Is it just me or does Sier look damn exciting?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:58 pm

It looks to me that we've gone for upside over more certain but less exciting prospects. Really like the pick, it's bold and with the chance to pay off handsomely.

Bit of a High Risk - High Reward Pick

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:35 pm

This kid will tear the house down, real goer, Hine did well here.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:51 pm

Hid him away ala Sean Rushing (gulp)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 1:46 pm

dalyc wrote:
Sier does look to have something.

The problem is that just looking at the highlights reel all players look great.

Case in point - Matthew Hayball - last player taken in the draft at 70.

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/video/2015-11-26/matthew-hayball-highlights

Based on this video you'd say he's courageous, a great contested mark, great kick for goal. Not knocking the kid but taken at 70 means he's got issues not shown in the reel.

While the AFL would never do it, for mug punters like us I'd like to see the lowlights reel for each player. Then you'd see their areas for improvement.
Whilst true that highlights can be deceiving, it's worth taking in to account that all the highlights shown for Sier are from a measly 2 games. Most kids highlight videos are from an entire season and even then a lot aren't as impressive.

The thing I loved the most in that video of Sier though, was his clean hands. There was 2 or 3 times where he ran through a pack, and scooped up the ball with one hand like it was no big deal, then fire off a handball to a moving team mate after deciding the first option wasn't the best one. You can't teach that. Really excited to watch this kid develop.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:13 pm

Yes it is you & he does look damn exciting Wink

FWIW: Dr at work today (Mad Melbourne supporter) reckons their recruiting bloke Taylor (ex Collingwood) claims we have got a ripper in Sier.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:31 pm

At this stage he looks like a very strong kid, a good size and some good speed all of which are very handy attributes indeed.

Wills is another who might surprise, he is a big bodied, agile mid.
Robbie 

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 12:51 am
Post subject: Good One.Reply with quote

Bob Sugar wrote:
Let's hope Bill Davorkian doesn't stuff him up!

I believe Davorkian will stick and well done. My only hope is that the Board put the same degree of attention on the Overpaid Bill.

Rick Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:50 am

I reckon there's a bit of Luke Hodge in the way he plays based on his highlight reel.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 7:48 am

Yes it is you & he does look damn exciting Wink

FWIW: Dr at work today (Mad Melbourne supporter) reckons their recruiting bloke Taylor (ex Collingwood) claims we have got a ripper in Sier.

Can't see all the fuss - can't even get a good look at the face!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jaqymceidB8

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:47 pm

Came stone motherless in the time trial.

Cuthbert Collingwood Aquarius

Once was on fire, now all at sea

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:20 pm

^ Bob Sour today eh?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:39 am

Bob Sugar wrote:

And a 17 year old kid with next to zero exposure to elite junior training regimes and openly acknowledged by the club as coming from a long way back should perform how exactly?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:01 am

Bob Sugar wrote:

What were you expecting from a kid who had only played 2 TAC cup games this year? I'm genuinely curious.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:21 am

I don't think BS does realistic expectations............... Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:49 am

We just need Carro to say we've made a monumental mistake. Please Caroline, go on.

Page 2 of 6