#12 Joshua Carmichael

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12, 13, 14  Next

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 8:51 am
Post subject: Welcome to Collingwood #45 Joshua CarmichaelReply with quote

Last year with Johnson & Begg they came with injury and didn’t feature till this season

Hope this kid comes cherry ripe injury wise and gets some game time

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 9:29 am

So we have another JC at the club!

Praise be.............

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 9:54 am

Everyone complaining he won’t make an immediate impact and he’s not the type of player we need — do you seriously think we’re going to be playing in there grand final this year? Carmichael is 22. We’re not serious contenders for another 2 years at least. Pendles, Sidey will have retired before then, and JDG might not be with us if he chases the big $ end of this year. Long term thinking, guys
LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 9:59 am

Just out of curiosity, how long did it take noble and Miocek to crack the seniors after being drafted?

John Noble was selected at pick 14 in the 2019 mid-season draft. He made his AFL debut in round 17 match against West Coast.

Brody Mihocek was our second selection at pick 22 in the 2018 rookie draft, held on 27 November 2017.
He made his debut against Fremantle in round 11 of the 2018 season.

We also took Flynn Appleby at Pick 6 and re-listed Adam Oxley at 33.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 10:20 am

We must note all the tall timber worth selecting had gone so Josh Carmichael was our choice
Let’s give him a chance we have to Noble ,Miochek who have rewarded us

Although he is lauded with big wraps he has just left regional footy to SANFL

Big steps for him now

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 11:41 am

Mr Miyagi wrote:
Everyone complaining he won’t make an immediate impact and he’s not the type of player we need

😳 WTF? A big bodied midfielder who is a beautiful thumping kick is somehow not the type we need? 🥺 On which planet? 🙄 I always hoped that if the players we had our eyes on were gone at the time of our pick, that they should grab the best player available, and they did just that. It is always a risk vs reward situation with draft picks and this guy is no different, however I have a sneaky suspicion that Carmichael will end up being a terrific pick and will have an impact at Collingwood. I like what I’ve seen so far and I predict that he has that X factor that teams look for.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 12:22 pm

To quote Hine “ 191 cm and elite aerobic capacity “
You can teach up skilling and game plans but you can’t teach aerobic capacity and height “
I’m very much looking forward to watching young Carmichael get around the park in the VFL over the next few weeks.
robevpau1 Cancer

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 1:00 pm

robevpau1 wrote:
JDG 1.88cm/93kg and JC 191cm/88kg - Is Josh cover for JDG/free agency?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 1:31 pm

I have a sneaky suspicion that Carmichael will end up being a terrific pick and will have an impact at Collingwood. I like what I’ve seen so far and I predict that he has that X factor that teams look for.

I,m with you on this Lazza, A big bodied midfielder has always been a wish of mine especially when it looked impossible to get a KPP with our pick. Hine did say he has Elite running endurance and for a big bodied player, the way game is being played For Carmicheal it is a great trait to have.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 1:41 pm

Firstly there's no way in the world we should give up JDG to free agency. Josh isn't a replacement for JDG. Secondly as others have said, we're weak in the clearance department. Lipinski to me is more of an outside player who doesn't have the bulk to compete against some of the bigger mids. Josh is well built. He comes from a sporting background (cricket) but has no experience with elite AFL training programs. I see he has plenty of upside at the age of 22 against some of the other mids who got selected in this draft. In fact I prefer him to Culley who got selected as number one. I would have loved to recruit Wade Derksen. However I'm more than happy that we picked Carmichael when it was our turn. He'll take time to come on and puts pressure on Callum Brown and Bianco to retain their spots on the list, which is a healthy thing for the club.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 1:56 pm

JDG compared with J Carmichael—-here are some others

Tay Adams at 1.8 and 86 kg
Jack Crisp. at 1.9 and 89 kg
Pendles. at 1.91 and 91 kg

And they are mature bodies and this kid yet to be

Be OK I reckon c

thesoretoothsayer 

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 2:07 pm

His height seems to fluctuate between 189cm and 191cm in the reports.
It can't be that hard to hold a tape measure next to the kid.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 2:15 pm

A Collingwood 6 footer to be sure.

Then again he's got taller as time has elapsed (in 2 days). By the end of the month we could have our KPP.

Last edited by watt price tully on Thu Jun 02, 2022 2:18 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 2:17 pm

BazBoy wrote:
JDG compared with J Carmichael—-here are some others

Tay Adams at 1.8 and 86 kg
Jack Crisp. at 1.9 and 89 kg
Pendles. at 1.91 and 91 kg

And they are mature bodies and this kid yet to be

Be OK I reckon c

Judging by the way he is spoken about by the press it seems we have landed a ripper.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2022 2:34 pm

thesoretoothsayer wrote:
His height seems to fluctuate between 189cm and 191cm in the reports.
It can't be that hard to hold a tape measure next to the kid.

You would like to think that Hines quote of 191cm is more accurate than the old U18 profiles that keep bobbing up every year until the player in question is half way through his career. . To be fair, if the kid seriously play, then 189 or 191 isn’t going to much difference to his output.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 4 of 14