Post Match. Pies pipped in thriller. All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:52 am

Get some much needed players in and one would think a spike upwards in performance and a reasonable win

Didn’t work out like that yesterday

jatsad 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:59 am

I noticed yesterday clearly that Sidey has lost a yard in pace. That's ok, but being asked to play wing requires a lot of running at pace.

We are getting next to nothing from Thomas at the moment, so put Sidey down forward where his footy smarts will get him goals.

The wing position can go to a number of players. Daicos has been killing it in the VFL and he is great by foot as well. Time to reward good form.

Just a natural progression I think.

jatsad 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:07 pm

masoncox wrote:
1. Trav Varcoe confidence is shot.
See .....the whole game....he has no confidence whatsoever.
His career is at the end.
2. It was a mongrel floating punt that dropped short.
Collingwood were expecting a drop punt.
Shit happens.

I agree that time has caught up with Varcoe, but to say that a mongrel punt that fell short was "shit happens" is crazy. Less that a minute to play, you man up on everyone, especially 30 metres out almost directly in front.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:37 pm

FrankieGoesToCollingwood wrote:
Wow, how you managed to turn p4s's post is into a Sidey vs Beams spiel is both predictable and beyond comprehension.

Beams, 5 votes Razz

Frankie read it properly mate
It's not Beams v Sidey at all
It's about P4S taking pot shots at Beams yet excusing Sidey for the exactly same errors or lack of output
If he wants to criticise a player fine but do it fairly and criticise all players making the same errors not excusing his favourite players and sinking the boot into ones he dislikes

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:41 pm

[quote="WarrenerraW"]
""""Missing easy shots always comes back to bite you in the arse, and it certainly did yesterday.""""Quote""
Absolutely sick to death of Miochek missing sitters.He has no idea how to kick goals on a regular basis.I've noticed, however,our worst offenders twirl the ball continuously before kicking.De Goey ,Stephenson,YES,he kick a ripper yesterday, Miochek, Pendles and they continually miss clutch goals. Just back to "Checkers" ,he kicked 4 points before kicking a major last week and had 3 points and a didn't make the distance from 45 ,before half time yesterday, one from 15 mtrs out.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:59 pm

Crisp broke lines and ran all day, ditto Aish, ditto Maynard. They can hold their heads up. With Phillips being sat on, they were our guys who ran and took the game on. Seriously I'm not sure what game some people have been watching.

Lyon plotted our downfall and did with tactics that we failed to counter.
They broke even with us in clearances, centre clearances and stoppages. Given we had Grundy, who had 47 hitouts to Lobbes 13 [probably against Reid] that tells you something that needs to be investigated.

We lost it around the ball, with our setups, their setups, their position and placement of extra players around the stoppages, and between the stoppage and the likely next kicked to contest.

It's too simplistic to think we were beaten on endeavour [although perhaps they had a little more], skill [we weren't] or scoring efficiency [about equal]. It's down to how did they limit our normal style, how did they close down our running space, the small areas of openness that have existed all year for us to run into, handball into and tap into.

This is what Bucks and his team will be analysing this week, not oh Treloar can't kick and Beams and Sidey are not trying, which is oversimplistic bullshit that serves no-one but some supporters trying to place blame on someone or someones for the hurt we all feel when we lose. Dissect it and figure out what was going on and how to defeat it before someone else does it to us.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 1:36 pm

Crisp broke lines and ran all day, ditto Aish, ditto Maynard. They can hold their heads up. With Phillips being sat on, they were our guys who ran and took the game on. Seriously I'm not sure what game some people have been watching.

They broke even with us in clearances, centre clearances and stoppages. Given we had Grundy, who had 47 hitouts to Lobbes 13 [probably against Reid] that tells you something that needs to be investigated.

We lost it around the ball, with our setups, their setups, their position and placement of extra players around the stoppages, and between the stoppage and the likely next kicked to contest.

It's too simplistic to think we were beaten on endeavour [although perhaps they had a little more], skill [we weren't] or scoring efficiency [about equal]. It's down to how did they limit our normal style, how did they close down our running space, the small areas of openness that have existed all year for us to run into, handball into and tap into.

This is what Bucks and his team will be analysing this week, not oh Treloar can't kick and Beams and Sidey are not trying, which is oversimplistic bullshit that serves no-one but some supporters trying to place blame on someone or someones for the hurt we all feel when we lose. Dissect it and figure out what was going on and how to defeat it before someone else does it to us.

Excellent post.

I would just add ( for whatever reason ) I haven’t seen so many good players collectively have a dirty day. We had sure ball handlers who didn’t handle the ball well and reliable kicks who missed everything ( obviously Pendles aside )
This creates a double whammy because when you shoot out a handball and it lands at your team mates feet, you immediately put him under pressure and so the domino effect rolls on. This side is screaming for the bye and hopefully we can jag four points against Dees, rest up and then plan for the run home.
Cuthbert Collingwood Aquarius

Once was on fire, now all at sea

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 1:53 pm

Thanks Cam, good post

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 2:37 pm

Bloody great post, Cam. We seriously need to look at why Grundy is crushing his opponent, but our mids aren't capitalising on it. I know from previous weeks opposition have been getting away with sneaky holds/blocks on Sidey and Treloar. But that's just one aspect that's out of our control, there are many more that are in our control and we should be concerned about.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 2:52 pm

Varcoe probably didn’t know there was only seconds left. He was only 50-50 from the set shot at 45m, play on was correct to player running past to make it a more easier shot.

As stated above you can’t cover every shit kick in the planet. I was more pissed that the free kick was paid downfield as I thought Stevo’s push was as the kick happened as he was trying a run down tackle

eureka 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 2:54 pm
Post subject: Notice to our playersReply with quote

It’s not over till it’s ovet that is the final siren has sounded
Haff Capricorn

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 2:57 pm

Insightful
eureka 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:03 pm

Stevo had a shocker
eureka 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:04 pm

Players in the gun Thomas Varcoe beams and Aish

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:25 pm

FrankieGoesToCollingwood wrote:
Wow, how you managed to turn p4s's post is into a Sidey vs Beams spiel is both predictable and beyond comprehension.

Beams, 5 votes Razz

Frankie read it properly mate
It's not Beams v Sidey at all
It's about P4S taking pot shots at Beams yet excusing Sidey for the exactly same errors or lack of output
If he wants to criticise a player fine but do it fairly and criticise all players making the same errors not excusing his favourite players and sinking the boot into ones he dislikes

I'm not going to participate in this as a to and fro because I know that a lot of posters find it tiresome.

This week, I decided Beams was finally done - or else that he has a serious injury that requires considerable rest and therapy. He can't run and he can't bend over.

While Beams is stinking it up in the midfield, Sidebottom is forced to play on the wing. The main difference between 2018 and 2019 Sidebottom is that Beams' presence has moved Sidey out and away from the contest. It's turned one of last year's two main weapons into a popgun and replaced him with a sprouting potato at the coalface. Personally, I don't think you bring in a bloke who makes your team worse - but obviously other people can take a different view.

Adams has hardly played this year. Apart from him, though, Beams and Wills are the only ones of our senior mids who have not been in our top players in a single game this season, according to the senior coaches. So, Grundy, Pendlebury, Treloar, Phillips, Sidebottom and Mayne have all attracted attention in the coaches' votes but Beams has not.

I'm not really interested in comparing Sidebottom and Beams - one is a genuine top 20 player in the competition who has won our last two best and fairests and is being forced to play in the wrong place this year and the other is just a slow outside mid who lacks Mayne's and Greenwood's hardness at the contest - but if one watches the last quarter of the Sydney, one will see that in the last quarter Sidebottom made 1 goal for us and saved two others on an otherwise very poor night.

As to Beams' present place in the pecking order, at Collingwood after yesterday's game he is:

- 8th on the list for total kicks;
- 7th on the list for total handballs;
- 21st (!!!!!) on the list for kicking efficiency;
- 9th on the list for metres gained;
- 7th on the list for contested possessions;
- 15th on the list for intercept possessions;
- 9th on the list for ground ball gets;
- 4th on the list for centre clearances and 4th on the list for stoppage clearances;
- 7th on the list for inside 50s;
- 13th on the list for goals;
- 5th on the list for goals assists;
- 9th on the list for score involvements;
- 11th on the list for score launches;
- 18th (!!!!!!) on the list for tackles; and
- 13th on the list for pressure acts.

None of that is exactly awe-inspiring, is it?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 10 of 12