Happy birthday Mr Howard.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 5:52 pm

Joel wrote:
So, everyone just keeps arguing until we all agree who is a liar, who lies the most, and who isn't a liar at all?

No Joel, all I want is a governmnt that is not only clean, but is seen to be clean. The excuse "everyone does it", "it's old news" doesn't wash. You know the old saying, the buck stops here. Well, it's been replaced by passing the buck. Eventually, I'd hope, the electorate in general will boot out governemnts who are unable to approach the ethical standards they espouse. I can't see it happeneing, but that doesn't mean it's not important. Peterson lasted for years in Qld, Playford is SA, Askin in NSW. Telling the truth is. Ethics are one of the most important attributes a gvernment can have. They are not making decisions to just get re-elected. Their policies impact for a long time down the line. Sometimes I think we lose soght of that.

"Oh, he never lies. He dissembles, evades, prevaricates, confounds, confuses, distracts, obscures, subtly misrepresents and wilfully misunderstands with what often appears to be a positively gleeful relish and is generally perfectly capable of contriving to give one an utterly unambiguous impression of his future course of action while in fact intending to do exactly the opposite, but he never lies." Banks.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:01 pm

I don't think anyone said we should accept it (that pollies lie). I would prefer pollies that don't lie, but the fact remains, that the pollies do lie, and will continue to lie, while they can get away with it.

I think everyone wants what you want, but the day that happens, we will live in a utopia.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:33 pm

So I take it everyone on here doesnt lie so as to be able to judge others who they are accusing of lies........................................

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:52 pm

nuxta wrote:
So I take it everyone on here doesnt lie so as to be able to judge others who they are accusing of lies........................................

Trite response mate. Biblical rules or the code of Hammurabi doesn't apply here. It's a questions of ethics. Politicians can lie all they want to their friends and family, as can businessmen and women, teachers, jugdges, doctors, plumbers, bircklayers, lawyers, whoever. I couldn't care what they do in their private lives. In their professional conduct, it's a different question.

As far as utopia goes Joel, it's a pipe dream. Ethics aren't. We are held to it in our professional lives, whay aren't they. If I obfuscated as much as some politicians, I'd get the arse. simple as that. My ethical standards wouldn't let me. I may be a lot of things, but unethical I ain't, and I expect our 'leaders' to be the same.
Canberra Aquarius

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 11:21 pm

Greggy,can you settle this once and for all. Instead of hiding behind the argument that all politicians are liars give us your opinion.
IS JOHN HOWARD A LIAR?

We aren't asking whether Latham or Hawke or Keating,or anyone else for that matter,lies. The question is:
IS JOHN HOWARD A LIAR?

Canberra Aquarius

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 1:18 am

Why not Greg. Yes I think Rob Jolly and John Cain told massive lies about Pyramid.
You needn't worry either. I really expected that kind of cop out answer. I will take the time to ask the question again. This time can you tell me whether the little weasel is a liar or is he the only truthful politician.
IS JOHN HOWARD A LIAR?

elv Libra

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 1:49 am

Is Honest John Howard really honest? Wow,and I thought Canberra was being mild in his criticism. Just goes to show you can't be right all the time.
Greatest PM in the last 30 years. So that means Gough Whitlam was better. Now you're talking Magpie Greg.

Canberra Aquarius

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:00 am

2004 minus 30 = 1974 .Who was the PM in 1974? Now who was it? Oh No. It was Gough.
Talking about checking every 10 minutes MG go back through this thread and have a look at your response times to anything attacking the weasel.
The difference between you and I is if I am in here everyone knows it. You choose the hidden mode.

no fear Aquarius

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:55 am

Is Magpie Greg a member of the Bush family?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 11:17 am

Geez, this is going a bit overboard.

LD, I agree, we shouldn't accept unethical behaivour.

Australians have the power to vote, if you don't like it, hold them accountable. If you believe it is a non-issue, vote however you wish.
Canberra Aquarius

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:51 pm

Correct Joel. This thread has been thrown overboard. Unlike the children.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:54 pm

Good one Canb, I'll give you that. Laughing

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:22 pm

I recall Howard saying we'll NEVER EVER have a GST. And do reckon he wasn't lying there eh greggy?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:25 pm

CQ wrote:
I recall Howard saying we'll NEVER EVER have a GST. And do reckon he wasn't lying there eh greggy?

Nah, he had his fingers crossed at the time CQ, didn't you see that?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:39 pm

Errrrm CQ, I do recall John Howard going to an election on that issue.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 9 of 11