Elliott, Hodge get contracts

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar

commonwombat Sagittarius

commonwombat

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 2:48 pm

Donny,

Certainly agree that losing one's ACB contract does not necessarily signify curtains to one's intl career but Hohn's statements, his injuries and age tend to mitigate against him.

Looking at the full list, there are few quibbles. Tend to think that Maher will go at next review due to anno-domini and it is interesting that there is not a 2nd specialist keeper on the list, curious considering Gilchrist suffering some wear and tear.

Consider it will be a crunch season for the contracted futures of Harvey, Hogg, McGill and maybe Love. McGrath's ongoing fitness is a worry and another interrupted/missed season may spell contractual changes.

BTW JLC, I can count 4 Victorians on this list, hardly a case of a shut out.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 3:38 pm

Wombat, you mis-read me - probably only slightly, not like some. I'm neither a Bevan fan nor a Tendulkar hater.

What I dislike is hyperbole and there's just as much negative hype written in here about Bevo as positive hype (little master/ best batsman in the world nonsense) about Sach.

I'm not particularly enamoured with McGrath and Warne as people but I love seeing them ply their trade and appreciate their great skills.

I am, unashamedly, a Lehmann and Gilchrist fan but not particularly keen on Martyn or Langer.

I think Muralitharan is a wonderful talent and I love the way he enjoys his cricket. My views on the legitimacy of his action are clear and stated elsewhere.

Obviously, Bevan is past his best and was never going to make the next World Cup. I just pointed out he (or Bichel or any other uncontracted player) could still be picked.

If, for instance, 2 or 3 batsmen get struck down in Zimbabwe with their version of Delli Belly - Zimbo Limbo -, who they gonna call ??

You can bet Bevo would be the first name on the list. Very Happy

commonwombat Sagittarius

commonwombat

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 4:31 pm

Don't think we really misread each other at all as we are probably on or close to the same wavelength on this issue.

Am thoroughly aware that someone off contract can still be selected. Case in point Katich who was a contracted player a few years back but due to his time out with illness and the like went off contract.

As regards Bevan, despite being a longtime Bevan non-beleiver, I certainly do acknowledge and agree that he could still be in the frame for a short term return to the side under the circumstances you outlined. I am however in accordance with their decision to not renew his contract.

As regards debate over relative player merit, isn't it the basis of most cricket discussion ??? Like youself, I tend to shy away from the hyperbole and tend to look with distaste on the deification of certain figures regardless of nationality.

Blanch Gemini

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 6:39 pm

Why revert to figures when one's opinion can make an ass out of one? Opinions (usually misinformed) are what provides the entertainment. I know I've totally made the wrong call based on my opinion before. Others get a great laugh out of it. Smile

From someone who knows relatively little about any sports apart from Footy and Tennis, I have to say it's nice to have people with some knowledge around that can inform us as to the facts. It helps us opinionated ones make a more educated guess when it comes time to form an opinion (some of the time anyway).

After all that, I always was an Elliot fan...would love to see him get back into the team, albeit at the expense of Langer.

All WA Magpies join the Western Magpies now:
http://www.westernmagpies.com
(At least go and sign the guestbook).

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 6:48 pm

YEAH !! That's what I reckon, too !!

Elliott is the best bloody opener in the world and Langer is hopeless. He should be dropped immediately !! He can't sing anyway.

Ah. That feels better. Very Happy

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:02 pm

Elliots greatest qualification is he's a pies fan
Fradam Virgo

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:20 pm

I cant believe I'm saying this but I think Langer should be in the side. Each time he has to stand up he does. Elliott is playing well but at this stage he dont fit in the side

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:28 pm

As much as Elliott is a good Domestic cricketer, I don't think he will be able to perform at International level. I remember Blewett was always good playing for SA, but once he got promoted to the Aussie team he failed more times then he made runs.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 8:02 pm

Dave, he's already performed very well at international level.

From 20 Tests, he had a top score of 199 and hit 2 other centuries and 4 fifties.

He was averaging in the fifties before a run of outs in 3 Tests against Sth. Africa and 3 Tests against Ambrose and Walsh in the Windies.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:44 pm

Bevan could target England

By Adrian Warren - Fox

DISCARDED one-day international cricketer Michael Bevan is expected to look for a late opportunity to return to his familiar winter destination of England for another stint of county cricket.

The international career of the prolific scoring 33-year-old left hander was thrown into limbo when he was left off the list of Cricket Australia (CA) contracted players for 2004/05.

Bevan's manager Robert Joske said he would meet his client tomorrow to discuss their options and hope to have some positive news early next week.

Joske today reiterated he would look at all options for Bevan but expected a county stint would be high on the priority list and he would be keen to talk to any interested team.

Bevan has frequented the county scene more than most Australians over the past decade, enjoying productive stints with Yorkshire (1995/96), Sussex (1998/2000) and Leicestershire (2002).

While virtually all the counties have finalised their two import spots for the season starting later this month, most have also signed back-up players in case their first choices are required for international duty during the season which runs until September.

While few opportunities for a full season stint would appear available to Bevan, he could end up deputising for one of many compatriots who might be required for international duty against Zimbabwe in May or Sri Lanka the following month.

Among the CA contracted players attached to counties this season are Shane Warne and Michael Clarke (Hampshire), Andrew Symonds (Kent), Michael Kasprowicz and Matthew Elliott (Glamorgan), Damien Martin and Stuart MacGill (Nottinghamshire), Darren Lehmann and Ian Harvey (Yorkshire) and Brad Hodge (Leicestershire).

Joske revealed Bevan had been considering a county stint even if he had been selected for the tour of Zimbabwe.

He recognised his client might have to settle for a stint as a replacement.

"At this late stage, beggars can't be choosers, but we were already looking at a short term stint for him on the basis that he would be playing for Australia," Joske said.

"I'm keen now to continue looking at that and also to find out if there is any opportunity for a full term stint."

"We're not going to play all our cards too early. We will meet tomorrow and discuss the various options available for him and what he wants for his career and his family."

Joske said Bevan was still disappointed by his demotion but understood the way the game worked and might have a few points to prove if he secured a county contract.

He said he imagined re-signing with NSW would be "one of the significant options" Bevan would look at.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:23 am

Pretty good list all up. Hogg saved himself in Sri lanka, Love is fairly lucky, Katich and Kasprowicz were certaintys, Watson was very lucky, Hodge & Elliot deserved it, Tait's an intersting one, bad luck to Bichel & Bevan.

Bevo is too slow and at times looks like hes playing for his average. Bichel could still come back wih injurys and dramatic losses of form. Bic is a player who got the best out of himself, some-thing a few players could have a look at.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 11:50 am

Johnno, why do you consider Watson "very lucky" ?

He made 983 runs at first drop for Tassie in the Pura Cup at an average of 55 with 4 centuries. That's as many runs as Hodge and more than Maher, Love and Hussey who all made the squad.

He won Tassie's Cricketer of the Year award and, towards the end of the season, was bowling again.

He's still very young and would be a top prospect as a batsman alone but, before his shoulder injury, was opening the bowling for the Tigers and being used as a bowling all rounder in the Oz ODI team.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:21 pm

Watson is lucky because he still hasn't performed at ODI level. I know he is young but he is 3rd in line after Symonds and Harvey.
Blanch Gemini

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 1:16 pm

Please correct me if I'm wrong but I believe Elliot had and outstanding test average until his wife left him. I know it's personal but these things take their toll in a big way and I believe that is the ONLY reason his form dropped away. I'd like to see him get another chance somewhere along the line.

All WA Magpies join the Western Magpies now:
http://www.westernmagpies.com
(At least go and sign the guestbook).

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 5:14 pm

Watson has been lucky to represent Australia at all as his performances BEFORE he was picked were hardly outstanding were they?? He was picked more on potential than anything.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar All times are GMT + 11 Hours