Post match. Pies down to Crows. All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:25 am

Intensity was there for much of the game but our ability to deliver efficiently into the F50 was very poor. The team would be much stronger with the inclusion of Elliott and the Faz. On top of poor devivery, our inability to crumb the ball in the F 50 compounds the problem.

A disappointing result at the end of the day and the score got away from us in the end but up to 3/4 time I felt that if we got one act together we could have really challenged them.

Sinclaire has maintained his improvement, Aish has continued to show promise, Grundy was solid for much of the game and it was one of Crisps best games for a while. Unlike this time last year we seem to be heading in the right direction.

StRting the game at the beginning of the 1st quarter as opposed to the 2nd quarter would give us much better opportunity to win against the stronger teams.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:26 am

Thompsoc, you're observation is correct - but being thoroughgoingly negative is as unhelpful as being hopelessly optimistic. Balanced critique is required and there's not much of that in those posts.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:31 am

bally12 wrote:
The paradox in all this is that our coach was probably the best kick of the footy EVER. And yet all he keeps preaching is "hard work". Go figure.

And you know this how? Just from his pressers?

dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:32 am

3rd degree wrote:
We had a crack but made some dumb decisions too many hand balls and as stated no crumbing forwards hurt us and our big forwards didn't play smart , in saying that a greasy night for marks . Very proud of Sinclair and Maynard they worked hard all night along with aish and Howe. Crisp and greenwood were crucial , Steele and Pendles were good, but Steele that handball to crisp ffs

I'll see your FFS, and raise you a FMD!

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:35 am

Lost the game in the first quarter and played catch up after that. The team had a crack and whilst I am annoyed we lost I am not disappointed. One point raised last night was that we have only 5 players that have played all year and that is very clear in our game play. Let's bounce back and knock off the Roos. Razz

Yeah, I agree. The only thing that worried me last night was that, without Fasolo, we don't have a single player on our list capable of grabbing a game by the scruff of the neck and turning it in our favour. We lack a Dangerfield, a Rioli or an Eddie Betts. Our side plugged away all night, but we seem to be lacking the X factor or spark that can win a game when it's hard and tight. Even our best player and captain Pendles, rarely imposes himself on a game to win it for us, rather he is an accumulator and a link player throughout the game. Swan used to win games for us, and sometimes Elliott would too, but who knows whether either of them will ever play for us again?
Krakouer Magic 

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:44 am

courtza wrote:
Krakouer Magic wrote:
27 scoring shots to 19. AFC in front for 115.58 mins vs pies 1:34. AFC 51% of possession in fwd half vs CFC 38%. Smashed in centre square.

Yes the players gave a great effort. But it's more of the same we've seen for the past 3 years. It's always, if a player comes back or if we can clean up the basic mistakes we'll be a top 8 side. I don't agree.

We had 405 disposals, and again more hand passes than kicks. Everytime that happens we lose. the gameplan has far too much reliance on handpass. It's a flaw. The gameplan appears designed to get counter attack from defence. We push so far back that we lose structure up the field. One of the reasons I think we end up with marks 40 plus out, instead of inside fwd 30.

Fasolo while handy, wouldn't have changed the result. Elliott may not be the same player when he comes back and swan may not come back at all.

AFC were sloppy as hell tonight as well. Yet they never looked like losing. I just don't see where or how this performance, or any of the performances for the last few weeks we translate to finals in 2017.

Melbourne are better than us, Port are better than us, Freo will bounce back and Essendon will be much improved next year. Of the top 8, nmfc look like they won't be their in 2017. I just don't see how the same basic errors that have happened, the same inconsistency in performance that has happened, for the 3 years (well 5 years really) will change next year.

Did you expect us to win tonight? Every team in the comp would dread playing the Crows who are flying on their home ground.

Surely you can see some positives, last week we only won because of the Giants training load and this week we were competitive cause the Crows played like shit, fair dinkum.

Nah, KM is the negative specialist. When we win its cause the opposition are terrible, when we lose he'll tell you all the reasons we'd have won if they'd let him coach us. There are always people with views like that in life.

Haha the negative specialist. I like that. Some people look at our loss and say "Adelaide aren't really that good", "we were flat", "we pushed them to the limit", "if only we get a few players back", "if only we hit targets under pressure" "at least we pushed a top 4 side" etc etc Or when we lose to Melb, Stk and Carlton they say "it's all these injuries".

When we win those same people don't even bother to look at the reasons the opposition may have been off the pace or not executed well. It's just this insane rhetoric "See bucks can coach, shut your mouth all you naysayers, none of the excuses I use for a pies loss applies to any other club, the pies are just purely freaking awesome" etc etc etc.

I'm gonna have to put all these delusional types on ignore for a week and just let em wallow in mediocrity I guess... ; )

The game I watched last night was clearly not the same game as you. It never looked like Adelaide were not in control. I guess I'm just a negative nelly.

Let say we executed our game plan and kicked a few more goals. What good what it have done with Adelaide dominating the centre clearance? The crows countered our goals through out the game because at the very next opportunity they got there hands on the ball and got it forward. We were always on the back foot.

Whatever centre bounce strategy we had in place to nullify, or beat, the crows centre bounce work didn't work. And our midfield is at full strength at the moment isn't it? If swan comes back it's to the fwd pocket.

For me its similar to the west coast game in that regard. They dominate centre clearance and don't care if they give up a few goals cause they know they get the ball back and have a good chance to counter immediately.

But that's just me being negative, and has nothing to do with us being able to turn potential into results after the same old same old for 5 years...

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:57 am

Krakouer Magic wrote:
.... I know I'm just a negative nelly....

Fixed it for you. Razz

Admire your passion, but really it's tiring. Go ask adelaide how consistent their side has been this year with players played.

They were bigger stronger and just better, on the night, but with our close to full list we would have given the most in form team in the comp a hell of a shake. If you have to dwell on the negatives you really must be hard to please. And though you have no idea of my character I can tell you that I am bloody hard to please.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:06 pm

Exactly how I predicted pre game, the Crows had too much to play for, and are a four goal better team on their own pissing ground, in front of their rabid ferals, and that's just how it turned out. With Fas playing it may have been a lot closer, and I cant fault our effort, we kept plugging away against the home ground odds. Had it been at the G, reckon it would have been a very different result. Under the circumstances, we did as well as we could I reckon.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:07 pm

Thompsoc, you're observation is correct - but being thoroughgoingly negative is as unhelpful as being hopelessly optimistic. Balanced critique is required and there's not much of that in those posts.

Fair point.
But at least KM always gives some analysis.
And I like some detailed analysis.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:14 pm

King Monkey wrote:
Must've watched a different game regarding Darcy Moore than some people.

Greasy night, top rated opponent - marked what he could and brought the ball to ground when unable to hold the mark. Rarely caught behind his man.
Without dominating was pretty good.

Spot on, look hes a kid, and a pretty raw kid at that, jeeesus, some on here just don't get it, it takes time and game experience to get really good, even players like hodge, judd, etc were not instant stars, young Darcy has a hell of a lot going for him, and in that cauldron of fire over there, he tried hard. Confused

courtza 

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:09 pm

Krakouer Magic wrote:
courtza wrote:
Krakouer Magic wrote:
27 scoring shots to 19. AFC in front for 115.58 mins vs pies 1:34. AFC 51% of possession in fwd half vs CFC 38%. Smashed in centre square.

Yes the players gave a great effort. But it's more of the same we've seen for the past 3 years. It's always, if a player comes back or if we can clean up the basic mistakes we'll be a top 8 side. I don't agree.

We had 405 disposals, and again more hand passes than kicks. Everytime that happens we lose. the gameplan has far too much reliance on handpass. It's a flaw. The gameplan appears designed to get counter attack from defence. We push so far back that we lose structure up the field. One of the reasons I think we end up with marks 40 plus out, instead of inside fwd 30.

Hey Krak , I agree with alot of your analysis but you only tell one side of the story, the negative. If we combined your analysis with say "backbucks" we get a more complete picture.
Fasolo while handy, wouldn't have changed the result. Elliott may not be the same player when he comes back and swan may not come back at all.

AFC were sloppy as hell tonight as well. Yet they never looked like losing. I just don't see where or how this performance, or any of the performances for the last few weeks we translate to finals in 2017.

Melbourne are better than us, Port are better than us, Freo will bounce back and Essendon will be much improved next year. Of the top 8, nmfc look like they won't be their in 2017. I just don't see how the same basic errors that have happened, the same inconsistency in performance that has happened, for the 3 years (well 5 years really) will change next year.

Did you expect us to win tonight? Every team in the comp would dread playing the Crows who are flying on their home ground.

Surely you can see some positives, last week we only won because of the Giants training load and this week we were competitive cause the Crows played like shit, fair dinkum.

Nah, KM is the negative specialist. When we win its cause the opposition are terrible, when we lose he'll tell you all the reasons we'd have won if they'd let him coach us. There are always people with views like that in life.

Haha the negative specialist. I like that. Some people look at our loss and say "Adelaide aren't really that good", "we were flat", "we pushed them to the limit", "if only we get a few players back", "if only we hit targets under pressure" "at least we pushed a top 4 side" etc etc Or when we lose to Melb, Stk and Carlton they say "it's all these injuries".

When we win those same people don't even bother to look at the reasons the opposition may have been off the pace or not executed well. It's just this insane rhetoric "See bucks can coach, shut your mouth all you naysayers, none of the excuses I use for a pies loss applies to any other club, the pies are just purely freaking awesome" etc etc etc.

I'm gonna have to put all these delusional types on ignore for a week and just let em wallow in mediocrity I guess... ; )

The game I watched last night was clearly not the same game as you. It never looked like Adelaide were not in control. I guess I'm just a negative nelly.

Let say we executed our game plan and kicked a few more goals. What good what it have done with Adelaide dominating the centre clearance? The crows countered our goals through out the game because at the very next opportunity they got there hands on the ball and got it forward. We were always on the back foot.

Whatever centre bounce strategy we had in place to nullify, or beat, the crows centre bounce work didn't work. And our midfield is at full strength at the moment isn't it? If swan comes back it's to the fwd pocket.

For me its similar to the west coast game in that regard. They dominate centre clearance and don't care if they give up a few goals cause they know they get the ball back and have a good chance to counter immediately.

But that's just me being negative, and has nothing to do with us being able to turn potential into results after the same old same old for 5 years...

Hey Krak I agree with alot of your analysis but you only tell it from the negative. If I merge you with a poster like "bacbbuucks" I get the complete picture.

Last edited by courtza on Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:11 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:11 pm

KM with all due respect I think you are watching a different game to the rest of us.
See when I watch the pies play I look for improvement and positives and effort you seem t look for negatives and mistakes and equate that to bad coaching
We were -10 at centre clearances last night s very poor effort but at total clearances around the ground and centre bounce we broke even so they dominated the centre we dominated around the ground. Why's that ? Same players just different areas
We got back to within 11 points 3 times and on each occasion we had the opportunity to attack but turned it over with a poor mistake and bingo Adelaide score and it's back out to 3 goals again.
We were 5 goals down in the 1st term and lost by the same so for 3/4 of the game we matched them.
Did you listen to Pyke's presser last night when he was asked about his teams mistakes ? He said they came from relentless pressure from Collingwood
Look we have issues for sure and I have never said Buckely is a lock to be our coach going forward but you can't just blame everything bad that happens on the field on the coach because when everything goes right for us like last week you say it's because GWS had a huge training load (like you would have any idea what there training load would be)
It's obvious you don't like Buckley the coach we all get that and your dedication to blame him for everything is admirable really it is but sometimes you just have to say we went good enough against a side who has had 12 players play every game together this season thus creating cohesion against a team who has had 5 players play every game and can't keep the same side on the paddock 2 weeks in a row to build any cohesion
Leggie Aries

Bucks for PM.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:23 pm

The result showed where we are at right now with the talent on the park.
Take out the injuries we've had this year and put them on the park and we are a top 4 side.
The errors from the young brigade will gradually reduce and they will soon have 1, 2 and plus seasons under their belts.
I don't wallow in mediocrity. Is just look at the big picture realistically.
I picked us to win by 7 points but I always will tip us to win which is why, when the pies are down I'm a shit tipper. Haha.
Realistically we were a rough chance to roll the Cows but it was highly unlikely.
Anyhoo, my 2 cents worth.
Looking forward to next weeks game.

Go Pies.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:36 pm

Lost the game in the first quarter and played catch up after that. The team had a crack and whilst I am annoyed we lost I am not disappointed. One point raised last night was that we have only 5 players that have played all year and that is very clear in our game play. Let's bounce back and knock off the Roos. Razz

Yeah, I agree. The only thing that worried me last night was that, without Fasolo, we don't have a single player on our list capable of grabbing a game by the scruff of the neck and turning it in our favour. We lack a Dangerfield, a Rioli or an Eddie Betts. Our side plugged away all night, but we seem to be lacking the X factor or spark that can win a game when it's hard and tight. Even our best player and captain Pendles, rarely imposes himself on a game to win it for us, rather he is an accumulator and a link player throughout the game. Swan used to win games for us, and sometimes Elliott would too, but who knows whether either of them will ever play for us again?

I was thinking the same exact thing after the game last night.I think we have the makings of a pretty decent side,but it's not all there yet.We have the cake,but there's no icing on it at the moment.

We lack players with the x factor,players who can turn the game with one brilliant goal.If you take Eddie Betts out of their team last night and put him in ours,then we probably win the game.We're just lacking that sort of brilliance in the team,and it's really hurting us at the moment.
themonk 

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:41 pm

doriswilgus wrote:

I was thinking the same exact thing after the game last night.I think we have the makings of a pretty decent side,but it's not all there yet.We have the cake,but there's no icing on it at the moment.

We lack players with the x factor,players who can turn the game with one brilliant goal.If you take Eddie Betts out of their team last night and put him in ours,then we probably win the game.We're just lacking that sort of brilliance in the team,and it's really hurting us at the moment.

Our x factor players are Elliot, Fasolo & Swan Sad

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 7 of 9