Congratulations to Corey Gault on his debut game

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:01 am

Thought it was a really impressive first game by Corey. He did some good things at ground level, while in the ruck, as well as the two goals.
Another positive to merge from the season from hell, along with Langdon, Frost, Broomhead, Elliott, Witts (thought he more than held his own tongiht), Adams. Hope Freeman comes up next year, along with Marsh. Would expect improvement from Grundy, Kennedy, Thomas..

Have faith and patience, folks. In two to three year's times, I reckon we'll be beating the Hawks on a regular basis. Looking forward to see what the draft brings.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:02 am

He seems smart, definitely a keeper.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:07 am

A lot has changed in 12 months. Smile

http://m.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2013-11-14/magpies-delist-gault

Onya Corey. Can't wait to see him on the park as a regular in 2015.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:16 am

Well done Corey. Looks the part. Good grab, good leap - needs to widen the vision but a good debut.
slangman 

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:29 am

He showed more in his one game than Blair, lumumba, white and young have shown all year.
SteveH67 

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:47 am

[quote="David"]A lot has changed in 12 months. :)

Onya Corey. Can't wait to see him on the park as a regular in 2015.[/quote]

I forgot about this, so he was redrafted because last years draft was shallow.

I hope he didn't get a game last night, simply because we had no-one else.

I thought he showed enough to deserve a shot.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:58 am

SteveH67 wrote:
A lot has changed in 12 months. Smile

Onya Corey. Can't wait to see him on the park as a regular in 2015.

I forgot about this, so he was redrafted because last years draft was shallow.

I hope he didn't get a game last night, simply because we had no-one else.

I thought he showed enough to deserve a shot.

got a game on merit. has shown good vfl form. the club could easily have given lynch a farewell game.

bwphantom Virgo

It's Better to Burn Out Than to Fade Away

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:10 am

A positive for him. He went almost unnoticed by Hawks defence until he bobbed up and kicked a couple of goals. They then played tight on him and in some cases double teamed him. I dunno about you but that is a great accolade. I liked how Buckley tried him in the ruck , and he showed can mix it up. He has a lot to learn but can take a lot of positives from his debut.

Jock McHale
slangman 

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:16 am

A key forward showing promise. Haven't seen that in a few years at the Pies.
His progression will be pivotal for us next year.
Even if he only shows slight improvement, the pressure that he will take off Cloke and put on White will be enormous for us.

Along with Darcy Moore (hopefully) we will be putting together the forward line of the future

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:23 pm

Long term fan. Looked off the pace but 2 goals isn't a bad performance against quality opposition. A full pre season and we'll see what he can do in 2015.

Looks like we may have to make a bit of room on the bandwagon mate, it's been a bit lonely with just you and me. Wink

OEP Pisces

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:41 pm

Long term fan. Looked off the pace but 2 goals isn't a bad performance against quality opposition. A full pre season and we'll see what he can do in 2015.

Looks like we may have to make a bit of room on the bandwagon mate, it's been a bit lonely with just you and me. Wink

Better get a bigger bandwagon mate because after that performance I think a lot of people will be jumping on it.

Loved what I saw from him in the first half and then in the second half, for different reasons. In the first half he was strong at the contest, showed very good hands in the marking contest and good strength, plus after his first kick going out on the full he could've dropped his head but instead sought to make amends and kicked a goal. In the second half he was obviously running on fumes but even so kept on giving his best effort, a few times I watched chase after a player he was never going to catch or run to a contest he was never going to make but his 100% effort to get to them anyway was an excellent sign for his future.

Would be more than a little miffed if he wasn't on the Collingwood list next year.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:51 pm

Onya Stui. I've been watching the progress of your boy this year 'coz any intelligent Nickster knows that Stui Magpie is a better than decent judge of talent, and it's great to see him debut at last and do well. Match v Hawthorn and standing Brian Lake as your first AFL opponent: from here on, Corey, your career gets easier. Smile

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:19 pm

... standing Brian Lake as your first AFL opponent: from here on, Corey, your career gets easier. Smile

Oh? I thought wanker Lake played on White, and Princess Schoenmakers went to Gault? But i turned TV off at half time though...

If he drops dead now he's got me covered, 1 game and 2 goals for Collingwood.

And if you can't kick a goal with your first kick in AFL, then get one with your second!

Certainly better debut than Brent Hall's in 2004, and on a par with Jackson Paine's.

Dyso

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:27 pm

how many gault threads should we expect from you?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2014 8:26 pm

how many gault threads should we expect from you?

hah, not many, not my style.

I saw something in the kid early on and i was stubborn enough to hang onto that. Where he goes from here is in the area of converting potential to productivity, so I'll be out. Wink