for a tiger-mate of mine). Steve, Mike Luke + ....you guys back there are artists I like that Idea of an award voted by us supporters though the net or any interractive tecnoòogy you are thinking up. The fact that you have managed to keep this site up with few dollars and a lot of heart is what makes it so special. I would love to have the skills to be able to contribute to your ideas Steve Java... etc espescially to get some of them on the road. I hope there are others out there willing to contribute. To pay for the essential cost for the site I would go for that advertizing spot given the number of hits per day we should be able to get a sponsor interested.
Thanks
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's - The Webpage All times are GMT + 11 Hours