Jarryd Blair's worth to the side

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 12, 13, 14  Next

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 2:53 pm

Why do people assume that Kennedy or Martin couldn't provide the same forward pressure as Blair?

I think his pressure skills are overrated anyway.

Beams leads us for tackles and or pressure acts anyway doesn't he?

Besides when it comes to tackles not all are equal.

There are those made in a packed contested situation when it's just luck who is the first of a potential half dozen tacklers to lay it then there are those run down type of tackles the kind we often see Goldsack lay that generally cause turnovers or holding the ball decisions.

In the end when people start talking about aspects of Blair's or others game not immediately apparent to the average fan I get worried.

Do people talk up the same things when looking at the games of Breust or Rioli?

No they just focus on there obvious match winning abilities on display most weeks to all.

Sides aren't looking to discover more Blair types they are trying to unearth the next Breust or Rioli.

They are the ones who'll put you in a position to finish top 4 and win you a flag.

Our forward line is crying out for more offensively gifted types, not honest triers and who's to say that those same players can't provide the same level of defensive ability people say Blair brings.

King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 4:06 pm

C'mon Swoop, you're more open minded than that.
You reckon either of those 2 would have the same impact on games without a Paul Puopolo playing alongside??

And Forward Pressure is not Blair's only sacrificial assignment on game day as already mentioned...........

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 4:09 pm

I'm quite happy to let Bucks, Burns, Harvey etc to decide the worth of Blair to the side, I'm fairly certain they have a fair insight and the experience in the game to weigh up his value, so far they all seem to be happy with his effort in what ever the role is they want him to play.
gurugeoff 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 4:43 pm

King Monkey, great post. Some of your very best work there.

It would be dumb to replace Blair with (say) Martin. Would Martin kick more goals? Of course. Win more possessions? Naturally. Feature in the best players more often? Put your house on it.

So Martin should replace Blair? Of course not!

yes, i'm just taking out the bits i want from your piece, but when read in isolation, it's easy to see why one would want Martin to be given a go over Blair for a week or two. You can only compare their respective merits when they both have been given a chance.
Beast 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:25 pm

King Monkey wrote:

Beast - now that's a bit of a different argument to bring.
You'd like us to play a different way as a team which would make the way Blair is being asked to play, well, redundant.

Not a different argument at all.
Our current game style is a taxing one as it relies on 100% effort which I pointed out earlier in the year. The same current game plan doesn't seem to cut the mustard against the top sides either. We need an injection of class and phasing out someone like Blair and replacing him with a more dangerous and skilled option would certainly be a step in the right direction.
The game has moved on and so should we.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:49 pm

WHAT IS THIS!!! A THREAD FOR ANTS?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:17 pm

Thing is, the hawks only have one defensive forward in Puopolo. We have two, and Goldsack is the better of the two. I'd much rather have one defensive forward and have another capable of hitting the scoreboard, which Blair doesn't seem to be able to do on a consistent basis anymore.
Duff Soviet Union 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:06 pm

Beast wrote:
Nah I don't mate.
The days of honest triers like Blair are over.
The pressure he brings is largely overstated, most of his tackles don't stick, he gets pushed over when he plays in the guts far too often, he does not hit the scoreboard nowhere near enough, lacks pace and isn't a great kick.
He is a decent mark for his size but only for his size if you know what I mean.

Give me Fasolo and what he brings to the table any day over him, especially when he's fit enough to do the chasing.
The Sack is far more effective in this role and is sufficient enough IMO, we can't afford to carry two players of that ilk and are in desperate in need of injection of class into the forward line.

Bang on. Saying that Fasolo or Martin can't replace Blair because they're a different role is irrelevant.

They play the same position, they just go about it differently. I think that either Fas or Kyle would contribute more to the team than Blair is, and that if Blair was dropped we wouldn't miss him.

If we can find someone who plays like Jarryd Blair except better, then by all means give him a go, but saying Blair has to stay because nobody else plays like him implies that playing like Blair is a good thing.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:59 pm

8 goals in 15 matches now

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:00 pm

I'll give you the rest of my Twisties and my Athos Hyrusalakis footy card

5150 Sagittarius

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:03 pm

Collingwood Crackerjack wrote:

Signed?

Maybe you should sweeten the deal with your Stephen Patterson training jumper.
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:18 pm

Get up with the modern game.
If he was there to hit the scoreboard, he wouldn't be on the list!!

Was one of our better players tonight...... and no I haven't seen a stats sheet.

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:23 pm

5150 wrote:
Collingwood Crackerjack wrote:

Signed?

Maybe you should sweeten the deal with your Stephen Patterson training jumper.

You're breaking my balls 5150....

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:40 pm

King Monkey wrote:
If he was there to hit the scoreboard, he wouldn't be on the fu****g list!!

Was one of our better players tonight...... and no I haven't seen a stats sheet.

Your joking aren't you?
does miss more tackles than ones that stick!
doess not run!
does not spread!
does not carry the ball!
does not get front or square at trav's feet!
does not chase!
does not kick regular goals!
does not mark on a regular basis!
does not have any skills!
does not kick long and straight!
What is he?
Is he a decoy?
Is he a good bloke?
Is he the Collingwood equivalent of Jake King without Jake Kings abilities??????
tell me what does he bring that any VFL footballer couldn't deliver!

Last edited by thompsoc on Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:49 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:46 pm

King Monkey wrote:
If he was there to hit the scoreboard, he wouldn't be on the list!!

Your joking aren't you?Is he the Collingwood equivalent of Jake King without Jakes Kings abilities??????
tell me what does he bring that any VFL footballer couldn't deliver!

Exactly. I'm still furious he was gifted Lockyer's spot in 2010 team in 2nd half of the year. What a kick in the guts to a loyal servant by that stupid old Malthouse.

Dyso

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 2 of 14