What pisses you off?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 533, 534, 535 ... 717, 718, 719  Next

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:25 pm

^ think there is a lot of merit in that - have driven heaps in Europe and the difference with trucks having to do less kph and staying in what we would call the " slow lane" makes driving much more enjoyable - never been tail gated by a truck unlike here! I reckon some of them get bored and decide to have some fun - or maybe they are just cowboys (and yes many car drivers are dipshites who don't understand a truck needs more distance to stop etc)

When I lived in NT working in the remote communities the truckies and their unique game of chicken they liked to play was so just soooo much fun - NOT!

sixpoints 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:54 pm

I would defy anyone not to feel nervy driving down the single lane that is Moore St Footscray with a B Double in front of you and another right on your rear & one coming up towards you on the other side of the road. This is just about the worst driving conditions imaginable.
Moore St links Hopkins St (from the docks) to Ballarat Rd and is nothing more than a glorified single lane side street that takes every form of vehicle possible since it is an OD Route.
You should see the craziness of them trying to take the sharp turn into Moore off Hopkins St (Franco Cozzo corner) Ive even seen one not negotiate the corner correctly and get himself stuck.
The roads aren't the truckies fault, but geez they act like they own the road and drive too aggresively. They no doubt hate the stretch as much as anyone, but they're in the monster trucks and I'm not!

Last edited by sixpoints on Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:04 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:55 pm

Compared to what?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:47 pm

from my tiny VW! !

Stopped reading there, VW Drivers are an interesting set.
partypie 

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:50 am

The trucks on Melbournes roads scare the crap out of me! I'm with you TP. They are worse than any of the other places where I have driven.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:33 am

sixpoints wrote:
I would defy anyone not to feel nervy driving down the single lane that is Moore St Footscray with a B Double in front of you and another right on your rear & one coming up towards you on the other side of the road. This is just about the worst driving conditions imaginable.
Moore St links Hopkins St (from the docks) to Ballarat Rd and is nothing more than a glorified single lane side street that takes every form of vehicle possible since it is an OD Route.
You should see the craziness of them trying to take the sharp turn into Moore off Hopkins St (Franco Cozzo corner) Ive even seen one not negotiate the corner correctly and get himself stuck.
The roads aren't the truckies fault, but geez they act like they own the road and drive too aggresively. They no doubt hate the stretch as much as anyone, but they're in the monster trucks and I'm not!

The trucks around that part of footscray, and down Francis street, combined with the lovely choppy roads are just a nightmare! Glad there's a new office works, no more trying to get out of the one on Melbourne rd, and trying to get straight over to the right lane to get on the west gate!

My daughter won't go there anymore, and if it wasn't for a good observant truckie, both of us mightn't be here! When she was new on her L plates she was turning right into office works, with a big semi coming at us, and I said just wait in the middle,, it's ok, and she hit the wrong peddle! We landed in the middle of the right lane on the wrong side of the road, and the semi stopped within inches of us! He was great. He saw the L plate and just waited. It was peak hour, so the road was jammed, I had to get in the drivers seat and get the car of of there, oh man that was a scotch day!

I'm sure when they are sitting on your bumper, they are confident they can stop if something goes wrong. Problem is, we jam the brakes on, the car stops very quickly, the truck need to react, then stop, and as pointed out above, it takes longer for them to stop. We've all seen the shows about truck crashes, and seen the carnage on the news. It's terrifying seeing the big grille in your rear vision mirror. Terrifying being boxed in on the west gate. I make sure I stay back, I don't crowd them on corners, or try and dive in on corners, or changing lanes. In return, I'd like to see a little sky in my rear Vision mirror, thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:50 pm

This morning could have gone a lot better, being so confused with stuff is really getting to me.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 3:22 am

Mountains Magpie wrote:
The incessant ads on TV for Dancing With The Stars. To paraphrase Jim Morrison, they're all a bunch of %$#@ing slaves.

Did i miss the bit where david rodan became an AFL superstar.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 4:10 pm

ronrat wrote:
Mountains Magpie wrote:
The incessant ads on TV for Dancing With The Stars. To paraphrase Jim Morrison, they're all a bunch of %$#@ing slaves.

Did i miss the bit where david rodan became an AFL superstar.

I've never watched the show but saw a list of the "stars". I seriously had to Google most of them. They really are scraping the bottom of the "star" barrel with this season....

#SIDEBYSIDE

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:36 pm

Drivers in and around Gleorchy and Moonah are starting to piss me off... in the past in Glenorchy we'd park near Centro Glenorchy and they'd park and hit the car from behind and not say shit... So today parents took me into the city to grab the birthday present I ordered with the gift card Laura gave me. As we were going through Moonah a car almost slammed into the side of the car. Freaked the hell out of me as it would have slammed right into where I was sitting.

They slammed on the brakes in time they were looking to turn the corner without looking near the servo. Certainly scared the shit out of me that's for sure.

Drivers in the city haven't been that good either, but shit least they kinda look where they are going from time to time. :\

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:40 pm

Where did Parents take him or her into the city to grab the birthday present he or she ordered with the gift card Laura gave him or her?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:17 pm

Oooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

My body hurts. Sad

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:12 am

Oooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

My body hurts. Sad
suck it up princess!

Did you finish the job at least? Razz

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 6:45 am

Yep.

Geez I'm stiff this morning though.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 6:54 am

Lay off the night time Viagra

And stop bragging!

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 533, 534, 535 ... 717, 718, 719  Next
Page 534 of 719