Pass mark for Nathan Buckley in 2016

In order to gain a contract extension what does Collingwood have to achieve at a minimum in 2016?
Win a final
27%
 27%  [ 24 ]
Make finals
50%
 50%  [ 44 ]
10 or more wins
5%
 5%  [ 5 ]
Give him a contract extension now and reassess at the end of 2017
17%
 17%  [ 15 ]
Total Votes : 88

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:40 pm

^I still think we were 'robbed' in the 2012 PF. Umpiring favoured them incredibly is my recollection.

Not forgetting jetta's 100m run with 3 bounces....

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 2:15 pm

I can't give a hard line rule for this. Too many intangibles. so haven't voted.

Quite simply, we need to see the pendulum swinging back up. We can't accept a 2nd half season drop off. There needs to be a building in performance.

Significant injuries aside. it should see more wins and a finals berth. But results are not everything. More important to see us building the footy brand. Don't want to see a complete reliance on tackling to win games. But see our transitions becoming far more of a weapon.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:30 pm

For me, it's not about ladder position but how we compete. I think it's going to be a very difficult season. We will be better (as we were this year compared to last), but there are a lot of teams in and around our standing. 2015 was an even season and I think 2016 will be even more so, even just making the finals will take a dose of good fortune.

We'll be in the mix along with all of Dogs, Tigers, Kangas, Giants, Suns, Bombers, Power, Crows, Cats, Hawks, Swans, Dockers. Eagles... I can't definitively say where we do or should stand among this list, so while missing finals would be disappointing I don't see it as an automatic trigger for sacking the coach, a more detailed analysis would be needed at the time.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 6:46 pm

AnthonyC wrote:
^I still think we were 'robbed' in the 2012 PF. Umpiring favoured them incredibly is my recollection.

Not forgetting jetta's 100m run with 3 bounces....

Winning that game only would have netted us another GF loss. We would have had zero chance against the Hawks.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:08 pm

35forever wrote:
NOTHING is enough!
The only reason he is still there is the absolute stupidity of members who aren't heading for the Holden Centre with pitchforks and lit brands!
4 years!!!
we've gone from minor premier in MMs last two years, we were NOT told to expect ANYTHING except a continuation of same, and yet we've gone to 4th 7th 11th and now what? 12?
After proving he couldn’t coach quite conclusively in his first two seasons, he & the bullshit artists at CFC came up with "rebuilding" and "5 year plans"!

The most amazing part of it all is that you morons keep believing it!!!!

Who wants to bet their house we do no better next year!? If things go really well its 7th and out in week 1, if not its 15th and Swan and Pendles are a year older!

WHATEVER happens they’ve cost us 2 flags and allowed Carlton and Essendon a years head start!

the morons have been wondering where you have been since the win last night.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:11 pm

Im right bloody here mate, don't worry about that!
Jayzuz! if anything Friday night proved 100% what I've been saying ALL year! Go back and look!
How many times did I say that kicking was the reason we weren't in the top 4, the top 2 in fact! How many times did I say it was all mental and Buckley doesn’t understand the mental game?
And there we have it! The first time the game truly means nothing, we truly couldn’t make the finals even mathematically, and seven goals sail straight over the umpires hat! Not a single miss! (the one behind was rushed by Geelong players).

This team has one of the best lists in the game. If we get Aish and Treloar, (and don't lose 2 or 3 guys) we ARE the best list by a MILE! At least bucks DOES get that the modern game is all about the mids (and a few of the best talls). Who has a midfield the eqiuvalent of;

Pendlebury, Swan, Sidebottom, Taylor Adams, Levi Greenwood, Crisp, Varcoe, De Goey, Grundy, Marley, Langdon, Sharenberg, Maynard, (yes, even our backs are mids!) Fasolo, Elliot, Marsh, and add Treloar, Aish, Kennedy, Freeman to come.
We have three lines of excellent mids NOW! But because they are young, they have confidence problems which only maturity or specialised training and coaching can fix.

If we wait for maturity, we'll have lost some of our best, including the best centre since Daicos, We NEED someone who gets the mental side of the game, and we can win in 2016, leave things as they are and we wait until 2020, if were lucky.
It really is that simple!!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:39 pm

Having said all that, a coach's quality only has a slight relationship with win/loss ratios and ladder positions. That's what makes this poll a little shallow – it should never be about winning x number of games. If Clinton Young hadn't dropped that mark against Gold Coast last year and we'd snuck into the finals as a result, would that have made Buckley a better coach? Obviously not. No club would (or at least should) make a decision based on something so superficial.

Agree, David. WL ratios do matter, but equally what matters will be something that we, as fans, can barely discern - the confidence and development of key players and the quality of the feeling in the club. What Cam Mooney said is wise, and it's rooted in how football really works at this level. Young players take time, young teams take time, and they eventually click, as long as they continue to believe. Sometimes it can be hard to know just when it'll happen. That's why i'm in the review at end 2017 camp, unless i see evidence of a player revolt in the meantime. Richmond could have dumped Hardwick any time in the last few years. That they did not suggests to me that they have learned from their historic mistakes, amd we should learn from their mistakes as well.

Well said. Not a fan of setting arbitrary targets, particularly when the basis is something as basic as win - loss ratios. Buckley will be quite rightly reviewed at the end of this season (as should happen every year) and justifiably receive a contract extension.

I agree with all of that. As well, it's worth noting that despite our failure to make the finals again, there is not a single murmur of dissension in the ranks. In fact all the vibes are extremely positive and there appears to be a complete buy in by the players with Bucks' coaching.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 6:38 pm

I think if anything the game against the cats showed we have a young talented list. If I had told you we would beat the cats by around 9 goals in the preseason and asked you how many goals did Pendles Swan Cloke contribute to the win what would your answer had been ?
Look our best all season (even in losses) has been very good. 6 losses by less than 2 goals to teams above us on the ladder proves we are competitive.
As I said before win half those we are on 52 points or around 5/6th and everyone would be praising Bucks and giving him 5yr extensions.
I said before I think when he decided to try to chsnge the culture in 2012 the clean out went deeper than he expected.
I think losing Shaw and Beams wasn't in his original planning and both were setbacks.
2014 was a complete write off with injuries
We have really started and stopped in our rebuild progress a couple times but it's now in full swing.
Our list is gathering depth. We have some very talented youngsters who are slowly getting experience working together as a team.
If there is one thing we don't need is the media heaping pressure on a young group saying if they don't win X number of games the coach is gone.
Give him a 1 or 2yr extension over the off season and tell him there goals that must be met (not only W/L but other factors)
Give him a the playing group some certainty and set them free to see what they can achieve.
Worst scenario is we go backwards and pay out his contract and move on
Best scenario he succeeds we win finals games and push towards a premiership

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:18 pm

Chris Scott said on Friday that he doesn't know where the Cats are at. Coming into next season they are in a group of about 14 teams that will be a genuine finals chance. I agree with this and think the same can be said for us. Some good fortune and we can make top 8, maybe even top 4, a bit of bad fortune and missing the 8 is possible and not necessarily a disaster.

Last edited by AN_Inkling on Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:23 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:22 pm

Chris Scott said on Friday that he doesn't know where the Cats are at. Coming into next season they are in a group of about 14 teams that will be a genuine finals chance. I agree with this and think the same can be said for us. Some good fortune and we can make top 8, maybe even top 4, a bit of bad fortune and missing the 8 is possible and necessarily a disaster.

But where do you think we'll finish inky? Don't be shy. No-one will pounce on you if you're wrong. Go on, you can do it... Wink

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:24 pm

Chris Scott said on Friday that he doesn't know where the Cats are at. Coming into next season they are in a group of about 14 teams that will be a genuine finals chance. I agree with this and think the same can be said for us. Some good fortune and we can make top 8, maybe even top 4, a bit of bad fortune and missing the 8 is possible and necessarily a disaster.

But where do you think we'll finish inky? Don't be shy. No-one will pounce on you if you're wrong. Go on, you can do it... Wink

I thought I just said. Somewhere between 4-14. Not specific enough? Very Happy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:29 pm

I thought I just said. Somewhere between 4-14. Not specific enough? Very Happy

You're nothing if not consistent inky. A good call by the way. Wink
Dangles 

Balmey Army

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:54 pm

"It's tough to make predictions, especially about the future" Yogi Berra

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:32 pm

Barring a 2014 injury repeat I would hope between 4-10
Also thinking backwards to 2011 and going forward we have rebuilt well considering we were working with a compromised draft
Our top 2 draft picks of 2013 didn't feature at all basically in 2014 (Freeman still yet to play a senior game and Scharenberg has played 3 or 4)
Scharenberg is yet to have a AFL preseason
Reid is basically a new player now after missing the best part of 2 seasons
There far more positives than negatives when being fair minded looking at our current list and position.
We are competitive and have a young list (fielded 4th youngest side on Friday night) so there's a upside
I'm bullish about our future and it takes time to develop young players.
Roo's on 350 then just said when he was asked how would he spend the new found wealth from the new broadcast rights he said narrowing the gap between AFL and TAC cup/state leagues. He commented in the under age game and state league players run around 10-12klms in AFL that goes up to 15klms and that's a huge leap. He said the gulf is massive and only a hand full of kids can make that transition with ease. He said then how long have a the Suns been in ? 5yrs ? And there yet to play finals when many experts in the media said they would win a comp now

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:02 pm

A loss to a bottom 4 side to end the year.

1 win against a side who finished in the top 8.

Last year it was 5.

2 wins out of our last 11 games.

1 worse than last year.

Coach officially on notice.

Finals are a must in 2016.

Page 5 of 7