From the president

the president Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2001 12:57 pm
Post subject: From the presidentReply with quote

Hello all, I hope that all of you will be attending our members forum on Wednesday night 6.00pm at McHale Stadium at Victoria park.
By next week we hope to put an agenda on the club site so that people can come prepared to discuss a range of topics and add some thoughts to where the club is going.
Amongst some of the things we will be looking at will include membership categories, payment on the drip etc, what we want from our social club etc.
We will also have a report from the football department and all department heads will be in attendance.
What I don't want to happen is for people to come along and complain.
Have a go yes, but come with some answers not just questions.
There have been some great suggestions in the past while at the same time some questions have been dreamt up by people trying to make a name for themselves.
I don't expect people to waste their time turning out in the middle of Winter for a bitch and moan session nor am I turning up to feed the chooks.
I want this meeting to be a further coming together of the club to include everyone on where we are and where we are going and make sure that we all enjoy the adventure and that we all get a say. That doesn't mean we'll be turning cartwheels for everyone but it is important that everyone understands what the board and the administration is hoping to achieve and that we as your representitives understand what all areas of the club are wanting.
I spend a lot of time reading all the various supporter websites because I find them a great way to stay in touch with what you are thinking, extreme or otherwise, and you would be surprised how many emails have hit the administration after I've had an hour or two on the net.
Things are starting, and I emphasise starting, to take shape on and off the field. I haven't even got cracking yet. Please introduce yourselves to me by name and web name I can't wait to put faces to names.
See you Wednesday.
The President.
PS If you want to give me some advance notice of areas of concern or discussion please feel free to post me here or on the club site. It might give me a chance to give you a full answer rather than making it up on the spot.

Fradam Virgo

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2001 1:19 pm

Sorry I would love to go but being a country member it's a bit of a hike just for a meeting plus I have a committment that night. It would be good to read a transcript of what happens at the meeting. As a member I have no complaints, I'm extremely happy with the way the club is going and how it's treating me as a member, I think things are fantastic.

Fradam Wrote This
Seth 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2001 2:41 pm

Eddie, can I ask one thing now that I won't need to bring it up at the meeting unless it is something you wish to raise. I am curious as to why there is no $2- discount for away games of the admission price. As I am a Captain's member if I go to most away games my membership if effectively over $400 a year. Not a major thing for me but I was suprised why this was taken away. Whether it is a club thing or an AFL thing?

I will also seek to raise the issue with exclusive internet access for members on the collingwoodfc internet site and perhaps this should be part of the initial membership price.

Thank You for your time and yes I hope to introduce myself to you which would be great.

Go Pies!!

[This message has been edited by Seth (edited 14 June 2001).]
brodie_rocks! Aries

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2001 2:52 pm

Ed,

This really doesn't concern the upcoming meeting but more of a thankyou to yourself and the wonderful membership and marketing team at Collingwood.
For my 17th birthday earlier this year, my Dad purchased for me an 'Inner Sanctum' membership - one for me, one for him. So far, we have thoroughly enjoyed the time spent around the rooms seeing what goes on and hearing from the absolutely fantastic Neil Balme on coaching tactics before the first bounce.
This is a fabulous initiative for football and especially for the greatest football club on earth, our club.
It is fantastic to see some girls down in a predominately male area (one of which is myself) and, as a passionate football lover, I really appreciate the opportunity to share with the team all the pre and post game hype, sorrow and celebration and I would just like to thank the Collingwood Football Club for giving me and my father that opportunity.
Magpies Forever,
- Stephanie

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2001 3:20 pm

yeah i also have a commitment that night, but anyway eddie i think you have done great things for the club.

OutKast 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2001 4:18 pm

I will be in attendance on Wednesday night Eddie, but purely to gain more knowledge on the progress of the club - not to bitch and moan. Surely members will have nothing serious to complain about as our performances on and off the field this season have been more than encouraging, let's just hope we can keep it up.
I can't think of any issues that are of great concern at the moment, but i might fire a few quick questions that are relevant but not necessarily important:
How close is the AFL to shifting our round 22 fixture against the Kangaroos back to Melbourne? I've heard SCG, Canberra and Colonial mentioned, which is the more likely?
Will there be a Captain's & Legends Cocktail this year? I think it was around this time last season, but as yet I haven't heard anything about one this season (although it is mentioned in the membership package). I'm sure other posters might even answer that one for me.
Well i'm looking forward to Wednesday night, would love to catch up with ya for a chat. Thanks in advance.
OutKast

"Football's coming home, it's coming home..."

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2001 5:53 pm

mite go...is training on that nite who else is goin ???

Hiya-and-Higher 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 2:20 am

I'm an interstater who grew up in Collingwood. I know of many avid supporters who live in my area, the north of SA, but none are members. (probably because they feel a bit remote and there is no easy option on offer.

Please consider a category that acknowledges Interstate/International supporters as a special group for whom attendance at social club facilities and matches is not possible.
I'm sure it would capture the imagination if a special foreign legion badge was to be created.

Also I'm sure that most out-of-Victoria 'Foreign Legion' members who perhaps run a business that has plenty of human traffic would be chuffed to act as a recruiting agents for the club if posters and application forms were made available.

It's nice to be feeling those tingles of pure pleasure again! I salute you and everyone involved

Dino 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 3:09 am

Ed,

As a country member (Tassie) I would second the motion to have a transcript of the night or at least a summary of sorts posted on the Club's Website.

B&W Phantom 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 4:58 am

It is great to see that you surf sites for the Pies. This is why we all respect you Eddie because you not only are a stand up guy for the club you also show support for the people who cheer the boys on. In reply I would like to bring to your attention that my brother(Northern Pie) and I have created a site for Qld based supporters. The Pies have a great base of Pie supporters up here(sell out of Lions Games proves this). Hence this brings me to ask the question 'have you ever visited our site?' If not the address is www.geocities.com/northernarmy. We have some ideas to promote club membership for supporters up here and we would genuinely like to meet you sometime to discuss how we can promote the club further up here and give support to our members. Please Eddie this is a genuine letter, and we would be honoured if you replied to us.
Kindest regards,
B&W Phantom (Ken Hatch Jnr)

Sly Leo

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 6:52 am

On Optus' Thursday Footy Show, we saw Jarrod Molloy and Peter Daicos bantering about Daics giving Molloy some training and instruction in kicking for goal.

Daics has been Collingwood's greatest goalkicker (a pretty neat trick for a Centerman who's rarely and bizarrely recognized for that part of his career) since Peter McKenna.

Since his insidious sacking at the hands of Leigh Matthews, Peter Daicos has never held any sort of position (other than honorary) at Collingwood. I realize that it's the domain of the respective Coach whether they wish to retain Daics in some tutorial capacity, but at other Clubs you often see former players brought back in this sort of capacity.

So, my question: why isn't Daics brought back to help those players who have trouble kicking at goal? Jarrod Molloy obviously has an accuracy problem, as does Anthony Rocca once he gets within 45.

With no disrespect intended to the incumbent Coaching staff, but there's not a specialist goalkicker amongst them and surely Daics could fulfil this role perfectly - particularly with Rocca (and it would've worked just as well with Sav) who's always had this accuracy problem from in-close.

Sly.
MTA.
The Collingwood Rant.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 6:58 am

QUOTE eddie says

'im not goin to turn up to feed the chooks'

Im pissen my self that is so funny

HE's a legend !!!

WE MARCH WITH PRIDE,WE MARCH WITH LOVE,WHEN IT COMES TO OUR COLLINGWOOD WE FOREVER MARCH ! we will never forget our great number #42...GO YOU BLOODY PIES yeaaah LETS KICK ASS.lets kill the bloody bastards !!

magpie24 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 7:29 am

Got nothing to bitch and moan about here Ed.

I won't be going, but i think my Adult 18 membership is excellent value for money.

Would consider Legends membership.The only problem is when you are going with different people each week you would not be able to sit with them,but i can live with that.I spose thats a little moan although it dose'nt worry me.

******WE WILL RISE IN OUR WAY*****
Sly Leo

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 8:20 am

And another question: Why can't I find any Tang around here?

Sly.
MTA.
The Collingwood Rant.
ck_nd Pisces

Pie Minister

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:24 pm

I would like to second the Foreign Legion (Hiya-and-Higher's post) idea being an interstate person who stuggles to get to Melbourne once a year for a game of footy.

Also, I think that it is important to maintain a connection with members e.g. having inclusions with membership that isn't available to the general public. What to offer exactly would depend on their level of membership but it may include exclusive interviews with players as opposed the interviews provided for anyone who pays $25 for internet Magpies Platinum which anyone can subscribe to - club member or not. Or perhaps there is something else members want that is feasible to include with membership that could be limited to members and not the general public??

Thanks for all your effort Ed, much obliged.

Carol