Williamstown vs Port Melbourne @ TEAC Oval...BUCKS IS BACK!!

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Williamstown Factor

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 4:43 pm

Over - We Flog Them by 115 Points Smile

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 4:46 pm

Ben Ried BOG

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 4:46 pm

magpiemike wrote:
Update for us over here in the west?

The game petered out towards the end as players were just going through the motions.

A couple of the Port players - Brayden Shaw and David Fanning - tried to re-aquaint themselves with some old team mates, but were too aggressive about it and gave away free kicks inside the forward 50, handing Williamstown a couple of cheap goals.

The crowd have swamped Bux, who pulled up a happy chappy indeed.

Man of the Match went to Ben Reid, who finished with 4 goals. He's just won himself a ute.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 4:58 pm

Good game to watch. Very impressed with Reid. He moves like a ruck rover but he's 197 cm.

Dawes showed he's got strong hands and some grunt. I'd think he's still a way off AFL selection, didn't do much defensively that I saw.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:02 pm

Did you hear Licca say that his future after this season is uncertain.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:02 pm

Good game to watch. Very impressed with Reid. He moves like a ruck rover but he's 197 cm.

Dawes showed he's got strong hands and some grunt. I'd think he's still a way off AFL selection, didn't do much defensively that I saw.

I agree but I think Dawes will be better after a Full Pre-Season

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:04 pm

Agree Dave.

No Dale, I must have missed that bit. Confused

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:04 pm

Dale61 wrote:
Did you hear Licca say that his future after this season is uncertain.

He will Retire or get Traded

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:07 pm

Stui, when Ross Booth was doing the post-game interviews, he first had a chat to Bux, then spoke to Licca.

Licca basically said that he should get at least 30 touches at this level (he got 31 today), but his future at AFL level is uncertain. He'll keep plugging along and doing what's expected, and he'll just see what happens.

palms 

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:07 pm

yeah, alot of the stuff dawes didnt do could've just been due to a lack of fitness? i thought he did really well considering that its really just early days for him. but reid was excellent hey. feel like the pies will have a glut of good forwards in the near future

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:13 pm

Clarke Was also Very Good

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:30 pm

2007 TRUenergy VFL Seniors
PM: 0.5.5 ~ 2.10.22 ~ 5.11.41 ~ 7.12.54
Will: 6.4.40 ~ 12.7.79 ~ 20.10.130 ~ 26.13.169

GOALS:
Williamstown: Williams 5, Dawes 4, Buckley 4, Reid 4, Lockwood 2, Picken 2, Rose 2, Davies, Iles, Clarke.

Licca's goal has been credited to Iles.

BEST:
Williamstown: Buckley, Iles, Reid, Williams, Licuria, Clarke.

----------------------------------------

2007 TRUenergy VFL Reserves
PM: 2.6.18 ~ 4.7.31 ~ 5.11.41 ~ 8.14.62
Will: 3.3.21 ~ 8.8.56 ~ 13.13.91 ~ 16.14.110

GOALS:
Williamstown: MacAffer 6, Dick 3, Jenkins 2, Crawford, Wellingham, Cook, Nicholls, Grossman.

BEST:
Williamstown: Crawford, Wellingham, Dickson, Tanner, Nicholls, Dick.

mickyg 

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:31 pm

2007 TRUenergy VFL Seniors

Port Melbourne 0.5 2.10 5.11 7.12 (54)
Williamstown 6.4 12.7 20.10 26.13 (169)

GOALS:
Port Melbourne: Cotchett 2 Langford 2 Bonaddio Dukes Spriggs
Williamstown: Williams 5 Dawes 4 Buckley 4 Reid 4 Lockwood 2 Picken 2 Rose 2 Davies Iles Clarke

BEST:
Port Melbourne: Spriggs Milhuisen Fanning Smith McMahon Livingston
Williamstown: Buckley Iles Reid Williams Licuria Clarke

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Port Melbourne: Nil
Williamstown: M. Boyd (Williamstown) for making forceful contact to L. Livingston (Port Melbourne).
~Madness~ Aries

...The Cat...

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:39 pm

Did you all see Licca's mark over the umpire? Absolute classic.

Today, I don't know much about how they play down the foward line in Willi, but I felt Dawes played a specific role today. Keeping wide, and outside the 50 a lot of the time. Often the ball came down when he was double teamed. I thought he played pretty good first up in the one's.

Then of course we have the great man!!! I mean, what can we say, he is just a champ. Heaps of posessions. You could tell from the very first bounce and his brilliant smother that he was going to have a good day.

Hope he pulled up ok. He rested most of the last quarter, but for time he was on he was clearly the best.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:49 pm

Dale61 wrote:
Stui, when Ross Booth was doing the post-game interviews, he first had a chat to Bux, then spoke to Licca.

Licca basically said that he should get at least 30 touches at this level (he got 31 today), but his future at AFL level is uncertain. He'll keep plugging along and doing what's expected, and he'll just see what happens.

I watched the interview, I must have zoned out for 5 second. I heard him say how much he liked playing VFL level, there was less pressure and he'd just keep plugging away. I didn't hear him say the words that his future was uncertain, but like I said, I may have gone into screensaver mode for a few seconds.

Even though he got 31 posessions, I didn't think he was great. He seemed to get caught more than most and certainly doesn't have the speed of the young blokes (both Pies and Willi listed).

I'm a Licca fan but, on that showing, he may be waiting for SSB or Cheesy to injured to get back in.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Williamstown Factor All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Page 8 of 10