Sack Malthouse now

Lone Ranger 

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:49 pm

If Neil Craig only finishes second at best Tess, has he been a success, or a failure?

Question of the month Cam !!!!!!
labrooy 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:04 am

eddiesmith wrote:

Why would he sook to the media when he is Micks favourite player?

He tried did he? Is that why he was constantly on his own and so was his opponent?

I can tell you Nick was constantly chasing all over the park trying to cover loose players, of which there were many. Players like Power and Johnson running out of defense into attack as well as McGrath who must have the worst case of BO ever as Dane didn't want to go near him.

There are many reasons why we lost the game but Nick's endeavour wasn't one of them.
Lone Ranger 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:05 am

Tess wrote:
If Neil Craig only finishes second at best Tess, has he been a success, or a failure?

Seemingly if their board is as good at spin as the Pies are.... the majority of Cows supporters will say he is a success.

Oh come on Tess ... be serious. If the Crows get into the 8, Craig has done a very good job. If they make the top 4 he has been brilliant. He does NOT have to win the flag for this year to have been successful.
I know you love the black and white but stop looking at everything as simply black or white.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:08 am
Post subject: Ignore The ClownsReply with quote

In the knowledge I will get one or more clowns bagging me for questioning why CFC is actually going backwards i say this:

1. Has our great new generation of club leadership explained why we are actually performing worse each year since losing back to back flags?

2. Should Malthouse walk away tomorrow, he has made huge money out of us. So I wonder who are the real mugs in this football game? Supporters perhaps?

3. Those who say we can't look backwards to our great past, well why not. At least i get some joy out of watching us win and play with passion. I suppose you don't rate Jock McHale either? Yeah why should we value history like that?

4. AFL football for Victorian teams is at its lowest ebb in the history i can remember, and yet I still here people like Lone Ranger saying I have gone senile for even suggesting it. What a wanker! Mr support the decline he is.

5. Thankfully most people like Lone Ranger have no real say in the way anything runs, otherwise our club would continue failing and he would stand there bagging anyone for questioning it.

6. Lone Ranger, one thing is for sure, your views are not worthy of any intelligent audience, so sod off and go talk to any one dumb enough to believe you are a genuine supporter and not some ring in from another club.

woodys_world69 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:09 am

nothing wrong with mick as coach
Hugor Leo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:20 am

This is a very predictable thread indeed. I and plenty of others have expressed opinions on this matter in plenty of related threads before, but nevertheless the thread still returns just like syphilis or anal warts.

I just want to know to whats happened to the sack O'Bree and Lockyer threads this week, or in reality for the past 6 weeks. Are they cured or do the offending microbes hibernate when they are playing well.
Hugor Leo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:10 am

If you are going to call people microbes HUGOR then you should at least be man (or woman) enough to name them otherwise you should find some other description than one as insulting as the one used by you to describe your fellow Collingwood posters.

Wasn't meant to be derogatory. Just a pun on the syphilis thing. Never thought of 'microbes' being a term of abuse but looking back at the post I can see your angle. I might use it in the future now that I've seen it's effect. Still think you're a bit sensitive.

The O'Bree and Locks knockers have their point and are entitled to express their opinion (as am I). People have coined Mick as a favourites playing coach. I think many posters on this board also has their favourites. You'll rarely see a post giving O'Bree and Locks the credit they deserve after a blinder (and they've had a few recently). However when they have a fizzer the posts come out requesting their head on a kebab. There is no point discussing anything with a biased opinion as it is not reconcilable. Fair opinion is the point.
That is all I have to say.
Hugor Leo

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:27 am

Furthermore, if you can't handle a bit of banter, then you're not an experienced Collingwood supporter. We have been dished crap by opposing supporters for many years since 58. It's part of being a Collingwood fan. I'm now living in Perth after moving from Collingwood, Vic. I cop it every day here but still wear my members tie to work every monday. Phark them I say.
Toughen up man cause if the Collingwood tradition continues you're gonna need a thick skin.
lethalburns Gemini

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:45 am

My opinion is that the next person to replace Malthouse will be Mick Mcguane.

However I would prefer he gets some experience at the top level before coming to us.

I am also happy to give Malthouse 2 years as I feel we peaked too early in 2002 and effectively shot ourselves in the foot.

The reality is however that Malthouse only has 1 year to secure his future.

A finish outside the 8 in 2006 and I don't think he will remain unless he is willing to take a short-term contract.

Given that I assume he is a pretty proud person I doubt he would accept such terms.

I think all those who want Malthouse gone should try to relax till 2006 is well and truely underway.

He is capable of winning flags, and he will probably do it with another team if it is not us - we really have to time our decisions very carefully.
woe_is_me Aquarius

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:50 am

This thread is boring. We should just sack everyone after that performance on the weekend. Face it - we are Brissy's bit@#es - pure and simple. We have played very well for the past 5-6 weeks, we are allowed to have a bad performance. Every other team does!
sq3 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:58 am

All coaches are graded by their Win/Loss record as will MM be.

I would not replace him but I would ask him and the board to be start now and be far more proactive rather than reactive -as they are now.

Blind Freddie could see the Pies skill levels are lower than acceptable - especially under pressure.

The Pies should see that and hire Daicos immediately as it will takes months for this to be rectified across the board.

We definitely also need a better strength and conditioning coach - so that we can bulld better and faster players.

The Pies should also get closer aligned with the Storm and learn how to tackle effectively, efficiently and properly.

Eddie and the boys constantly state they want to be leaders in the AFL clubs in terms of innovation - well show it and hire specialist coaches for the areas we are deficient in.
GlovemanGayfer Taurus

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:05 am

I think it's interesting that we are perhaps might be missing the big picture. There are 6 victorian clubs in the same or worse position than us. Interstate football clubs are dominating the competition (the AFL will be very happy) and they have several advantages over us. I applaud the bombers for their efforts to make the Telstra dome a unique bomber environmnet for their games there. In soccer clubs share grounds but there is no doubt through the chants etc whose home it is. All you had to do was listen to the crowd on Saturday to know that from3 goals down we had no chance. If we want the club to move forward we need to use our voices, be creative and give our boys a chance to compete on an even level. I would rather be in our shoes than all other Victoriian clubs financially and media wise, our list is bare but no worse then Essendons. Perhaps our problem is indicative of Victorian football not collingwood football.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:50 am

Lone Ranger wrote:
Tess wrote:

Seemingly if their board is as good at spin as the Pies are.... the majority of Cows supporters will say he is a success.

Oh come on Tess ... be serious. If the Crows get into the 8, Craig has done a very good job. If they make the top 4 he has been brilliant. He does NOT have to win the flag for this year to have been successful.
I know you love the black and white but stop looking at everything as simply black or white.

Craig has done a wonderful job this season. If all coaches were rated on flags and nothing else, most would be failures.
dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:28 am
Post subject: Re: Ignore The ClownsReply with quote

Hiss wrote:
In the knowledge I will get one or more clowns bagging me for questioning why CFC is actually going backwards i say this:

1. Has our great new generation of club leadership explained why we are actually performing worse each year since losing back to back flags?

2. Should Malthouse walk away tomorrow, he has made huge money out of us. So I wonder who are the real mugs in this football game? Supporters perhaps?

3. Those who say we can't look backwards to our great past, well why not. At least i get some joy out of watching us win and play with passion. I suppose you don't rate Jock McHale either? Yeah why should we value history like that?

4. AFL football for Victorian teams is at its lowest ebb in the history i can remember, and yet I still here people like Lone Ranger saying I have gone senile for even suggesting it. What a wanker! Mr support the decline he is.

5. Thankfully most people like Lone Ranger have no real say in the way anything runs, otherwise our club would continue failing and he would stand there bagging anyone for questioning it.

6. Lone Ranger, one thing is for sure, your views are not worthy of any intelligent audience, so sod off and go talk to any one dumb enough to believe you are a genuine supporter and not some ring in from another club.

Again Hiss I ask the question you seem to have ignored. In your 35 years membership what management / executive team has brought us the success you want?
Lone Ranger 

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:18 pm
Post subject: Re: Ignore The ClownsReply with quote

Hiss wrote:

Becoz Brisbane pummelled us and left us totally demoralized. No confidence plus injuries = MAJOR ladder slide

Hiss wrote:

Of course we can look at our great past and be proud. There is only a problem if we think we have some god given right to that sort of success.
Maybe the problem is we think success should be a given rather than earned so lets just sack someone when the going gets tough.

Hiss wrote:

Whats Victoria got to do with anything ... National Competition. I hate traditional rivals Carlton and Essendon more than I hate Adelaide or West Coast. I care about Collingwood and couldnt care less how badly Essendon and Carlton are going. Only wish Melbourne were going poorly too!!

Hiss wrote:

Sorry to dare to disagree with you.
We have had 2 terrible years after 2003. Questions have to be asked re things such as trading. Of course I'm not happy with how we are going but where we differ is I reckon MM is the person to lead us out of it. I'm prepared to give him at least another 2 years as I reckon there is no quick fix.

Page 5 of 6