AFLX ...Garbage?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Other AFL

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

AFLX?
Yep, it's crap
51%
 51%  [ 49 ]
It's pretty average, not interested.
21%
 21%  [ 21 ]
It's ok, I can watch it.
18%
 18%  [ 18 ]
I like it, they shoukd keep it!
8%
 8%  [ 8 ]
Total Votes : 96

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:53 pm

A counterpoint to the views of the sport-business guy quoted above:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/time-for-the-afl-to-grow-up-be-careful-what-you-wish-for-20180305-p4z2wc.html
But maturity can be viewed in other ways.

Maturity should be far less about following the herd than being able to identify which new, overseas innovations to embrace, and which unique historical quirks of our game to uphold.

We should also tread very carefully when observing the common practices of overseas sports, for their markets are very different to ours. In America, it’s not overly uncommon for franchises to be sold right from under the nose of the loyal fans and relocated to new markets. Players can be transferred from one team to another with the click of a finger. Is this the blueprint of maturity?

Part of what makes the AFL the country’s biggest football code is its historical connection to the grassroots. The tribalism, the passion, the enduring sense of loyalty that leads many players to knock back bigger contract offers from rival clubs to stay at the club they love. It’s part of what keeps some of the game’s oldest clubs in the competition alive today.

If we want to link maturity to the complete, unfettered commercialisation of sport, we should be careful of what a fully mature AFL might look like.

For a start, a fully matured AFL most probably won’t have nine clubs in Melbourne. No, a commercially mature organisation would be expected to stand on its own two feet. As such, the AFL would more likely take on a more economically rational model that would see just a few teams in each major market of Australia.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:30 pm

On Lynch...
McLachlan said that, as a "romantic'' he preferred one-club players.
"I am old school in the sense that I love one-club players ..."

A few days earlier...
AFL chief Gillon McLachlan has declared the radical AFLX experiment a success and has flagged the prospect of a November tournament being staged in Hong Kong in the future. ...

“It was completely new and there was a lot of young talent playing from a standing start, but the footy got better as the weekend went on and people bought into it and there are things we need to change but I reckon there’s something to work with there,” McLachlan told 3AW on Friday.
“I think the future is enormous, whether it’s international [or not] I think you can have it as a distinct product potentially with different owners and you can involve past players like in the BBL [Big Bash League] who might be able to play..."

Gil, old boy, you're sounding a tiny bit two-faced, and it's no longer January.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:26 pm

Take 2 -- Comicbook "heroes" (ahem):

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-12-16/four-aflx-captains-reveal-their-team-logos

Shocked Shocked

(Wait till you hear the names of these teams...)

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:17 pm

What a circus.

I won't be wasting any time watching that junk.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:06 pm

Can someone explain to me how the McLachlan brothers, with no AFL football backgrounds, came to take over the AFL and its media broadcasting? They are polo playing private school tossers of the highest order, with no understanding of grass roots supporters and are simply creating an empire for themselves and enjoying the gravy train along the way.

AFLX along with the stupid rule changes are evidence of morons in charge of our game. Meanwhile, Tasmanian football is on the verge of total collapse.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:38 am

Here is some background info on Gillon:

"A member of one of the South Australia's largest farming families (his uncle Ian is a former South Australian Sheffield Shield cricketer and Australian defence minister) he moved to Melbourne where he gained a law degree with honours and went to work with Andersen Consulting (now Accenture) where he worked across a number of industries in a number of countries.

One of those secondments was to the AFL, and as is often the case, he went from consultant to employee, joining the AFL in May 2000 as a strategic planner.

From there he moved up the organisation as head of commercial operations, with extra responsibilities for broadcasting and major projects, and later on fixturing and digital media.

He assumed pole position to eventually replace Andrew Demetriou as the main man at the AFL when he was named deputy CEO in late 2012."

Rudey, as a Liverpool supporter, you may be shocked to know "there were also suggestions he was sounded out about a move to the UK to run the Liverpool Football Club".

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-04-30/big-man-big-job

[On Liverpool, any fans please give your opinions on the club's performance in the EPL forum Wink :
http://magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?p=1883088#1883088
http://magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?p=1883170#1883170
http://magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?p=1883168#1883168 ]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:36 pm

The AFL well and truly seem to be flogging a dead horse* now. Apparently novelty value only managed to carry the brave new world of football for – let’s see – exactly one season. If AFLX is all it’s cracked up to be, shouldn’t we just be champing at the bit to get another look at this exciting new sport? Or is it possible that it just, er, sucks?

Also, reading through the last few pages, can people please for the love of God stop comparing AFLW and AFLX? Whether you personally feel like watching women's football or not, at least it's still actual football, just played by different people. In that sense, AFLW is to AFL what same-sex marriage is to heterosexual marriage, whereas AFLX is roughly analogous to ... well, there's a horse, but I'm not sure who's flogging who.

*Let’s just hope that the horse is actually dead and stays dead.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:17 pm

The overseas model , which is the genesis for this, is played out of necessity. Soccer and rugby grounds are easier to find than cricket grounds. It is difficult in say Laos to recruit enough locals to play and so it sort of is left to expats and embassy staff to have a bit of kick to kick and handball drills a bit of a run and then beer , BBQ and Bullshit. A lot of networking and a way to stay connected. A lot of the comps are for over 35s and 9 a side fits perfectly. !0, 9 no difference. They do however ban a goal from outside 40 because they had a few instances when it became a farce. So the emphasis is on teamwork and sharing the pill. They may play one or two carnivals and the odd arranged game. Eor visiting Naval ships etc.. In essence it is played for the enjoyment of the players.

The AFL must stop treating paying customers as mugs. Its a made for tv thing that then average pub patron will look at the scores between ordering a round pots and putting a bet on the Moonee Valley night races.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:31 am

I'm of two minds re: the all-indigenous/African team. Apart from the awful name, an African mate of mine is furious about the AFL's thinking on not only skin colour, but perpetuating the Us vs Them mentality we already have too much of in society when it comes to indigenous culture. Me, I support showcasing indigenous talent, but AFLX and the Deadlys... just feels really ingratiating and divisive.

Last edited by Mr Miyagi on Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:34 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:33 am

Is that what the Betts team is? What is its awful name?

Similarly, is the Revolting team made up of ugly dummy-spitters?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:49 am

I shit you not. The Deadlys.

"Each team has been named to match up with a standout attribute of its captain, with Dangerfield to lead the Bolts due to his explosive pace, Fyfe to captain the Flyers because of his marking strength and Riewoldt to steer the Rampage due to his capacity to break tackles and go hard in the air. Betts' side will be called the Deadlys and be an all-indigenous line-up."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-12-16/four-aflx-captains-reveal-their-team-logos

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:51 am

How much did the person who came up with this crap get paid? Seriously.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:54 am

My nephews are going nuts for it though.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:04 am

"Capacity to break tackles"? Is this true? I'm not aware of it and need convincing.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:12 am

AFLX reminds me of Star Wars, it's all about the toys and merchandise.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Other AFL All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 5 of 9