Do you take offence????

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Chicks Channel

Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:28 am
Post subject: Do you take offence????Reply with quote

With a lot of talk about getting more women involved in the afl at an administrative level and the ever-increasing numbers of women actually PLAYING the sport, I was wondering how other women feel when they're discussing football (either at the game, on bb's such as nick's or just with friends) and males refer to particular players as "girls"?
Do you take offence to comments like this? If so, do you let people know that their comments piss you off?

Hanskies Virgo

~~DUNN~~

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:56 pm

Annoys the hell out of me talking to one of my friends boyfriends! Apparently because Im a girl I dont actually know anything about football!
That shits me when hes a bandwagoner supporter that only watches football when his team is winning!

Dont take life too seriously.....Its not forever
Hanskies» Created by Mum & Dad » Powered by Food And Water ltd. Est 1984.
HANSKIES© 1984-2006. All Rights Reserved.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 2:13 pm

i call some of the players girls! so, no, i don't take offence.

my apologies to all girls though who do take offence

Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 2:22 pm

It doesn't bother me HEAPS any more - but playing a male-dominated sport really gives you an insight into the 'respect' given to females in the sporting domain.
At my rugby club, if one of us girls stuffs up in front of the guys, we make silly comments like "i kick like a boy" or and it really affronts some of the blokes. It's a nice way of letting them know that we take our game and sport as seriously as they do - you'd think the fact that we're heading for our THREEPEAT would force them to give us some respect, but we keep battling on.......

Go_The_Mighty_Magpies Capricorn

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:03 pm

It doesn't bother me, anyone worth talking to knows i've been going my whole life and have a conversation with me and they will see I know what i'm on about.

I call players girls, it doesn't offend me. Clearly, an average female is going to be physically wearker than the average footballer, making it a valid insult.

tazzies_girl Taurus

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:19 pm

It doesnt matter when they refer to players as girls, thats ok, but i hate males talking down to me and patronising me because im female.
That annoys me the most, they really dont understand whats its like to be a diehard sports fan and female.
If ure male u supposededly no exactly what ure talking about. Females have to prove themselves. Its the same with Tiff Cherry and Chrisite Malthouse in the media

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:59 pm

^ Dickheads like Caroline Wilson don't exactly create a great image for any other women in sports media.
carlabuckley_05 Cancer

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 6:27 pm

i dont take offence.....
i call players "girls" or anybody actually ..when necessary of course

carlabuckley_05 Cancer

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:23 pm

Go_The_Mighty_Magpies wrote:
^ Dickheads like Caroline Wilson don't exactly create a great image for any other women in sports media.

agreed...remember tiffany cherry's ridiculous questions at mick's press conference...they were shocking and have done nothing for the credibility of women in the AFL and the media..

Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 1:21 pm

Does anyone else play a 'non-female' sport???

agree about caro - though do you reckon christie and tiffany would have got a guernsey if they weren't pretty? Rolling Eyes

good to see the Age support a lot of female journos - chloe saltau is pretty good i reckon

skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 8:44 pm

oooops....sorry girls!,( feels like a bathroom scene out of Porkys!), I'll slink back to the (he hum), butch forums! Embarassed

www_MyEmoticons_com__sleezy.gif

i_luv_licca Aries

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 10:52 pm

Well the thing is, the girls' looks were the first step they would've looked at, also what is a factor, would have to be their surname.

Look @ Malthouse and Lane. I like Christie, but Sam Lane just doesnt fit in on Before the Game panel....Your meant to be funny on that show lol

Live, Love, Laugh
tazzies_girl Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 8:58 am

Nutmeg wrote:
Does anyone else play a 'non-female' sport???

agree about caro - though do you reckon christie and tiffany would have got a guernsey if they weren't pretty? Rolling Eyes

good to see the Age support a lot of female journos - chloe saltau is pretty good i reckon

I have to say I disagree with that. I reckn anyone can be pretty with the right amount of makeup and clothes. If you pulled 30 girls off Bourke St, u could ahve at least 25 faces for tv. I dont think its there faces that landed them there jobs. Tiff was a qualified physiotherapist before she started at Fox Footy
Nutmeg Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 1:54 pm

I stand corrected..

Sam Lane does NOT fit the mould of pretty - she has a face like a half-chewed mars bar.........
plus she's about as funny as a punch in the face

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 8:38 pm

Someone that agrees! She's yuck for sure, she looks like her father that's gross enough in it's own right.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Chicks Channel All times are GMT + 11 Hours