Corey McKernan

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:23 pm

if he was younger, I would of gone after him, but not now, he is almost ready to hang up his boots.

bwphantom Virgo

It's Better to Burn Out Than to Fade Away

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:01 pm

Well I will put in my 2 cents worth about this topic. NP even tho you are my Bro, mate there is no way I would like to see McKernan in B&W. He is a whinger and only likes the easy stuff.

However, I have to dis-agree with the footy Dept saying we don't need a Ruckman. Josh hasa done a great job all year and I would not even contemplate blaming our GF loss because of his rucking. But let's face it the Brissy Ruck duel bashed and smashed Josh around the game all day. On the ground play he will flog anyone he plays on because he is tall and mobile. But in the ruck against true ruckman he at the moment misses the mark.

Just imagine 2 Ruckman changing in the Forward Pocket. Josh And Beau maybe. I know that Beau wants to go. And we should be doing what we can to get him.

Jock McHale

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:59 pm

Please sit up and watch Guy Richards tonight and you will be plesently surprised.
GeekUSA 

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 12:05 am

I dont' think we need a ruckman, but if we are not going to use Mckee, we may as well trade him for Matthew Allen. At least Allen will be handy for back-up.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:50 am

nuxta wrote:
Please sit up and watch Guy Richards tonight and you will be plesently surprised.

Played well in the ruck, hopefully, he will improve each game he plays in the Seniors, if he is given a chance this season.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2003 4:25 pm

Corey must be ready to opt out of football, whatever club he chooses will end up with Pagan in a couple of years once he's been dumped by Carlton... that would be his luck!

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2003 3:31 pm

TMan4 wrote:
HELL NO!!! Go back to North and do yourself a favour and us by not even thinking about going to Collingwood. You are shit!!

hahaha my thoughts EXACTLY!!!!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 1:35 pm

If the Pies could get him for peanuts he would be a chance only on a performance based contract. Can't see it happening.
President Ted Parker 

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 4:20 pm

We might laugh at McKernan but he has proven in the big one in September that he can change the course of a game. In 1996 against Sydney went into he ruck in the 2nd term after Capuano was getting belted and turned it (with a little help from Glen Freeborn ). In 1999 against the Blues, 3 goals down in the second quarter Corey kicked a boomer from well outside 50m and then followed shortly after with a bananna on the boundary line.

Something we desperately lack.

But in saying all that stuff him. Too senile and Pagan Damaged.

DaicosMagic Scorpio

1970 Grand Final Boundary Umpire

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 4:49 pm

Ah, yeah... well that was like 7 and 4 years ago respectively. In the last quarter vs Sydney his second and third efforts were fantastic, body on the line stuff. Again, that was 7 years ago.
Tank36 Libra

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 5:01 pm

Corey has just recently bought the El derado in Nth. Melbourne. He will be back at the Kangaroos next year.

Is quite possibly the dumbest footballer since Glen 'Galaxy' Coleman.
MM Please don't even consider getting him.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 5:06 pm

What is it with Denis Pagan that has brung out the worst in McKernan... or is it a coincidence?? Pretty big coincidence considering his only good year since 1999 was the year Pagan wasn't coaching.... But everybody remember 1996 he practically won the Brownlow and that was under Pagan! What does everybody think?
Rob8 

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 5:14 pm
Post subject: Corey McKernanReply with quote

I think Corey could be just what we need, the loss of Molloy and possibly McKee will leave a vacancy in both the forward and ruck divisions which could be filled by McKernan (Remember he did win the Carlton B&F 2 years ago). Smile

It has been MM's theory all along to improve the list overall and i'm starting to think the asking price for Stevens is ridiculous so perhaps getting a combination of players eg. McKernan, Koops & maybe Jacobs could be the better way to go improving the whole list rather than just going after Nick Stevens.

Tank36 Libra

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 5:22 pm

What I gather is he is a chronic self-doubter. Gets really down on himself. Unfortunately Pagan isn't the best at dealing with players like this. More a dictator than a listener.

Under Brittian in his 1st year at Carlton McKernan got back to somewhwere near his best because Brittian was prepared to give him a chance and not nail him constantly. Apparently Wayne Brittian was a real players man.

Early in his McKernan fired because there was no pressure on him. He was raw, big,strong and fast. Soon as the expectations were placed on him he struggled to handle it.

It would be interesting to see if he could once again turn around his career away from Pagan.
Harvey 

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2003 11:50 pm
Post subject: Re: Corey McKernanReply with quote

Rob8 wrote:

(Remember he did win the Carlton B&F 2 years ago). Smile

Pfft, i could have won the Carlton B&F 2 years ago Rolling Eyes
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum All times are GMT + 11 Hours