What does ANZAC Day mean to you?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Magpie Camo Cancer

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:41 pm

Found this at http://www.keepmilitarymuseum.org/gallipoli/collingwood.php

"Landing at Cape Helles at the end of May 1915, the Royal Naval Division (RND) prepared to deliver an attack in what has become known as the Third Battle of Krithia. Amongst their ranks were the sailors of the Collingwood Battalion, who had done much of their military training in the practice trenches surrounding Blandford Camp during the winter of 1914/15.

On 4 June, the seven hundred strong Colingwood Battalion took part in the second phase of the attack. The battle started with a heavy bombardment and at 1200 hours the RND advanced and captured the enemy front line but suffered heavy causalities. At 1215 hours the Collingwood Battalion was to take over the advance but the communication trenches were choked with stretcher-bearers and wounded, which delayed the Battalion's move forward.

The attack finally went ahead, from the captured enemy trenches and the Collingwoods seized the Turkish second lines four hundred yards further on. However, the neighboring French Senegalese troops were driven back by a counter-attack, leaving the Battalion's right flank exposed. Flanking fire caused devastating casualities amongst the Collingwoods, with over five hundred men killed or wounded. The remnants of the Battalion withdrew but so heavy were the casualties that the Battalion was not reformed. A memorial to Dorset's naval infantry stands at Collingwood Corner on the Salisbury to Blandford Road."

Collingwood Btn.jpg

The whole Collingwood Battalion drawn up in close column of companies, prior to mobilisation.

Collingwood Btn 2.jpg

4th Btn. 1st RN Brigade 1914

tcnthat Libra

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:43 pm

I have a slightly different connection to it all, the only vet in my family was a WW1 'deserter'!!!!

Yes - my GGF was in with 'Jackas mob', I dont have the precise details at hand, but essentially, he arrived in France in 1916, fought in one or two battles (again - details are online at AWM) and then was charged with desertion. He was sentenced to death, which was then commuted to life imprisonment, then 10 years, and then overturned. He came home and lived his life and noone ever knew until they digitised the records a few years ago and my Nan asked me to look him up. That was a hard conversation. His records/papers are fascinating to read.

I dont know much about it, but i know the AIF was under pressure from the English army to shoot some blokes to make an example, as they had done, and the AIF resisted this pressure. I also know you could get charged with desertion for being away from post, oversleeping, being in wrong place at wrong time etc (anything basically) as well as genuine desertion/hitting the piss in French towns/carousing etc.

Obviously this sort of thing was not isolated either. The French army basically deserted en masse, and as stated, the Poms shot loads of their blokes, including officers. Desertion contributed to the Russian revolution and the Ottomans could never convince a vast number of their forces that theirs was a cause worth dying for wither. Not sure about the Germans, but i dont imagine they would have been too keen on desertion given what I know about their response to it in WW2.

Funnily enough though, having thought about it a bit more, and being pretty well read on the subject, I feel no shame even if he did desert, in fact I see a perverse pride that he was smart enough to recognise the utter futility of it all, and the ineptitude of the leadership and thought %$^£$%^&%% this, I am out of here. I also sort of hope he was on the piss chopping up French birds but I didnt mention this to Nan...

One day I will conduct some genuine research into this (hey who knows, could be a grant or a PhD in it!) and given my location in Canberra and access to some of the most prominent historians in Australia (ANU) I should probably take advantage of it.

Back to the topic - I love ANZAC Day, and am rapt in the way it has developed away from the chest beating, ra ra nationalism into something a bit more authentic and accessible to all of us. Its a time to respect the sacrifice, but also celebrate what we have in this country, how precious it is and how lucky we are.

I have read heaps on WW1 particularly, both as a history student and for pleasure, and the story of Fromelles always brings a tear to my eye to think of the wasteful slaughter all for meaningless, petty imperialism. Horrific.

rocketronnie 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:43 am

Confused One aspect of the Diggers of both World wars, and Korea,is that these returned servicemen got virtally nil support emotionally or psycholgically when they got home-unlike the later conflicts. My Dad, 6th Div, Artillery AIF,wounded twice at Bardia and in New guinea, like so many vets, got nothing like that. After six years of war, he came back, got demobbed,a handsake, "thanks for that, now bugger off and get a job." No ongoing support at all, zilch.
Yet, like so many, he worked hard, raised a family in Highett, and was on school committes, and community projects. It was only a few years ago that he told us he still had nightmares about Crete and new guinea,and that he felt that he did something in new guinea that made him a war criminal. I wont go into it here, but he blamed himself, but in reality he was totally innocent, as we told him time and again. At age 90, the terrible memories never left him, and he told us a number of times they were as real to him as if they were yesterday.
These are the sort of things Anzac day is, the loss of so many young blokes, the horrors of warfare,and what it does to decent men. I will be thinking of all this when I march for him, and remembering what he always told us, "Those most in favour of war are always those who have never experienced its horrors themselves,the armchair patriots."Amen Dad. Exclamation

My old man was the same. He did things to German submarine crews he wasnt proud of. That and some other things affected him till he died. never got any help for it and it made him difficult to live with at times. Used to drink too much occasionally. Also had a full depth charge rack fall on hm once which stufed his back. Got bugger all help for that except a metal back brace. Nowadays the treatment would have been different but then they couldnt do much. The chronic pain didnt help his temper too much. It ook until I was an adult that I understood what made him tick. Then he was able to speak openly about it, It wasnt easy for him or me but at least he talked about it. Every time was more and more stuff. I think he got most of it out before he died but there was probably more. I'm just glad i got to know what I did.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:58 am

I know this is ANZAC day and general remberance is for 11/11, but I thought I would throw in a brief rundown my Dad's service history.

Born the day Australia joined WW2, September 3rd 1939 and enlisted in the RAN in 1956. Completed an electrical apprenticeship and specialised in weapons systems. In particular the 4.5" gun of the River Class Destroyer Escorts and Daring Destroyers (HMAS Vampire, DD11, is a Daring Destroyer and is currently on display at the Darling Harbour's Maritime Museum). In 1965 the RAN commissioned three Guided Missile Destroyers, Perth DDG38, Hobart DDG39 and Brisbane DDG41. My father was sent to the US to undergo indepth training in the new single turret 5" MK45 rapid fire gun and the revolutionary GMLS13 (Guided Missile Launching System - MK13) and became proficient in the workings of surface to air Tartar missiles and surface Harpoon missiles which the mulitpurpose launching system was capable of delivering. The RAN had also developed and deployed on the new DDGs a state of the art anti-submarine guided missile/torpedo system called Ikara. The DDG in her time was the most sophisticated single piece of weaponary the ADF had ever had. After eight months of sea trials in the US, HMAS Perth sailed from Boston to Western Australia where she was given right of passage and promptly departed for her first tour of Vientam in 1967.

HMAS Perth II

From September 1967 to April 1968, September 1968 to April 1969 and September 1970 to April 1971, Perth (II) served as a unit of the US Seventh Fleet operating off the coast of Vietnam. The ship was awarded the United States Navy Unit Commendation after her first deployment, and the United States Navy Meritorious Unit Commendation after her second deployment. In all, Perth (II) steamed over 149,000 miles on active service in the Vietnam War, fired some 30,711 five-inch rounds and came under fire on five occasions. My father served on the two earlier tours and discharged from the Navy in 1970 to take up a job at Williamstown Dockyard as a weapons specialist.

HMAS Perth under heavy fire off the coast of Vietnam 1967. My father is aboard and directing gun fire for the operation in the ops room amidships. HMAS Perth takes a hit through the after turret that explodes inside a safe just 20m from where my father is stationed and he can her the shrapnel bouncing around the walls next to him.

HMAS Perth alongside USS Newport News

Photos taken from USS Newport News of the US Seventh Fleet

Although HMAS Perth sustain damaged and several casualties from Viet Cong bombardment, thankfully no lives were lost in action.

HMAS Perth II carried the moto 'Fight and Flourish' which was derived from HMAS Perth I which carried 'Floreat'. (As we know, floreat is the latin for flourish.)

I will briefly touch on DDG38's predecessor HMAS Perth I.

HMAS Perth I, a 6" light cruiser, is one of the RAN's most decorated ships and was lost in action in 1942 in the Sunda Straight when she and the USS Houston came under heavy and sustained attack from a large Japanese convoy of approximately 50 ships attempting a landing at Bantan Bay, Java. At the time of her loss PERTH's ship's company totalled 681, comprising 671 naval personnel, six RAAF personnel (for operating and servicing the aircraft) and four civilians (canteen staff) Three hundred and fifty naval personnel (including CAPT Waller) and three civilians did not survive the sinking. Those who did numbered 328 (324 naval, three RAAF and one civilian).

Four naval personnel died ashore without having been taken prisoner. A further 106 men died in captivity (105 naval, one RAAF). Four sailors were recovered from captivity in September 1944 when they were among prisoners of war rescued after the sinking of a Japanese transport. After the end of hostilities 214 men (211 naval, two RAAF and one civilian) were repatriated to Australia.

Along with the loss of HMAS Sydney II in November 1941 off Carnarvon WA, the sinking of HMAS Perth is a naval tragedy reknowned world wide. They are stories of RAN and RAAF personnel operating with extreme courage and valour and they lost their lives in defense of their country. This Saturday, as we do at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month ever year, we shall remember them.

HMAS Perth I

HMAS Sydney II

Lest we forget

Further reading:
http://www.sydneymemorial.com/default.htm
http://perthone.com/perth.htm

DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:49 am

thanks mate.

For me, the silence of 100 thousand people, followed by the roar proceeding the national anthem is one of the most electrifying moments in modern sport. It is truly a goosebump moment.

It may sound silly, but i think this annual ANZAC day game is a huge contributing factor of why ANZAC day is such a big event on the annual calender. Australians have really embraced this day. It is fantastic to see the huge numbers who go to gallipoli and attend Dawn services.

I think the football community....in particular Collingwood and Essendon have been at the forefront of putting this day at the front of people's calenders. They have shown the best respect imaginable and have made this day a real Australian tradition.

Seriously, anyone who thinks Collingwood and Essendon should lose this game is mad. They have contributed so much to the day.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:52 pm

DaVe86 wrote:
thanks mate.

For me, the silence of 100 thousand people, followed by the roar proceeding the national anthem is one of the most electrifying moments in modern sport. It is truly a goosebump moment.

It may sound silly, but i think this annual ANZAC day game is a huge contributing factor of why ANZAC day is such a big event on the annual calender. Australians have really embraced this day. It is fantastic to see the huge numbers who go to gallipoli and attend Dawn services.

I think the football community....in particular Collingwood and Essendon have been at the forefront of putting this day at the front of people's calenders. They have shown the best respect imaginable and have made this day a real Australian tradition.

Seriously, anyone who thinks Collingwood and Essendon should lose this game is mad. They have contributed so much to the day.

A lot of what you say is very, very true DaVe.

The awareness and profile of the day has been raised immeasurably. There have been other contributing factors, but the most noticable is the battle of Victorian football's heavyweights.

Tilly18 Virgo

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:09 pm

I went to an ANZAC service today with school, it was very good.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:52 pm

tcnthat wrote:
I have a slightly different connection to it all, the only vet in my family was a WW1 'deserter'!!!!

Yes - my GGF was in with 'Jackas mob', I dont have the precise details at hand, but essentially, he arrived in France in 1916, fought in one or two battles (again - details are online at AWM) and then was charged with desertion. He was sentenced to death, which was then commuted to life imprisonment, then 10 years, and then overturned. He came home and lived his life and noone ever knew until they digitised the records a few years ago and my Nan asked me to look him up. That was a hard conversation. His records/papers are fascinating to read.

I dont know much about it, but i know the AIF was under pressure from the English army to shoot some blokes to make an example, as they had done, and the AIF resisted this pressure. I also know you could get charged with desertion for being away from post, oversleeping, being in wrong place at wrong time etc (anything basically) as well as genuine desertion/hitting the piss in French towns/carousing etc.

Obviously this sort of thing was not isolated either. The French army basically deserted en masse, and as stated, the Poms shot loads of their blokes, including officers. Desertion contributed to the Russian revolution and the Ottomans could never convince a vast number of their forces that theirs was a cause worth dying for wither. Not sure about the Germans, but i dont imagine they would have been too keen on desertion given what I know about their response to it in WW2.

Funnily enough though, having thought about it a bit more, and being pretty well read on the subject, I feel no shame even if he did desert, in fact I see a perverse pride that he was smart enough to recognise the utter futility of it all, and the ineptitude of the leadership and thought %$^£$%^&%% this, I am out of here. I also sort of hope he was on the piss chopping up French birds but I didnt mention this to Nan...

One day I will conduct some genuine research into this (hey who knows, could be a grant or a PhD in it!) and given my location in Canberra and access to some of the most prominent historians in Australia (ANU) I should probably take advantage of it.

Back to the topic - I love ANZAC Day, and am rapt in the way it has developed away from the chest beating, ra ra nationalism into something a bit more authentic and accessible to all of us. Its a time to respect the sacrifice, but also celebrate what we have in this country, how precious it is and how lucky we are.

I have read heaps on WW1 particularly, both as a history student and for pleasure, and the story of Fromelles always brings a tear to my eye to think of the wasteful slaughter all for meaningless, petty imperialism. Horrific.

Mate, in many ways good on your GGf for deserting. WW1 was totally different to WW2. It was largely an economic war, an empire war, to see which European power could dominate europe more. The Germans under the Kaiser were not like the later Nazis, nothing like them. If ever there was an unnessary war then that one was. Just an industrailised war of mechanistion, to see which power could dominate Europe more, and the all sorts of crazy alliances and bedfellows. And what a slaughterhouse that war was, inept dumb British generals, sending tens of thousands of young Tommies and Aussies to terrible deaths in the trenches. Absolute annihilation on both sides. Millions of dead young men, for basically nothing but empire building and grandstanding. My grandmother lost three brothers on the Somme, wasted young lives, courtesy of that inept bloody fool Field marshall Haig. And waht a waste and stuff up Gallipoli was, as if Australia had any business at all in Turkey anyway.
Yeah, good on him for having the brains to get out of the bloodbath of that terrible war.

nulla 

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:16 pm

I have a long family history of a presence here in Australia as pioneers and defenders in the armed services of our great Nation.

I served 6 years in the Royal Army Medical Corps, part of during the last years of the Vietnam conflict and when National Service was the norm

For me its a day to remember those who defended in any way whatsoever,

Its a day to tell myself never to forget and always remind those who may be unaware of what the meaning of it all is.

I have not missed an Anzac Day morning stand to at the Shrine in more than 25 years

Lest We Forget

Didaicos Libra

The Macedonian Marvel = The Croat Confoundment!!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:13 pm

DaVe86 wrote:

Spot on Mate, this weekend should see the end of the arguement. If the other 3 games can't pull a full crowd then they have no future complaints

SWAN'S GOING TO KICK A GOAL. THEY'RE HOME YOU'D THINK I KNOW IT'S A LONG WAY TO GO BUT THEY'RE KILLING THEM NOW!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:02 pm

A time of giving thanks. We owe the Defence Forces - big time !

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:31 pm

tcnthat wrote:

No need for any shame there. I'd be proud that your great grand dad had the guts and sense to break ranks and remove himself from the absolute senseless slaughter which was WWI. My own grandfather's brother died at Gallipoli, and my Pop never understood why his brother was there in the first place. Apart from the glory of the Empire, no-one has ever explained satisfactorily to me what cause we fought for in that disgusting annihilation of young men, which was WWI. At least in WW2 we were clearly defending our country and fighting the scourge of fascism, but WWI was simply an abhorrent chess game, played by the various European imperial powers, with the lives of young working men from around the world. They were simply cannon fodder.
Didaicos Libra

The Macedonian Marvel = The Croat Confoundment!!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:45 pm

No need for any shame there. I'd be proud that your great grand dad had the guts and sense to break ranks and remove himself from the absolute senseless slaughter which was WWI. My own grandfather's brother died at Gallipoli, and my Pop never understood why his brother was there in the first place. Apart from the glory of the Empire, no-one has ever explained satisfactorily to me what cause we fought for in that disgusting annihilation of young men, which was WWI. At least in WW2 we were clearly defending our country and fighting the scourge of fascism, but WWI was simply an abhorrent chess game, played by the various European imperial powers, with the lives of young working men from around the world. They were simply cannon fodder.

Agreed RudeBoy, unfortunately also it can be argued that the seeds of WW2 were sown with the conclusion of WW2: The Treaty of Versailles with the huge reparations to France allowed the social and economic conditions for Hitler to worm himself into power.

I think Anzac Day is a great day for personal reflection and a day to remember those affected by war, just or unjust. I think the Pies/Bombers game epitimises all that is great in Australia and all that can hopefully be kept for all time.

SWAN'S GOING TO KICK A GOAL. THEY'RE HOME YOU'D THINK I KNOW IT'S A LONG WAY TO GO BUT THEY'RE KILLING THEM NOW!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:21 pm

While we're discussing family, I'd like to share something odd.

My GR was born in 1901. During WWII they had a masive USAF/RAAF base at Tocumwal, where he lived. I asked him when I was a kid if he was ever in the armed services. he replied that he was too young for WWI and too old for WWII.

I knew he worked at the airforce base out of town because he used to bring back the food that the yanks refused to eat. (like sides of lamb) but only a couple of years ago did I (and my cousin) discover that he was actually a private in the Army in 1944. The old bastard kept it hidden well because neither his wife nor any of his kids knew that he was actually enlisted. Don't know how he managed it.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:48 pm

Magpie Camo, I emailed a copy of that photo taken at Balikpapan to the President of the Borneo Bears. They are based in Balikpapan and are having an over 35s footy comp on ANZAC day. It is there first and they are hoping to make it an annual event for expats in Indonesia. If you want details PM me. I have been to the memorial over there.

This will be the first year our family can properly remember my second cousin Kimberly Stubbs who perished on HMAS Sydney 11. They are at rest, now we have found them.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 5 of 16