Levi Greenwood

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:50 pm
Post subject: Levi GreenwoodReply with quote

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/new-magpie-levi-greenwood-keen-to-perform-in-afl-20141022-119u12.

An article about our latest midfield star, for those interested.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:04 pm

No article?
Captain_MyCaptain Leo

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:17 pm

Try this.

Levi Greenwood admits the heat is on after his AFL trade from North Melbourne to Collingwood.

The onballer joined the Magpies on a lucrative four-year deal after finishing third in North's best and fairest count this season.

"They've shown the faith of four years in me - it puts the pressure back on me and I definitely want to give something back," he said.

North wanted to keep Greenwood, but he felt greater scope to play through the midfield at Collingwood.

"There's an opportunity in the midfield for me, full-time," he said.

"Even though I had a full season at North, I did find I was getting pushed out (of the midfield) a little bit."

Magpies coach Nathan Buckley said they would have recruited Greenwood even if they had not lost fellow onballer Dayne Beams.

It was a big trade period for Collingwood, with Beams and Heritier Lumumba leaving.

The Pies recruited Greenwood, Geelong's Travis Varcoe and Brisbane youngster Jack Crisp.

Buckley was philosophical about losing Beams, a premiership player and best and fairest winner.

Beams went to Brisbane, citing family reasons.

"I'm not in the habit of talking people into playing for Collingwood," Buckley said of Beams.

"We have three blokes sitting next to me who have worn other guernseys (Greenwood, Varcoe and Crisp)... but want to be here."

Beams changed clubs with a year left on his contract.

"That's footy, isn't it? It's happening more and more," Buckley said.

"But ... it comes back to creating an environment that people want to be at."

Collingwood will cross paths with Beams in round one next season, when the two sides play at the Gabba.

"I'm sure you'll make something of that," Buckley said with a grin.

"They're one of 17 opponents we'll face throughout the season."

AAP

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/new-magpie-levi-greenwood-keen-to-perform-in-afl-20141022-119u12.html

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:24 pm

Just came out of Canberra times website
Very good article and as NB said Beams did,nt want to play for Pies
but three blokes here do
Bring on the Bears--errrrr!! Lions

themonk 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 5:43 am

barrybc41 wrote:
Just came out of Canberra times website
Very good article and as NB said Beams did,nt want to play for Pies
but three blokes here do
Bring on the Bears--errrrr!! Lions

Further evidence that it was less about dad & more about Collingwood & money?
collie dog 

RIP Shelby 11-10-13

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:18 am

Geez anyone's a star these days, even North Melbourne rejects. Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:07 am

Equal second in their best and fairest. He's a North Melbourne "reject" like Beams is a Collingwood reject, just better-performed over the last 12 months.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:37 am

collie dog wrote:

You wouldn't call Gibson a roo reject or Lake a dog reject would you Colllie!

If you are not rejected you are not a reject - pretty simple... will see however a lot of 'rejects' at the next federal election Smile

skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 pm

collie dog wrote:

Thanks for your dedicated support for our club Collie. Brown dog says gday!

images56346CZZ.jpg

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:26 pm

collie dog wrote:

Yep and posts like this aren't intended to piss off other posters and derail threads are they?

I'll do the right thing and not insult this particular person as I was asked to do but it's about time the pin was pulled on this particular person and this latest alt of theirs.

In the words of the late Gough "It's time" mods.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:58 pm

collie dog wrote:

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:07 pm

I might be a bit naive, but it means a lot to me as a supporter of the the club, when our three Collingwood recruits present to the media and express a strong desire to be at the club. Up to this point, I wasn't a strong supporter of us recruiting Varcoe to the club, but I'm changing my tune now as I watch the interviews unfold. I'm impressed by the maturity shown by all three recruits.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:12 pm

Flashman wrote:
collie dog wrote:

Yep and posts like this aren't intended to piss off other posters and derail threads are they?

I'll do the right thing and not insult this particular person as I was asked to do but it's about time the pin was pulled on this particular person and this latest alt of theirs.

I have "it" on ignore but that serves little purpose when the thread takes a left turn in response to collie flogs bullshit.

Seriously mods.....enough is enough. Time to put the dog down.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:19 pm

Flashman wrote:
collie dog wrote:

+1 Serial pest. Not sure why this antagonist is not removed from circulation either.
Difference of opinion is one thing, but a desire to incite a reaction is another.

skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:02 pm
Post subject: Plea to ModsReply with quote

One of the reasons I don't post or read Nicks as often now. Place used to buzz with enthusiasm, vibrance ,occasionally humourous. Still asked hard questions and relevant critism of players, coach and club as warranted, BUT in a constructive way. Too much in fighting, personal attacks and BLATENT goating of fellow posters into negative arguments (All meant to be in the Collingwood family). I havnt pulled the pin (and don't want to), but could the Mods be a little more pro active in perhaps the red card area for blatent breaches. We all know the antagonists, and not having a go at you guys by any means, it must be a tough gig and I commend you for it. Hope this place straightens itself up a bit. I miss a lot of the older posters, whom I have noticed have dropped off quite significantly. P.S feel free to move this post as fit. Cheers Rob