Food at the footy

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 7:31 am
Post subject: Food at the footyReply with quote

I’ve tried to put together my impressions of the food at the MCG and Colonial Stadium. In most instances, I am not very impressed.

MCG

Collingwood Social Club (Lindsay Hassett Room) – Not bad. Good value, huge servings, pub prices. Had the calamari rings which comes with a mountain of salad, chips or wedges, and bread for $11. Other meals include roast of the day (i.e. roast chicken foccacia), vegetarian lasagna, pizza, and sandwiches. 4/5

Food outlets (outside) – Includes Nando’s, hot jam donuts, hot dogs, gourmet spuds, etc.. Nando’s chicken burger is the pick, while the donuts come a close second. 3/5

Food outlets (inside) – Pies are OK, usually lukewarm though. Rip-off prices. Hot dogs are big but the bread that comes with it is crap. Chips can be stale tasting, but wedges are not bad. Once tried a gourmet ham filo roll; save your money and go for the four n’ twenty. 2.5/5

JB75 says: Eat at the social club or buy a Nando’s burger, otherwise BYO lunch.

Colonial Stadium

Nosh@livewire - Excellent. Mains start from about $14.50 all the way to $25.50. Two dishes stand out – Asian noodles with honey duck and bokchoy in a coconut and lemongrass broth ($17.50) and Sirloin of beef on a chard, rocket and eggplant salad with grilled kipfler potatoes in caraway butter ($25.50). The menu changes every few weeks though. 5/5

Food court – The asian noodles are generous but are very greasey. I think you’re paying about $1.50 for the Seinfeld-esque takeaway box. Pizza was interesting, wedges are quite good. 3.5/5

Food outlets (inside) – Let me just say this: Colonic has different caterers to the ‘G and it shows; the food is overpriced and CRAP!! The pies are the only things worth eating I reckon. My friend ordered a chicken burger, took one bite and couldn’t finish the rest it was that bad. I’ve had the “fish and chips” which turned out to be one barely crumbed fish the size of an anchovy and the worst chips I’ve ever had (blah). These put me off trying the other stuff, although the dim sims look interesting. however, the rest is 1/5 (BTW being somewhat of a dim sim affionado, I think you can’t go past a fried or steamed dimmie from Dragon’s Wok in Sth Melb market).

Collingwood Social Club (Victory Room) – Only ever had pies in here; I’ve seen other people order chips. Apart from that, I don’t think there’s any other food. Hey, the VBs are good though…lol 2/5

Locker Room – Never been in there….do they have food?

JB75 says: when and if you score those Access One passes, eat at Nosh and impress your partner with your footy and culinary expertise. Otherwise, buy a pie or BYO lunch, and avoid the chicken burger (snouts and entrails) at all costs.

"everyone's a winner hot pies"
Rowdy26 

chomp - new strawberry!

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 8:02 am

wow - sounds like you've eaten everywhere. You getting paid by The Good Food Guide or something? anyway i think i'll stick to my vegemite sandwhiches... cant afford any food at the footy - way overpriced for my limited budget, although if i ever get tempted for something warm I'll be sure to stay clear of those chicken burgers.

Kristin5 Taurus

Fiery Redhead

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 8:09 am

I've had one of those chicken burgers (trying to eat healthy!) - I took one bite and started gagging (minds out of the gutter please!!!). It was bloody awful.

I'll have to stick to the pies, I think.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 8:47 am

Hey, Junkboy

(sorry, but I couldn't resist)

WHO ATE ALL THE DONUTS
YOU FAT BASTARD
YOU ATE ALL THE DONUTS.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 9:10 am

hehe....nice one, Alf what can I say I love my food, although I have managed to keep a lean and lithe Swedish pretty boy figure, unlike some of those I see in the outer...hehe.

I reckon Dragon’s Wok should open up a dim sim outlet at the ‘G so that everyone can indulge in the chopped cabbage and pork dumpling nourishment that is the dimmie, topped with lashings of chilli or soy sauce….mmmmm, you will be in flavour country.

A close second would have to be a souvlaki outlet, and I nominate Stalactites (Lonsdale St) or Souvlaki King (Brunswick St) to open up a franchise. Slivers of moist glistening giros expertly cut from the spit, gently sautéed in a pan with rich, creamery butter with a few squeezes of lemon juice, then put to rest on a bed of freshly chopped lettuce and sliced tomato and doused lightly with pungent but delectable tzaziki, before being wrapped in a warmed pita.

Pure food porn, mate, but you can’t beat it.

BTW, whatever happened to those sushi packs for those who want to eat in a more healthy manner like kristin5. they seem to have disappeared from the food outlets.

Kristin5 Taurus

Fiery Redhead

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 9:16 am

Sorry Junkboy, I don't like sushi (I'm a very fussy eater).

And as for souvlaki - one of the best would have to be from Zorba's, Cnr Bridge Road and Waltham Street in Richmond.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 9:55 am

chips with... vinegar salt sauce salt vinegar mmmmmm and loads of it till it leaks through the cup and in that order mmmmmmmmmm

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 11:40 am

sorry, but for the best souvlakis of all time go to Lambs on Chapel. no one else even comes close.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 1:13 pm

I've been to Lambs on Bourke...is it owned by the same people? ahhhhh, nothing like a souvlaki after a night on the piss...

back to the topic, as highlighted by my original post, the food at the footy is usually a rip off and isn't much chop. but it wasn't always like this. I remember beautiful, hot shoe string chips at Vic Park which tasted much better than the sterilised versions you get at the 'G or Colonic. also, there's always a sausage sizzle near the ground and you can't complain about a large sausage sanger piled high with onions, cheese, tomato sauce and mustard for about $2.

the old VFA also had pretty good value food. many pleasant sundays were spent at the beach road oval (I was a sandy fan before they became the melb reserves) downing a few tinnies on Can Hill, and munching into some Pattie's Pies, which certainly didn't cost $3.20. nice pasties and hot dogs as well. those were the days (hehe..I sound so old but I'm only 26).

[This message has been edited by junkboy75 (edited 18 June 2001).]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 8:48 pm

I like food...i like food...i like food...i like food...

SO does dan..(PIESPREMIERS)

HEY DAN GET OUTA THAT BLOODY CUPBOARD AND GET ON NICKS WILL YA

see he is scoffin that big gut of his !!!!

THE TRANNIES FROM CRANNY....LOL...LOL
BIG ANNOUNCEMENT TO BE MADE BY DAN SOON.

WE MARCH WITH PRIDE,WE MARCH WITH LOVE,WHEN IT COMES TO OUR COLLINGWOOD WE FOREVER MARCH ! we will never forget our great number #42...GO YOU BLOODY PIES yeaaah LETS KICK ASS.lets kill the bloody bastards !!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2001 3:22 am

you can get it walking, you can get it talking, you can get it cheering at the footy....matter of fact I've got it now. a hard earned hunger needs a big hot souvie. And the best hot souvie is Vic...Vic souvie.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2001 3:40 am

There is a joint in the city on russel st that makes souvlakis only has any one else been there ?

Let me tell ya it is sensational you can smell the meat cookin well before you get there and god this is makin me hungry you can sit in there and eat and you can ask for double meat and let me tell ya the meat is lush and crisp and fair dinkum when you eat it you purr...LOL thats how lush it is and the tomato and onions im really struggling tryin to finish this entry...think i might sneak up to the shops.

WE MARCH WITH PRIDE,WE MARCH WITH LOVE,WHEN IT COMES TO OUR COLLINGWOOD WE FOREVER MARCH ! we will never forget our great number #42...GO YOU BLOODY PIES yeaaah LETS KICK ASS.lets kill the bloody bastards !!

Elvira Pisces

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2001 4:30 am

People, people, you havent eaten a REAL SOUVLAKI till youve tried one at HIPPO'S SOUVLAKI in Springvale. TRUST ME, Elvira the Greek know's these things...

ELVIRA.....................

Millane42 

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2001 4:43 am

Footy food is a dead set rip-off:

COLD CHIPS $3.80
BURNT PIES $3.20
FLAT COKE $3.80
SLIMY NOODLES $10
TASTELESS HOT DOGS $4

Bring your own food to the footy, nothing beats a good homemade sandwich and boycott the food outlet nazis who charge exorbitant prices!!!!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2001 4:49 am

LOL...LOL...OUTLET NAZI'S just like the seinfeld episode 'the soup kitchen'.hahahahahahahahahaaa