Get off your high horse.....

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:02 am

im pretty sure the word supporter comes from the word 'support' now you can take that in any way you like, support as in never bag the players (toss toss) or support as in weve paid our money as SUPPORTERS and we want our monies worth!
sherrife Scorpio

Victorian Socialists - people before profit

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:19 am
Post subject: ohhhReply with quote

shut up mate seriously i started this thread just to try and make some of you people understand that supporting them when they play a s**t match doesnt require us to praise and forgive them....

of course the literal definition of the word support means prop up, but then again, do we wish to simply prop-up our team? or do we wish to AID and inspire them?!

ps. CQ, its not about the fact that we paid money (not that i did...i cant get to enough matches plus i cant afford it)....its about them being in our hearts and representing us on the 'battlefield'......

carn the pies...pick yourselves up, you're better than most of these other losers, just play AT LEAST 3 QUARTERS AND WE WILL WIN!

Blanch Gemini

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 10:20 am

I love these threads. It stirs everyones emotions......and it's these emotions that make us all pies supporters. Some of us love the pies so much that we don't think they should be bagged from the inner circle. Others love the pies just as much but cannot contain their frustration so need to vent it here. If they didn't love them the frustration wouldn't be so large.

I don't like the idea of supporters bagging the players but I can understand why.......geez, who hasn't said something negative in the heat of the moment?

IMO, the only "constructive" criticism possible is given from people who can make a difference, ie MM and coaching staff or leaders of the playing group. Supporters don't give constructive criticism because it falls on deaf ears. If you want to bag or be negative on something be open about it, don't stand behind the "I'm giving constructive criticism" banner. You will attract attention by being open but your opinion is still as valid.

Sherrife, nice thread but maybe go easy on telling others to shut up because to some people here "supporting them when they are playing a s**t match" DOES require us to praise and forgive them. That opinion is just as valid as yours and therefore has just as much right to be posted as yours.

All WA Magpies join the Western Magpies now:
http://www.westernmagpies.com
(At least go and sign the guestbook).

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 11:51 am

CQ Wrote:
weve paid our money as SUPPORTERS and we want our monies worth!

this seems to be a theme in all your posts CQ, maybe you should go see a play or a movie or something that has a finish you would be happy with, maybe you'd be happy with the entertainment you have "paid" for.
To me its a priveledge to be a Collingwood Supporter and one that I will gladly "pay" for.
sherrife you can say what ever you wan't about Collingwood, but if you don't like people disagreing with you about it, maybe you should go back to writing on the toilet walls atleast you won't have any one to argue the point.
I like to see how much of this crap, that gets said about the boys, would get said in a room with 1600 other Collingwood supporters without any one standing up for them.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:49 pm

I think the media are more harsh on AFL players then many fans would ever be. Being a supporter doesn't give anyone the right to calls the players bad names, nor does it give the media the right to question a players loyalty to an AFL club. Sure people can have opinions, which is always great to see someone express it, but when it comes down to nothing but commenting about all the bad things the player has done it defeats the purpose. We can talk about the bad's, and then go out and bag each and every player. But they know they aren't playing that well, they need our support, what they don't need is someone yelling abuse at them every five seconds. This was a fairly good thread, there is a limit to the "bagging" and "Criticism"

There's my $1 comment Very Happy I'd say 5cents, but I used the 5cents for a lolly Wink

Lorelei Pisces

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 1:00 pm

I still can't understand how one can bring money into the equation because my golly I pay for a lot of rubbish on a daily basis that doesn't give me nearly as much enjoyment, entertainment and fun as the football does.

To pay $20 a week or whatever for what we get every week - be it an up or down - is nothing. God knows how some of these feel when they have to pay their rates, a train fare, the parks charge etc because if you feel you are getting ripped off with the footy, I hate to know how you feel when you are paying for the other stuff.....

Jen

**Craig Kelly**Craig Kelly**Craig Kelly**

DaicosMagic Scorpio

1970 Grand Final Boundary Umpire

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 3:13 pm

If we are not to criticise (constructively) how can one improve? If players aren't criticised, they'll just keep doing the wrong things. Like Leon Davis. I love ya mate, but has anyone taught you what front and centre means? As a small forward, crumbing player, this should have been taught in juniors (and MM should be preaching it). We must be the only team not to adhere to such a simple philosophy. Every other team gets crumbed goals except us. Neon, stay in front of the contest as the ball approaches - don't fly for marks and don't wait for the ball at the back (the latter may reap rewards 1% of the time). I want you to be able to see Tarrant's eyes, not the back of his head.

If I don't 'criticise' Leon for his lack of forward nous, how is he to improve? (I hope he reads this site)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 3:22 pm

magpiemad wrote:
CQ Wrote:
weve paid our money as SUPPORTERS and we want our monies worth!

this seems to be a theme in all your posts CQ, maybe you should go see a play or a movie or something that has a finish you would be happy with, maybe you'd be happy with the entertainment you have "paid" for.
To me its a priveledge to be a Collingwood Supporter and one that I will gladly "pay" for.
sherrife you can say what ever you wan't about Collingwood, but if you don't like people disagreing with you about it, maybe you should go back to writing on the toilet walls atleast you won't have any one to argue the point.
I like to see how much of this crap, that gets said about the boys, would get said in a room with 1600 other Collingwood supporters without any one standing up for them.

yeh toss toss, it used to be a priveledge to be a member, but now its a BUSINESS and theyre not performing.
i could not give a shit what you think about me, go ahead, think that youre 'a better supporter' i really dont care!

wow, you reckon youre a better supporter, gee, thats really gonna keep me awake tonight!!! Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 3:35 pm

I'm sorry but you both spelt "Privilege" incorrectly. Time out both of you. Razz

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 4:25 pm

CQ? where did I say I was a better supporter than you? huh?
as for toss toss you seem to be doing alot of that lately Smile

Blanch Gemini

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 4:35 pm

Criticism is not constructive unless it can have a positive outcome. Does anyone on here honestly think that criticism given here (let's call it advice) will be taken on board by a player reading it? I know if I was a player I'd be listening to MM and the coaching staff, maybe even the playing group but would I take advice from a supporter on a BB? I think not.

I'm not saying the criticism isn't valid, just that I doubt it can be perceived as constructive.

All WA Magpies join the Western Magpies now:
http://www.westernmagpies.com
(At least go and sign the guestbook).

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 4:39 pm

At last !! Someone said it. Thanks, Blanch.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 5:12 pm

lol @ anthonyc

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 12:27 am

magpiemad wrote:
as for toss toss you seem to be doing alot of that lately Smile

yes, all the time, its actually quite pleasurable, maybe u should try it sometime Wink Smile
Nicholas 

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:00 am

What people forget is that Malthouse criticised us after the Lions game when I thought we weren't too bad. If Bucks and the coach can, why not us. At least we care, not like Swans fans who just desert the ship when they stop winning. And we have just broken the 40,000 fans barrier for the first time but when we turn up we pay money and deserve to have a say as well. Without us the blokes would not be paid, then there would be no club.