Please at least have a look at the guy!!!

jimbeam 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 1:36 pm

21 though its abit old.. 22 next year, would still need heaps of training and time.. worth a look though, like most players a decade ago didnt hit AFL till this age so thats in his favor.. He has'nt got cronic injuries or anything ??
Blanch Gemini

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 1:39 pm

Shane Beros could teach a few of our boys about "body on the line." Not overly skilled but by crikey he goes in hard EVERY time. Hope he does win the Sandover (go Swans!!).

As much as it hurts to say Subi will win the flag easily. Assassin is right. Put Priddis in another team and nobody would know who he was.

All WA Magpies join the Western Magpies now:
http://www.westernmagpies.com
(At least go and sign the guestbook).

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 1:46 pm

He looks a lot like a young Shirl 'the curl'!

jimbeam 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 1:50 pm

Well if he is the best player in a GF side it says alot about his abilities.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:43 pm

We nabbed Harry O'Brien from nowhere in the WAFL. Same with Rupert Betheras and Tarkyn Lockyer. Might be another one to add to the collection.

Sounds good, is all I can say, as I have never seen any footage of him. All options have to be considered. Late pick material, for sure. If he has pace and skills, he is worth the look.
loki04 Leo

Tiger Treloar lmfao NOPE.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:50 pm

yep definately worth a look into.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 12:10 am

Scouts Target Priddis

Victorious WA coach Chris Waterman had no hesitation in forecasting an AFL future for brilliant Subiaco midfielder Matt Priddis after his sensational display on Saturday's 58-point victory over Queensland at Carrara Stadium.

Priddis, last year's WAFL rookie of the year, was clearly best a field despite spending the opening 20 minutes on the bench.

After replacing Lions teammate David Robins in attack approaching time-on of the first quarter, the 20 year old wasted little time in asserting his authority and just got better as the game progressed.

He sealed a deserved individual honour with two last-quarter goals, giving him three for the match.

"I think with Pridda, the question mark has always been his pace, but he just keeps finding the ball," Waterman said.

"This will be good for him and I've spoken to a lot of scouts and they're all thinking the same. But I reckon some one will grab him this year.

"Without putting the mocker on him, I think someone will have to eventually grab him because you can have all the speed and strength in the world, but eventually you have to have that player who can get the footy and that's what he's good at.

"You just know with Pridda that if the ball is in his area, he will find it and help out the team because his disposal is so tidy."

Priddis has had a succession of disappointments on draft days, even though he only turned 20 in March.

The latest blow came over summer when he spent time with Adelaide in the hope of being rookie-listed, only to be told at the end of the trial period that the Crows would be exploring other options.

That setback may have let to many youngsters questioning their worth, but not Priddis, who with the support of Subiaco coach Peter German, has backed up last year's excellent form with a brilliant first half of 2005.

"Getting an opportunity (in the AFL) is a big drive, but I've also tried to block it out of my head a bit because of the disappointments, "Priddis said.

"I've missed out on three drafts, so I've tried to forget about it; I'm tiring to enjoy my footy with Subi and at the end of the year we will see what happens."

Priddis joins an illustrious group of WA greats who have won the Simpson Medal, with WA skipper Jaxon Crabb joking that he was calling his fellow midfielder "Simmo" in the final quarter.

"It's a huge honour and something that I really cherish," Priddis said. "Playing state footy is step-up, but it's something that's really enjoyable and having a win makes it even better.

Priddis also praised German for his input on his game.

"Germo's been unbelievable, so professional," he said. "His professionalism has helped me so in all aspects of my game and it's been huge for me, with my confidence and all-round game."

http://www.sfclions.com.au/ArchivedNews/WeeklyNews2005/club_weeklynews-13.06.05.htm

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 12:12 am

Another pic

Matt%20Priddis%201.jpg

bwphantom Virgo

It's Better to Burn Out Than to Fade Away

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:22 pm

This is pretty simple. Either draft him late if he is available or take him in the Rookie Draft. I have watched him play most of the season and he is the stand out player of the WAFL this season.

HE wants to play AFL and he has drive and heart, elements that are missing in these kids that are still in diapers.

Jock McHale

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:24 pm

Pace the big issue (and that is a huge one for us let's face it), apparenty (According to Wiz) he has been working hard on his pace with specialist sprint coach. Has a big tank and runs all day, ball magnet who has silky skills and great vision. Had a huge year and inviting him over to train with an eye to the rookie list wouldn't/couldn't hurt.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 pm

Maybe look at rookie listing him.
Daniel Capricorn

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:48 pm

There are rumours MM is asking whether the kid has a fat arse.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:37 am

rand corp wrote:
and inviting him over to train with an eye to the rookie list wouldn't/couldn't hurt.

No it wouldn't. That's how Harry O was selected, and Jordan Barlong got pretty close as well. Speaking of which, he has been going ok at Willy this year - any takers?
bwphantom Virgo

It's Better to Burn Out Than to Fade Away

PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 11:38 am

Can we invite him over to train with us??? If so then do it. He may just surprise everyone. Then if he is, Rookie draft him. We will probably promote at least Davies and Fanning. So use the space to bring him to Collingwood.

He has the potential and he is worth the risk. After all what do we lose by Rookie drafting him??? He would still be a better option than a 17 yr old late draft pick.

Jock McHale

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:03 am

Hmmmmm....