What did you learn today?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 14, 15, 16  Next

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:01 pm

Morrigu wrote:
That one Stui Magpie seems to have acquired an unhealthy fascination with emoticons Shocked Laughing

nah, just taking the P155 where I can. Razz

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:21 pm

Her: I'm really depressed. I've thought and thought, but no matter how I do it, that junction between the guttering and the downpipe won't work.

Me: Leave it to me. I've worked out a method which will be fine. I'll take care of it for you on the weekend.

Her: How are you going to do it? It won't work.

Me: (list materials, explain method in as much detail as seems sensible.

Her: It won't work.

Me: I'm confident that I can do it. It will be fine.

Me: I don't see why not. We have got all the tools and materials. It should be a bit tedious in detail but quite straightforward.

Her: But it won't work.

Me: Why not?

Her: it just won't.

Me: But why not?

Her. It just won't. The metal is too hard.

Me: It will be fine. I can bend it with my bare hands.

Her: no you can't.

Me: I've done it before, with my hands. I can bend it. Anyway, I plan to use a hammer. That won't be a problem.

Her: But it springs back.

Me: yes, that's why we need to use a clamp.

Her: but it won't work.

Her: Look, stop arguing with me. It won't work.

So what have I learned today? I dunno. Probably not much.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:35 pm

Her: I'm really depressed. I've thought and thought, but no matter how I do it, that junction between the guttering and the downpipe won't work.

Me: Leave it to me. I've worked out a method which will be fine. I'll take care of it for you on the weekend.

Me: I don't see why not. We have got all the tools and materials. It should be a bit tedious in detail but quite straightforward.

Me: I've done it before, with my hands. I can bend it. Anyway, I plan to use a hammer. That won't be a problem.

You learned that arguing with 'her' is an exercise in futility and sometimes logic and rationality are total strangers to some individuals. Just bet her $100 it'll work (or whatever you want) and see if the argument continues.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:35 pm

**** that, it won't work, one less job to do!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:32 pm

Wokko wrote:
You learned that ... sometimes logic and rationality are total strangers to some individuals

Gosh! Now there is something. Obviously, I need to get out more, I'd never have learned that here on Nick's BBS. Shocked

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:11 pm

I just learned that your female acquaintance works for me Shocked . Well, at least with that attitude it sure as hell sounds like she's one of the ones in the area we're taking through a change process.

My suggestion is to stop arguing and just do it. If you fail, you will hear the words "I told you it wouldn't work" repeatedly until the day you die. The issue will be bought up at any and every opportunity.

If you succeed and make it work you will never hear of the subject again. If you value your own life and testicles you will under no circumstances attempt to get an acknowledgement that you were in fact right, not verbal, written or even sign language. Your own success will be your only warmth, but the smile you smile when she's not looking, that one of secret satisfaction, will be worth it.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:19 pm

Wise words, Stui, and every single one of 'em God's own Truth.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:10 am

Smart woman, now she wont have to wait another 6 months

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:02 pm

Little bit of relativity theory here but quite entertaining and a little WTF.

Playing tennis on the wings of a moving plane. I actually works.

http://www.discovery.com/tv-shows/mythbusters/videos/tennis-wing-walk-minimyth.htm

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:04 pm

That is something I haven't heard of.
3.14159 Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 2:57 pm

I went over to my friend Tony's place yesterdae to get him to look at my camera and see how the spouting project was going.
(I have spouting issue and I figured this a good place to get some experience).
I got to the gate and went to open it and my dog Doug jumped (as he does) to investigate a herd(?) of maybe a dozen big Eastern grey Kangaroos about 20 metres awae.
The bigger one's slowly reared-up to have a better look at this one big eye'd canine and the strange monkey it keeps as a pet.
I closed the gate and called Doug off. Not difficult because he's not stupid.
(Last time I was there I asked "is Doug was ok off the leash?"
"He's fine as long as he chases rabbits and not sheep".
About 2 seconds later Doug dashed passed, chasing a large hare!
I was about apologise because strictly speaking it wasn't a rabbit and tony's particular about stuff like that and I didn't want to start splitting hairs... tish boom!)
Anyhow I drove down the drive through the trees and found my mate (and his lovely partner B.) earnestly discussing a section of pipe he was planning to rivet to the shed.
I watched as B. gave him a running commentary of why what he was doing wasn't going to work and hadn't he noticed etd etc etc (micro-managing basically).
The missus used to do this to me so I watched in quiet awe as my friend got out his nibbler and tried to do the work with many patient explaination and a quiet determination.
I distracted the loverly B as often as I could with talk of wire strainers, stone grinders, Furphy boot scrappers and hay-stack needles. It worked for a while but B. kept wandering over to see how the work was progressing (slowly).
I told of the roos I'd seen by the gate and apparently there were at least 8 more than he;d ever seen down here etc.
The sun was getting low so I eventually left after a few hours drove home in very good mood.

What did I learn?

It's hard to get anything done with some-one looking over your shoulder & asking questions every 2 mins.

I also learned don't even think of approaching a bunch of eastern grey kangaroos with Doug.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:29 pm

Sunday night end of the weekend - sooooooooo ?????

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 9:04 pm

So ... she had an idea which was better than my idea, so I did that instead. That was yesterday; it was fine. Then she decided that it could be improved a little bit with some fine tuning. I said "leave it alone, the glue needs to set". So she fiddled with it and broke it. I went home.

Today we took levels on the other roof, then I did some different jobs while she and another friend worked on the troublesome junction (and also some other jobs). When I left to go home and watch the footy, they were still at it. But he is a very capable bloke, he'll get it right no worries. Meanwhile, I had successfully unbolted some roofing, made a set of shallow-angled packing bars out of some old timber to raise it a few inches at one end, shelving off to nothing at the other end ('coz the water won't flow uphill!). Together we removed the old gutter and raised the roof, and then I bolted the iron back down again. Next weekend, I have to remove the mounting brackets and remount them on the new angle, then the guttering can go back, she can connect the pipes up (she's brilliant with plumbing, I leave that to her), and the rain will start flowing into the water tank.

Err ... of course, by then, the rain will have finished for the year and the tank will sit empty until the end of autumn while the paddocks turn brown.

Life is like that. We will probably get the heater done by about November.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:06 pm

Well didn't learn it today per se but there are some truly great Aussies doing amazing things and what I learnt today is that I should get of my butt and nominate such folk for Aussie of the Year - so that some bloody celeb or highly paid athlete, scientist, medico etc doesn't get the gong again!

So my nominations are in no particular order:

Sean Willmore : President of the International Rangers Federation and Founder of the Thin Green Line Foundation. The former Victoria Parks Ranger has dedicated his life to nature and those that protect it.

Damien Mander: Founder & CEO of the IAPF - former Special Operations Sniper and Clearance Diver in the Australian Defence Force.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:24 am

That every action has a reaction and once parculiar people take a dislike there is no pleasing them.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 6 of 16