Goodes: Why am I Booed?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Other AFL

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:30 pm
Post subject: Goodes: Why am I Booed?Reply with quote

"SYDNEY Swans great Adam Goodes says he is "incredibly disappointed" he gets booed in Melbourne and has no idea why it happens"

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-05-26/goodes-doesnt-understand-why-he-is-being-booed-in-melbourne

Can you believe this flog? His head is so far up his own backside he can't work out why he gets booed

Mr Goodes, this has nothing to do with racism. Footy fans are sick of your whinging to umpires and staging for frees. You also have long history of dropping your knees into the kidneys of opponents at stoppages. A class act you are.

I expect all fellow magpie fans to boo this tosser without mercy when we play them next. What a jerk!
Darkstranger 

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:32 pm

He gets booed because he is a acting, cheat dirty playing flog....I think I've covered it?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:35 pm
Post subject: HmmmReply with quote

So you think this fine Australian of the Year is a flog? What right does a peasant like you have to judge someone as respected as Adam Goodes. Racism is alive and well on here.

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:37 pm
Post subject: Re: HmmmReply with quote

Hiss wrote:
So you think this fine Australian of the Year is a flog? What right does a peasant like you have to judge someone as respected as Adam Goodes. Racism is alive and well on here.

you are a flog. that's not based on your race. it's just, you are one.

Cuthbert Collingwood Aquarius

Once was on fire, now all at sea

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:49 pm

I've never known why Goodes is booed. Please enlighten me with actual reasons as opposed to sweeping generalisations.

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:56 pm

I posted about this on the AFL Board.

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:56 pm

Hiss wrote:

You Just Figured that out Shocked

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 6:58 pm

Why does any player get booed?
It could be a multitude of reasons.
It may be because he is not playing
for their team.
I don't believe it is racism based.
I hope it isn't racist.
I suspect it maybe because he
seen as a bit of a sook.

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:00 pm

Hiss wrote:

You Just Figured that out Shocked

lol dave.

players get booed for any number of reasons.

judd gets booed probably for his chicken wing antics.
watson got booed cos of the drug saga.
daisy gets booed for playing for the flogs.

Golden Gordon Libra

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:07 pm

Hawthorn fans are the worst at booing Goodes. Patrick Smith said this morning it was because he is indigenous. Rubbish. There are lots of indigenous players who get cheers every week. He gets booed because he stages, but people also will not forgive him for picking on a little girl to make his over-the-top point about racism in footy.

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:10 pm

I personally do not think that that the principle reason being booed is raciest.

Goodes is very judgemental and is very critical of the behaviour of others. Some of this criticism is well founded. At the same time his behaviour on field does not reflect the lofty standards he demands of others. The girl he ostracised was very poor form. His behaviour on field is questionable especially when he defied the umpires to suspend him by contravening the rules and continually playing for and demanding free kicks in his favour.

He has been a fantastic player but being favoured by the umpires does not go well with many. I do not think him deserving of 2 Brownlow medals.

leonmagic Pisces

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:11 pm

Same reason Nick Riewoldt, Judd, Goddard, L.Thomas, Franklin, B.Hall, Lewis, Didak, Liberatore, Richo and Hird are/were boo'd.

Wait, most of them are white...

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:22 pm

Golden Gordon wrote:
Hawthorn fans are the worst at booing Goodes. Patrick Smith said this morning it was because he is indigenous. Rubbish. There are lots of indigenous players who get cheers every week. He gets booed because he stages, but people also will not forgive him for picking on a little girl to make his over-the-top point about racism in footy.

and Walking around like he owns the Place and we all should love him Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:30 pm

Goodes is booed I believe because he is aboriginal - successful - outspoken - pointed out a racist remark and was given australian of the year honours. He unearthed some unsavoury remarks from Eddie and seems to bring out the worst in some.

I don't think he is that dirty a player or as much of a diver or sook as many others who are not booed. He is a good player - a very good player and he is a leader.

Could be a little bit of tall poppy syndrome mixed with some overt or subconscious racism imo.

mattys123 

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 7:38 pm

yin-YANG wrote:
Goodes is booed I believe because he is aboriginal - successful - outspoken - pointed out a racist remark and was given australian of the year honours. He unearthed some unsavoury remarks from Eddie and seems to bring out the worst in some.

I don't think he is that dirty a player or as much of a diver or sook as many others who are not booed. He is a good player - a very good player and he is a leader.

Could be a little bit of tall poppy syndrome mixed with some overt or subconscious racism imo.

That just about sums it up, and I don't think for one second it's Goodes' fault.

He is booed more for the fact that he was made Australian of the year based on pointing out a comment a 13 year old girl made.

Rather silly when you think about it, if that's the qualification for maybe our greatest annual honour. That wasn't his fault though, someone else nominated him, and a panel of someone elses chose him.

I don't boo him, but I don't like him, and that's got nothing to do with racism or anything else, he is arrogant, that's my belief, and he is a very sore loser. Don't like that at all.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Other AFL All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 1 of 13