Straight "Yes" or "Gone": will Collingwood still make the Fi

Sly Leo

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2001 5:22 pm
Post subject: Straight "Yes" or "Gone": will Collingwood still make the FiReply with quote

Sly.
MTA.
The Collingwood Rant.
Dantheman 

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2001 5:25 pm

Hmmmm. Maybe.

It'll probably come down to the Canberra game.
(I think the Pies will make it on percentage)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 4:35 am

gone

of the remaining six games, I can only see c'wood winning against fremantle and western bulldogs (even they are not certainties). the 50-50s are richmond and the kangaroos. however, the tigers seem to have the wood on the pies for some strange reason, and before the weekend, no one except for port had kicked 16 goals against essendon this year, yet the kangaroos did that in a half, so they are red hot. the pies may go close against essendon and carlton, but the reality is that they will probably be beaten soundly. even if c'wood manage to swing a 50% split of the remaining games, it still may not be enough to get into the finals. any more than that and it may be asking too much of the lads.

c'wood, please prove me wrong!

"everyone's a winner hot pies"
Kristin5 Taurus

Fiery Redhead

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 5:00 am

YES!!!

Can't see why not. As I said in a post on another thread, there is no reason why we can't win all of the remaining games (I realise though that it's unlikely that we'll win all of them, but we probably only need another 4 wins to make the finals).

I just hope that the players and coaching staff still believe in themselves that they can do it - they can't drop their heads now!

We've had a few bad losses (not by great margins, but losses to teams we should have defeated) and some really great and memorable wins. C'mon Pies - find the form that saw you beat Melbourne, West Coast and the Bullies. Those games were simply awesome!!!

[This message has been edited by kristin5 (edited 24 July 2001).]

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 6:00 am

Hmm. I think you needed to put a third option.

1. Yes
2. Gone
3. Ask me again in 6 weeks.

Put me down for a 3.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 6:05 am

Gone

The third quarter against Hawthorn was the worst quarter i had seen by Collingwood in over a year. Last year we were thrashed by Carlton st Optus Oval but Carlton were flying at that stage and Kouta was in great form. I still dont rate Hawthorn that highly.

I want to be optimistic but the way i see it is that i was betting with money i wouldnt be putting money on Collingwood to make the 8. So those people who think we will make it go and put some money on us if you are all that confident.

It will take a dramatic improvement and an injection of enthusiasm from the younger players for us to make it.

APA

EVERYONE IS A COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTER ITS JUST THAT SOME PEOPLE ARE IN DENIAL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 6:11 am

Unfortunately I'm already saying "maybe next year?"

psychosupporter 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 9:40 am

Yes!
This is my opinion of what collingwoods next six weeks will be like:
Rd 17 V Fremantle: Win
Rd 18 V Bulldogs: Win (you dont beat a side by 72 points then lose to them the next time you play...)
Rd 19 V Richmond: Win (becaus i hate richmond and their crap)
Rd20 V Essendon: Lose (probably get paistakingly close though...)
Rd21 V Carlton: Lose (just one of those feelings...)
Rd22 V Kangaroos: Win (cos we're pissed off the match is in canberra and we'd love to spoil their unbeaten run there...)

End of rd 22: Coll 12 wins, 10 losses... should be enough for the eight...

Just my opinion

The year of the magpie...

Legga 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 10:57 am

Gone-but take heart, if someone had said to you at the start of the year we would win 10 games (which is where I think we will finish) you wouldn't hesitate to take that.
We have built up our expectaions, which isn't a bad thing, but realistically, we still have a fair way to go.

Rinnovator Cancer

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 10:59 am

Hell YES!

V Dockers (too easy)
V Bulldogs (close but we will win)
V Richmond (coz clement will keep richo scoreless)
V Essenscum (maybe not but it will be close therefore keep our percentage good)
V Carlscum (coz i hate them we'll win)
V Kangaroos (coz they are crap we'll win)

I'm feeling 6th spot with a killer percentage

ck_nd Pisces

Pie Minister

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 3:03 pm

Yes.

Although some will call me crazy for saying so...

Collingwood are my team and I am right behind them.

Don't ask yourself what the club needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and go do that, because what Collingwood needs right now is people who have come alive.

Lets support our boys like we are already in the finals, they have worked hard this year giving us a lot more than what we thought was possible looking at our form last season. The last thing we can do for them in return is lift to support them when they need it the most.

Carol

MagpieMark 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 3:24 pm

Yes

Have faith people

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 3:52 pm

To all those people saying 'Yes" why not go put $100 each on us making the eight. That would show everyone that you believe in what u say.

Do we really deserve to make the eight ?? We have lost to the Kangaroos, Geelong and Sydney all three teams of which are vying for a similar finals position.

Our year will be next year. Next year we will finish top 4 for sure. Once we get Dean Soloman to bolster the backline and Didak stepping up into the midfield we shall be hard to stop.

APA

EVERYONE IS A COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTER ITS JUST THAT SOME PEOPLE ARE IN DENIAL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 4:06 pm

i reckon any team that beats both port and adelaide away are deserving of a final 8 spot, especially given the pissweak performances of teams like richmond at footy park.

ck_nd Pisces

Pie Minister

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2001 4:06 pm

mate if I had $100 I would put it on the Magpies... atm it's dosh that I just don't have.

Carol

Don't ask yourself what the club needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and go do that, because what Collingwood needs right now is people who have come alive.