Pre Match: Pies v. Lions - All comments here please.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:01 pm

I was thinking Johnson on Power and Holland on Chris Johnson.

For Chris Johnson you want effectively a tagger but someone who can make him accountable on the scoreboard and someone who wont be intimidated like Leon was. Brodie would be my choice.

Dont forget Shaun Hart as the preacher gets under our guard and that s**** me as he aint that good.

Pied Piper Aries

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 12:14 am

Yeah JLC, I thought Holland may well take Chris Johnson as well, but tend to agree with Blanch that we Brodie may be of more value upfield.

Benny Johnson on Luke Power is a really interesting suggestion, because that means taking Johnson outside of his specialist role as a back pocket, where he spends most of the game. I know he's far from a purely defensive player, but if he's on Power he'll probably end up in the middle. He may well be ready for that, but then someone has to replace him down back... it's going to be really interesting, because any of these combinations are possible.

You're right about Hart, too. He did well up in Brisbane and it gave me the willies.

Weed

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 12:38 am

Thats true from all reports Power has developed into a midfielder. Havnt followed Brisbane that closely this year.

Having Luke Power in midfield could suit us as he is a very handy goal kicker. No doubt McRae will kick his usual 2 or 3 goals against us.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:17 am

Just one thing I want to say before this week's game. I hope the players RUN and move the ball on quickly. They should be so exhausted at the end of the game that they can hardly stand, no half attempts, chase, harass, bump. Give it to 'em Pies.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:45 am

HAH! we'll spank this mob make no mistake!
Bux, Burns, Woey, Molloy etc. all well rested through last weeks game, all spent 20+ mins on the bench, Fraz has been in great form in the ruck and was also rested from the ruck in last weeks game, Malty might say "one week at a time" but he's ready for this one, I don't really care who tags who 'cos I think you'll find that mathews will wan't to be tagging our players.
PIES BY 42!

Jeez. Who is anyone to say a player has no heart? Go and play the game yourself, big guy.

well said weed.

swooper 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:39 am

It was reported in yesterday's "Age" that Holland approached MM on Monday and said he wants 'one of the beatles' - reading all the above comments makes me think he will take on Power - interesting to see how it all unfolds.......
Natalie 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 12:05 pm

If Mal Michael plays on Rocca it will be interesting to see how well Mal does considering Ant killed him in the GF. Don't know if anyone has seen the Leigh Matthews commentary of the GF but he is screaming at Mal for not being on Ant.

Luke Power is a little sneak and always gets under our guard. The match ups will be interesting and Matthews has said recently how bloody good Burnsy is so I'm sure he'll be wanting him contained for them.

It'll be a ripper. Fingers crossed Cloke & Jimmy will be right. Don't think Scott and Lappin will play.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 12:07 pm

BTW, apparently Shaun Hart might not be playing this weekend.

Here is the Report from the Herald Sun: CLICK ON THIS LINK

Also, Nigel Lappin and Brad Scott have been ruled out. They will not play.
swooper 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 3:35 pm

I really hope that Molly puts in a BIG game so he can really stick it up 'em!!! Nothing would make me happier, except a win of course! God knows he deserves it........go get em Jarrod!!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 5:17 pm

Hart out is a massive plus for us. he woulda been a certainty to tag someone like burnsy but now they're gonna have serious trouble covering all our midfield guns.

IMO pebbles will be the difference. the guy is gonna click into career-best form over the next month. i've just gotta feeling. let's hope the weather's not too bad & our tall forwards get a chance to show their talent.
peter_pies4ever 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 5:51 pm

Chris Tarrant is also important from our perspective he has pace and guts under the guard of oppostion teams. Chris Scott played on him in the Grand Final last year and di a good job but we all know Tazza is a much improved footballer since then. I reckon Pike will probably get the job on him.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:18 pm

i havent read any of this thread but anyway i think this is gonna be a f****n ripper of a game!!! and i hope we cane those wankers all the way back to brisbane, especially mal moneybags micheal.

CQ you know better - AnthonyC
swooper 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 7:18 pm

Have heard that the weather is going to be an absolute shocker on Saturday- about 11 degrees, with a bit of rain, but not the best conditions all round. Good. Just adds to the inhospitable environment 60,000+ Pie supporters will create. GO PIES!!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 9:09 pm
Post subject: Sticky: Pre Match: Pies v. Lions - All comments hereReply with quote

Collingwood will be too good with Clokey and Jimmy back in the side.

Pies by 34 Very Happy
nitric 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:04 pm

What to wear????

In the Scoreboard Chat last weekend, someone admitted they had neglected to wear their lucky guernsey that day. We were down and things were grim, Jim.

They were urged to square up and fly right and of course, we recovered.

It was a close thing.

When its on TV, I set up the TV with my scarf all wrapped round the screen. Put my beanie front and centre on top of the scarf, logo facing out. Collinwood "baseball" cap on head (I HATE baseball caps!) Fill my Collingwood stubby holder and arc up the Club Song on CD a few times before the first bounce.

If I get any of that wrong (shudder), well, it doesn't bear thinking about.

Carn the Piiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiies

Page 4 of 6