Video Interview

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:34 am
Post subject: Video InterviewReply with quote

I just completed one for a position I applied for. It was a strange experience to say the least.

Has anyone else done one, what was the result?

I applied for a job with another mining company and recieved an email advising that I had reached the video interview stage.
The whole process was fairly simple, download an app, do some practice questions (I did heaps!), then proceed to the 'Interview".
You are asked 6 questions. They appear on the screen, you have between 30 & 60 seconds to think about your response. You then press record and have up to 2 and a half minutes to talk to your phone.

Even after doing as many practice questions as I could, it was still a very weird experience.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:50 am

Never done one. Sounds like they put a bit of work into it.

I'd find that difficult as I'd normally be looking at the interviewers, looking for non-verbal clues that I was on the right track.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:52 am

What does they put work into it sound like?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:03 am

Oh, "video interview" here means without humans on the other end, does it?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 1:45 pm

Oh, "video interview" here means without humans on the other end, does it?

Yeah. the app is called Sonru Record.

The employer sets the questions. They pop up on the screen and the timer starts.

It's fairly easy to use, but like Stui said, you can get a feel of how things are going when you're face to face with someone and you can broaden your response, without a timer counting down.

I just found it very different, talking to my phone, making sure your face and shoulders stay within the set border.

I suppose it's a way of narrowing the field. Apparently they selected 20 for the video interview and using that, reduce the field to 5.
A mate of mine works there and gave me that info.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:03 pm

^ Yes, sounds like a way of narrowing the field on the cheap. If money didn't concern them, they'd do the same narrowing, but with a human interviewer. Skype interviews with humans are not ideal, but probably good enough...

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:34 pm

^ Yes, sounds like a way of narrowing the field on the cheap. If money didn't concern them, they'd do the same narrowing, but with a human interviewer. Skype interviews with humans are not ideal, but probably good enough...

If you're looking at mining jobs, the geography comes into play. People will be applying from thousands of miles away, unlike jobs in a city.

It's a cost effective way of shortlisting that's better than just a phone call or culling by instinct. It will be interesting to see how they manage the final interview list if Skids makes it.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:51 pm

Flying people from different cities is a totally understandable deterrent. That's why I think it's okay to hold a Skype interview, which does though require a real-time human. This app thing I'm less convinced by.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:51 pm

You've done a lot of recruitment?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:55 pm

What time is it there?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:56 am

If you're looking at mining jobs, the geography comes into play. People will be applying from thousands of miles away, unlike jobs in a city.

It's a cost effective way of shortlisting that's better than just a phone call or culling by instinct. It will be interesting to see how they manage the final interview list if Skids makes it.

It's funny, in hindsight, I probably could have been better prepared and answered the questions better... I guess that's the plan, put you on the spot and see how you respond.

I think I went ok and reckon I said enough right to get to the next stage.

The way things change hey... compared to my first interview for a paper boy role in 1978, the world sure is a different place Very Happy

There were over 500 applicants from across the country.

Roster is 14 on 11 off, 14 on 10 off.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:22 am

I don't like where this is headed...
14 on 9 off, 14 on 8 off, ...
14 on 2 off, 14 on 1 off, ...
14 on, 14 on, 14 on, ...

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:29 am

I don't like where this is headed...
14 on 9 off, 14 on 8 off, ...
14 on 2 off, 14 on 1 off, ...
14 on, 14 on, 14 on, ...

Hahaha. Nah just 14/11- 14/10.... 14/11 - 14/10.

It actually works out identical time on site as an ; 8/6 or 12/9 (the one I do now) roster.

partypie 

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:46 pm

Good luck Skids, they would be mad not to hire you

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:42 am

partypie wrote:
Good luck Skids, they would be mad not to hire you

Very Happy cheers partypie.