Degoey Hamstrung

OffSeasonSpecialist Libra

OffSeasonSpecialist

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:10 pm
Post subject: Degoey HamstrungReply with quote

SMFH Degoey has done a hamstring. Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:15 pm

FFS Sad

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:22 pm

Doesn't sound as serious as first reported, but at Collingwood you're never sure.

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2018-03-08/injury-update-stars-near-return-setback-for-few

didick 

didick

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:58 pm

Walsh says a "routine hamstring recovery period" will be needed. Could mean anything, but probably means 8 weeks at the Pies.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:22 pm

Doesn't sound as serious as first reported, but at Collingwood you're never sure.

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2018-03-08/injury-update-stars-near-return-setback-for-few

Could gone for the Season Then

Boogie Knights 

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:26 pm

Regardless the length of recovery, I expect that it will be exactly the same number of weeks the indefinite suspension will be.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:36 pm

Oh the irony.

It’s probably the hardest he has trained in the last month since he has been at the club.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:07 pm

Well done Collingwood!! Sent one of your up and coming stars out to do manual labour during the day and then train with the magoos after work and WHAT happened??/ A hammy.Fantastic.What a moronic bunch.Is there any other club who'd do this to one of their own??

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:37 pm

mudlark wrote:

Well done Collingwood!! Sent one of your up and coming stars out to do manual labour during the day and then train with the magoos after work and WHAT happened??/ A hammy.Fantastic.What a moronic bunch.Is there any other club who'd do this to one of their own??

If Walsh is to be believed, this injury has nothing to do with the "manual labour".

“It seems that the mechanics of a tackle Jordy laid late in Tuesday’s session locked his leg and he slightly over-stretched,” said Walsh.

Besides that, the other magoos have day jobs, some of which may also be manual labour, and they don't break down at magoo training. What other club? You mean right now? Well Freo and Bennell come to mind. Okay, he also injured himself. What a pity. Do you think that working on a landscaping job is really more hazardous than drink driving with BAC 0.195 when it's supposed to be 0.00?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:01 am

So we sent him to do manual labor (possibly working certain muscles for the first time) and then having him break down at training with an injury often caused by stress while fatigued???

Its not like this guy is a rookie selection who will struggle to get a game. He was a number 5 draft pick who we were hoping to turn into the keystone of our midfield for the next 10 years.

Everyone knows i tend to back the club in all matters of the heart, but even i gotta admit, its not a good look.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:33 am

^ So do you think Walsh's words should be ignored in general?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:14 am

Not sure which words you are referring to, but if it is the fact that Walsh suggests the hamstring injury was unrelated to the manual labor and was instead a freak moment in a game, i would ask you the following questions -

DeGoey has played the crash and bask of footy for the past 15 years or so and been in many pack and had many awkward falls. in fact hundreds of footballers get involved in awkward situations on the field all the time and they don't tear hamstrings. How do you explain why on this particular occasion, a hamstring was torn?

And given that we know that soft tissue injuries are much more likely to occur when fatigued muscles are asked to give full exertion, why should we simply dismiss it as an unfortunate coincidence?

And when in the history of the world have you heard a football person say - oh boy, we screwed that decision up. Maybe after a few hard days of work in a job his body might not be used to doing, we shouldnt have had him playing at full exertion? our bad!!!!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:33 am

Not sure which words you are referring to, but if it is the fact that Walsh suggests the hamstring injury was unrelated to the manual labor and was instead a freak moment in a game, i would ask you the following questions -

I'll take that as a yes, i.e. you did think Walsh is full of ****!

But as I said previously, none of the VFL boys, all of whom have regular jobs, some of which may be "manual labour", broke down at training. I'm also sure that if JDG wanted an office job for the four weeks, that would have been arranged, but we know he's not that sort of guy.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:20 am

Are there any pictures of him on the building site? Will he still have to finish his 4 weeks work?

Have you not see. How brickies work these days? They have tools & conveyors to help get the bricks around, I doubt he was wheel borrowing around tonnes of bricks.

Maybe busting his gut on the training field as he should have been doing, did it. And maybe it was just Gods final dig! So many maybes!

One things for sure, when he struts out in the best 22 next time ,this man is going to appreciate it! And that’s what counts.

If we are within cooee of the hawks maybe it matters. I guess we will see. At his best he’s very good, but he’s not a 5-10 goal match winner. Not yet. Hopefully some tough love and bad luck pulls the best out of him.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 8:26 am

I'll take that as a yes, i.e. you did think Walsh is full of ****!

Well you would be wrong. I think what Walsh said was factually accurate. DeGoey was injured while doing a tackling drill and not while working. I bet that is truthful information (its just that its 100% useless information in determining whether the manual labor - or his hard training that it appears he is subjecting himself to - contributed to the injury). Not sure if its smart to flog your rolls royce!

Here is an article confirming he is now desk bound.

JORDAN De Goey may have injured his hamstring, but that doesn't mean he's served his penance.

The 21-year-old will no longer be able to continue his landscaping job – as part of his club-imposed indefinite suspension for drink driving – but he'll still be going to work. The Pies have quickly moved to find De Goey 'office-bound work' meaning the midfielder will be switching tradie overalls for more corporate attire. The club confirmed to AFL.com.au De Goey remains part of its VFL program and nothing has changed in relation to his indefinite suspension from the senior squad.

De Goey sustained his hamstring injury in a tackling drill at VFL training on Tuesday night.

He's expected to be sidelined for 2-4 weeks. That potential moral dilemma – whether he's done enough to play in round one - is now out of the Magpies' hands, with his injured hamstring unlikely to have him available for any football before April.