What made you happy today?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 549, 550, 551 ... 864, 865, 866  Next

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 7:30 pm

3.14159 wrote:
I got THE best news I've had for months todae.
Last weak I started hearing that my neighbour from hell is packing up and moving to Portsea.
I trusted my sources but I wasn't going to let my self get two exited till I saw with it my own eyes.
Yesterdae a car with a trailer took some of her crap and a few friends told me she is going.
There is a furniture van there right now.
EF me this the sort wishful thinking I've been trying to stop my self from and BANG! It's like a dream come true!!!
I still have to front court some time next year but todae my heart is soaring like an eagle!

So it looks Like yours truly is staying exactly where he is! Cool

That's fantastic news 3 - best Chrissy present ever eh! Very Happy

She is someone else's problem now Cool

3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 8:49 pm

Thanks everyone.
They tell me she'll be up for the next 2 weak-ends but gone for good after that.
I've had so much support from the people in this town it's unbelievable.
I feel like a huge weight has been lifted.
But I now have this olde 2CWT (about a 110+ Kilos) Blacksmiths anvil sitting on wobbly old trunk in my tiny garage.
My back aches just thinking about it...
KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:36 pm

Good on ya 3 really pleased for you!

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:06 pm

3.14159 wrote:
Thanks everyone.
They tell me she'll be up for the next 2 weak-ends but gone for good after that.
I've had so much support from the people in this town it's unbelievable.
I feel like a huge weight has been lifted.
But I now have this olde 2CWT (about a 110+ Kilos) Blacksmiths anvil sitting on wobbly old trunk in my tiny garage.
My back aches just thinking about it...

cwt = hundred weight? Shit I haven't heard that term in a long time.

I took some weights over to my sons place yesterday. Plastic box, put all the weights and bars inside, has wheels on the bottom, weighed around 70kg,

Pulling it up the back stairs one handed was good cardio.
Lifting it out of the boot one handed hurt.
Watching the sons face when he tried to lift it one handed, got it a few inches off the ground , eyebrows lifted further, noice

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:23 pm

What's wrong with your other hand!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:34 am

The handle part wasn't big enough to get two hands on it.
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:24 am

Sounds like you need smaller hands,... or a bigger handle! Wink
~~~
That anvil is very old and heavy and hundred weights (CWT) is how they were measured.

~ I had to put a cable around it and drag it out of the barn with the ute.
We managed to lift it onto a tractor jack with an improvised ramp but the lift was about 4 inches short of my tailgate.
We dug a hole under the first jack and put another underneath, jacked the jack up and winched it on the back.

On the upside, for the first time in months my tailgate closes properly. Razz

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:29 pm

Should be happy but I'm in a CBF state. Got a call this arvo letting me know the guest list for Christmas Day has gone from 3 to 8.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:47 pm

^ oh buggar!

I am very happy - not a Christmas decoration anywhere to be seen in our place - not having the freeloaders this year so I don't have to cook ( mum not feeling up to it this year so just cooking her pork and ham for her to enjoy at her leisure ) and it will just be hubby and I and the girls and our adopted son Sam cat - aka Freddy Freeloader

Bought 1/2 dozen decent reds and a shipload of salad making ingredients and we will enjoy the days off building a deck out the back.

Boxing Day test

Pure bliss!!!!

Except for the God botherers over the back fence warbling in bad tone as they do - prepared for that - got the hose ready Razz

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:24 pm

1061 wrote:
Should be happy but I'm in a CBF state. Got a call this arvo letting me know the guest list for Christmas Day has gone from 3 to 8.

ive got 20-25, hence the steak and lindt ball dinner! fear and loathing setting in!!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:14 am

back in gainful employment. accepted a contract with dept of ed. should be an interesting experience given they sound like a department still stuck in the dark ages in the way they operate.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:28 am

back in gainful employment. accepted a contract with dept of ed. should be an interesting experience given they sound like a department still stuck in the dark ages in the way they operate.

State I assume?

Take a deep breath and prepare for the bureaucracy.

You won't really notice it at first, until you actually want to get something done.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:51 am

State I assume?

Take a deep breath and prepare for the bureaucracy.

You won't really notice it at first, until you actually want to get something done.

yeah, state level, deecd. i have been given a heads up about some of the challenges i might face.

strangely enough, i used to regularly walk past their offices on treasury place and wonder what it'd be like to work there. now i am about to find out.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:02 am

Maybe you can be in charge of organising school trips.

They didn't do trips like this when I went to school.

Shocked

SEVEN girls, aged 13 to 15, have fallen pregnant after a five-day school trip to their countrys capital city and their parents are being blamed.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/lifestyle/seven-girls-fall-pregnant-after-five-day-school-trip-in-bosnia-and-herzegovina/story-fnixw28f-1227164641066?sv=872e789505e1fdbda44e662524ef2ff7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:08 am

Congratulations.

My brother will reach 40 years of teaching next year. I asked him if he's going to get his gong from head office. He said nah f*ck them, they're the cnuts that he's been fighting for the last 39 years!!

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 549, 550, 551 ... 864, 865, 866  Next
Page 550 of 866