2016 membership totals

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:36 pm
Post subject: 2016 membership totalsReply with quote

Code:

Club   2016   2015   Variation
Hawthorn   75,351   72,924   +3.33%
Collingwood   74,643   75,037   -0.53%
Richmond   72,278   70,809   +2.07%
West Coast   65,188   60,221   +8.25%
Essendon   57,494   60,818   -5.47%
Sydney Swans   56,523   48,836   +15.74%
Adelaide   54,307   52,920   +2.62%
Port Adelaide   53,743   54,057   -0.58%
Fremantle   51,889   51,433   +0.89%
Geelong   50,571   44,312   +14.12%
Carlton   50,130   47,305   +5.97%
North Melbourne   45,014   41,012   +9.76%
Western Bulldogs   39,459   35,222   +12.03%
Melbourne   39,146   35,953   +8.88%
St Kilda   38,009   32,746   +16.07%
Brisbane Lions   23,286   25,408   -8.35%
Greater Western Sydney   15,312   13,480   +13.59%
Gold Coast   12,854   13,643   -5.78%
TOTALS   875,197   836,136   +4.67%

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/2016/8/collingwood-overtaken-on-the-official-membership-ladder/[/quote]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:43 pm
Post subject: Re: 2016 membership totalsReply with quote

Code:

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/2016/8/collingwood-overtaken-on-the-official-membership-ladder/
[/quote]

Gee, we're down 0.53%! Club must be concerned about that! That'll surely motivate the Board into drastic action!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:02 pm

Code:

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/2016/8/collingwood-overtaken-on-the-official-membership-ladder/

Gee, we're down 0.53%! Club must be concerned about that! That'll surely motivate the Board into drastic action![/quote]

It would be interesting to see how many of these 'memberships' are fair dinkum, and how many are give-aways. I suspect there's a lot of 3 game memberships included. If the numbers are real, then you'd expect us to hit the 100,000 mark once we start winning games!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:16 pm

Code:

Gee, we're down 0.53%! Club must be concerned about that! That'll surely motivate the Board into drastic action!

It would be interesting to see how many of these 'memberships' are fair dinkum, and how many are give-aways. I suspect there's a lot of 3 game memberships included. If the numbers are real, then you'd expect us to hit the 100,000 mark once we start winning games![/quote]

Rude I'm a interstate member and have access to 5 home games a year (not that I use them every year and sometimes I give them to friends to use) and I'm not sure if they count me as a full member in these totals.
I only buy my membership each year to support the club. As I don't get to every home game and buy merchandise or anything else at th club I see this as my way of still supporting the club in a small financial way. So they say every penny helps.
mattys123 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:18 pm

The revenue in the annual report will be interesting to see.

$2 million down on membership revenue last season (2014 compared to 2015) and I'd say another significant drop due to less full memberships this year too.

That's when the club starts realising there's a problem, when it's hitting the profit/loss statement.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:37 pm

Are you people MENTAL!?!?
For 50 years we've had the highest membership of any Victorian club. Probably a lot longer, but since I've been alive we've always been number 1. Its one of the things I could always count on!
Now it's gone, and it didn't have to be!
We did it to ourselves.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:51 pm

I'm not a member, haven't been since the late 80's.

It's a choice, I can have a membership, or I can have a 4-5 week fishing holiday in the NT, or I can have a holiday in the UK, or Canada, or a 5star fishing trip to Vanuatu. And I get to go to Byron Bay Bluesfest every year.

People make choices about memberships for any number of reasons. My wife and I are DINKs and both earn a good wage, but I'd hate to be trying to manage a mortgage and survive week to week in the current economy if we were living of just 1 of our wages, or even less, or had a cluster of kids.

But let that not stop the negative nellies blaming Bucks for it.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:00 pm

We've had 3 shit seasons in a row, so it's hardly surprising our membership numbers would fall off a bit. If we actually start playing (and winning) finals again, I'd expect our membership numbers to crash through the 100, 000 barrier.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:01 pm

All will add up when the club releases it's profit report for 2016. On those figures, 50% of members don't even bother turning up to any game. lol
mattys123 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:03 pm

We've had 3 shit seasons in a row, so it's hardly surprising our membership numbers would fall off a bit. If we actually start playing (and winning) finals again, I'd expect our membership numbers to crash through the 100, 000 barrier.

hi Gary from 2013, how's the club going?

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2013-12-11/collingwood-breaks-60000-member-mark

which is why we are on track to break our target of 100,000 members.”
Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:46 pm

35forever wrote:
Are you people MENTAL!?!?
For 50 years we've had the highest membership of any Victorian club. Probably a lot longer, but since I've been alive we've always been number 1. Its one of the things I could always count on!
Now it's gone, and it didn't have to be!
We did it to ourselves.

I wouldn't lay the blame entirely on us.

Hawthorn (and the Box Hill Hawks) have had a ton of success over the past few years which attracts bandwagoners, and influences the choice of team made by the Asian population living in Box Hill. I also think accessing the Tassie market hasn't hurt them either.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 7:00 pm

What the Whoreks start to slide once their bloody dynasty is over. :/
Darkstranger 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:06 pm

Reckon we are in good shape considering how ordinary we've been?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 10:19 pm

Well the AFL is in good nick. Plenty of clubs breaking their own records which is good.

We've dropped, but only just. And you'd think any club thats going for 4 in a row would have a big jump in numbers. Imagine if it were us?

They say only memberships over $50 count. Im not sure if the 3-game ones count or not? But one thing is for certain. Pet memberships do not count, they never did. So dont let anyone argue that they do. And the Cats and Bulldogs invented the pet membership anyway.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:49 am

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-25/hawks-overtake-pies-to-top-membership-ladder Devils always in the detail.

This is classic data manipulation. What counts as a member is farcical. A name, Has Contact Information, Over $50 and receives a Membership Pack. These are separate and not all 4 together. So if you only get an email from the club you are classed as a member. What bullshit.

Basically there are 451,752 members who have purchased a membership across all AFL clubs. 75,000 members my arse. Laughing