NAB Cup Preview – 2010

Feb 16th, 2010 | By | Category: AFL Match Preview, Lead Article

Well I’m back for another year ready and raring to go. This year, you can find my previews on the Nicks Homepage. As always, I’ll post them up on BigFooty as well, and will also be putting this on Hotrods for a bit more publicity. The amount of work I put in, I’d like to see them get a bit of exposure.

This first blog of the year will not so much be a match preview for the NAB Cup game against the Saints as it will be a Pre-Season preview. It will go through player by player and report on their pre-season training to date and who has impressed. For the one and only time this year, I will refer to Collingwood as ‘we’ quite a fair bit. I usually keep these impartial, but as this is pre-season and this is a purely Collingwood based piece, I see no problem is showing my bias!

I must say, so far the off-season has seemed pretty good from a Collingwood point of view. The acquisition of Luke Ball and Darren Jolly has obviously left all Collingwood fans impatient to see 2010 kick-off. Thankfully, we’ll all be able to see both run other this Friday night against the Saints in their Magpie debut.

Arizona was reportedly a success once again. The images that were posted onto collingwoodfc.com.au showed the players training really hard and doing some really gruelling fitness training.

The injury list is also quite light, with only 5 names on it. Dick and Rusling are perhaps the 2 most notable. Dick will miss half the year with a shoulder injury…whilst Rusling continues to be managed and may come into contention towards the later pre-season matches. Josh Fraser is reportedly moving freely and may be a surprise inclusion this Friday.

For now, I’m trying to keep a lid on it. Last year I was really pumped for pre-season and wanted to win the NAB Cup. We came very close, making the Grand Final but losing to Geelong. Unfortunately, I thought we hit season proper a bit flat. Perhaps flat from losing a game we obviously wanted to win…and again missing out on some silverware.

This time round, I just want to get through unscathed. I’d rather not have to travel to Darwin, which is where we will go if we lose. But I also don’t want to see any injuries, and I’d rather see a number of players tried out before the season proper. This is a year where I think we have to start seeing guys like Reid, Brown and Dawes push through into key posts. So I am keen to give them very big roles early in the NAB Cup so we can find out a bit about them. I also want to keep our experienced players fresh.

What to Expect from St.Kilda on Friday

It’s tough to read. The Saints are obviously coming off the back of a terrible week, which has seen Andrew Lovett charged with rape and has now been sacked by the club. No doubt the players will be pretty keen to get onto the footy field and put their off-season behind them.

Typically, Saints usually do OK in the pre-season. They have been premiers in 2004 and 2008. But, dating back to his Sydney days, Ross Lyon has never treated the pre-season comp with a lot of attention.

However, I think they will have looked very closely at Geelong, who won last years NAB Cup following their Grand Final defeat the year before. Geelong then went onto win the 2009 premiership. The Cats obviously let out all their frustration on the NAB Cup. After winning it, the club were able to focus on the season-proper, again brimming with confidence.

The Saints have had a tough pre-season having lost Ball for no compensation…and now having lost Lovett and their first round pick. But they will have a few new faces to keep an eye on.

In particular, Brett Peake will now become a really important player. Lovett was recruited to the club to add a bit of speed and goal scoring power. Without him, Peake looks a handy acquisition. He has speed and talent, which was finally becoming evident at Fremantle. He is a frustrating player as he goes missing…but at a strong club like St.Kilda he could be the beneficiary of having good players around him. Former Richmond ruckman Adam Pattison is also likely to debut for the Saints considering Kosi is likely to be out. We might also see the new Irish recruit Walsh get a game who has really impressed over pre-season.

Likely outs for the Saints include Hayes, Gram, Dal Santo, Koschitzke, McQualter, Eddy, Jessie Smith, Baker and Dempster. All did not play in their intra-club match. Nick Riewoldt will most likely play.

Interestingly, it will be Leigh Tudor to take the coaching reigns from Ross Lyon on Friday night. Gavin Brown will be coaching for Collingwood.

Saints proved last year against Hawthorn that they can win without stars. That is largely due to their very disciplined gameplan. There are many guys on the Saints list that I don’t believe would get a run for the majority of sides in the comp. But at the Saints they have a role and stick to it. Guys like Armitage and Steven are great replacements for Ball and Hayes.

Collingwood last year struggled to deal with St.Kilda’s zone and tough contested style of game. The bigger bodies proved too strong, and their defence was very hard to penetrate. Just because a lot of names will be missing does not mean they will be any easier to score against. Their defence will be close to full strength.

What to expect from Collingwood?

We on the other hand are likely to go in pretty strong. Anthony, Dick and Rusling are unavailable. Also, Dale Thomas and Josh Fraser must have a cloud considering they each only played the 2nd intra-club match, and both did not play full games.

Other than that, the list is very healthy and I think we’ll see a very strong line-up run out. I think if the player is fit and has done all the training, then he’ll play. That means guys like Davis, Didak, Cloke, Swan and co will play. So will Ball and Jolly. Wood may get his chance if Fraser is out. The club has said Fraser is pushing for selection, but I suspect they will look to bring him back in the 2nd week of pre-season games.

A lot may also ride on the condition of the ground. 2 ACDC concerts have been played at Etihad…and a soccer match will also be held. All this without a change in grass. If the ground is hard and patchy, I can’t see us risking Josh and may force us to also rest some other players.

I expect Blight to play. He has been a standout this pre-season and was pushing for selection late last year.

Apart from that, I don’t think the selection panel will elect to play many new kids. We may have to wait to see guys like Josh Thomas and Sinclair play.

I am hoping to see Ben Reid play on Riewoldt. This is the type of player Ben Reid must be groomed to play on. He is 195cm tall which makes him taller than Riewoldt. He is also extremely agile and quick. His endurance is improving and he has had a solid pre-season. Riewoldt will be played conservatively, so it is a good chance to get some exposure on him.

I’m also looking forward to seeing Dawes get some solid game-time. With the absence of Anthony and Rusling, Dawes has a spot and a chance to cement himself in the side.

The List.

1. Leon Davis – Has has a solid pre-season and was solid in the scratch matches. Enters 2010 as an All-Australian player, but still has failed to turn it on in finals. I have him marked an A minus player, and will only become a genuine A grader once he impresses in a final. I expect him to play the NAB Cup.

2. Sean Rusling – Has had another interrupted pre-season and is on the injury list with a hip complaint. Will not play Round 1 of the NAB, but will come into contention from Week 2 onwards. Considering he did not play 2009, and has had no match practice, I think the likely result is that he’ll have a hitout with the VFL team and perhaps come into contention for the last week of the pre-season. A make or break year for Rusling.

3. John McCarthy – Having a solid pre-season. Word is that he may be playing more forward this year in the absence of Dick. Should play on Friday night. Had an interrupted 2009, so with a solid pre-season, he is one of the fringe players really looking to push through in 2010 and make him mark.

4. Alan Didak – No worries for Alan. He is our A grader and will continue to play midfield in 2010. Will likely play on Friday night, but I expect him to be used sparingly. Looked sharp enough in the scratch matches.

5. Nick Maxwell – A non-fuss pre-season by the skipper and should be looking forward to leading out a very strong Collingwood side in 2010.

6. Tyson Goldsack – Another who has quietly gone about his business this pre-season. We haven’t heard a lot about him, but he’ll hopefully get a chance to impress in the NAB Cup. Is seemingly injury-free.

7. Paul Medhurst – Is flying after a dominant scratch match booting 5 majors. Is enjoying a good pre-season after missing all of the 2009 pre-season. Will be desperate to reclaim the spot he lost in the preliminary final against Geelong, and regain his All Australian form. We need Medhurst to get back to the 50 goal mark in 2010. Currently, he enters 2010 as a B grader in my books, but could easily be back to an A grade if he can stay fit. Will play on Friday night you’d think.

8. Harry O’Brien – Looking very good at training and ready to back up an outstanding 2009 where he established himself as an A grade defender.

9. John Anthony – has been restricted with a shoulder injury that will keep him out of the first game of the NAB. Has not played in the scratch matches either so we may not see Jack until late in the pre-season. Would be focussed on been fit for Round 1 at this stage. Jack is currently a B grade forward, so we’d all be hoping he can kick another 50 goals and improve on that rating.

10. Scott Pendlebury – A real standout on the track this pre-season, especially in Arizona. This despite the fact that he had a metal rod in his leg following from the break he sustained in 2009. The leg worries look behind him now, and he is set for a big 2010. Would be a smokey for the brownlow this year.

11. Shane O’Bree – A typically quiet pre-season from O’Bree. The veteran may be rested as we look to get some more time into Sidebottom and Beams…and of course Luke Ball. But expect Cheesy to be his usual consistent self in 2010.

12. Luke Ball – The star recruit is looking super fit. His arms are looking huge and he seems to be running as freely as he has in years. His size is going to be a huge bonus in the midfield. He will face his old club first up this Friday. His intra-club form was good, and he joined the boys in Arizona following his selection. Has done all asked of him and will be keen to turn himself back into an A grade midfielder.

13. Dale Thomas – We all want a break-out year for Daisy, but he has been slowed by a foot injury this pre-season. It was a foot injury that slowed him up in 2009 as well. He is back to training, and played a half in the scratch match last week. So it is all good news again. But I doubt we’ll see him this Friday night…or if we do he’ll be a sub. Will probably need to work on his fitness for the rest of the pre-season to be right for Round 1. Expect big things this year.

14. Anthony Corrie- Following a disappointing 2009, Corrie has had a slightly interrupted pre-season. Was unable to play the scratch matches and was seen walking around in a moon-boot. With Dick’s absence, a spot is available for him, but I’m yet to hear that he is fully fit again. Doubt he is in line for a spot this Friday night and faces a crunch year.

15. Leigh Brown – Big Lee Roy was clearly the best player over the 2 scratch matches, playing predominantly forward. There are others gunning for his spot in the team, but he continues to do what is asked of him, and I think we’ll see him play this Friday night.

16. Nathan Brown – We’ve all seen the photo’s. The bloke is huge and ready to re-cement his spot in the team. To do so, he’ll probably have to displace Leigh Brown. But we’ll see him this Friday night and he has had a very solid pre-season.

17. Dayne Beams – Dayne is another standout of the pre-season. Has bulked up considerably and is nearly at his ideal playing weight. Still raw in terms of games, but his added size has not disrupted his endurance or speed as he impressed in all the time-trials.

18. Darren Jolly – The other big fish to land at Collingwood has had a great pre-season. Was perhaps best on ground in the first scratch match, and was again serviceable in the second. Is looking super fit and has perhaps toned up a bit as well. Will look to push forward from ruck contests as he is a good mark. Will debut for the Pies this Friday night.

19. Cameron Wood – Woody is in for a tough year. He has had a solid pre-season, but will struggle for a spot with Jolly and Josh ahead of him. But he was serviceable in both scratch matches and has done nothing wrong. May play Friday night if Josh is not selected.

20. Ben Reid – This is the guy I’m keen on seeing. He has really bulked up, which was important if he wanted to play on the big forwards. It is hard to believe he is still only 20, yet he enters his 4th season on the list. Now a permanent defender, he has a big chance to cement his spot with good early pre-season form. Was solid in the scratch matches and looking really fit. Hoping to see him get Riewoldt first up.

21. Sharrod Wellingham – Wellingham is another looking really fit. Has been moved into defence this pre-season, where his form in the scratch matches was patchy. Won heaps of it, moved well, but his disposal was iffy. Should play this Friday after a really solid pre-season where he will get his chance to impress. At the moment, he is perhaps Collingwood’s 22nd or 23rd player. So he really needs to impress to cement a spot.

22. Steele Sidebottom – Steele has been another standout this pre-season. Has put on a bit of weight but is perhaps still a bit skinny. But his time-trials have been really good. He has won everything in that regards and is perhaps the fittest guy on the list already. His footskills were on show in the scratch matches and he is coming off the back of a really good finals series in 2009. Will look to cement his spot early in the NAB Cup.

24. Tarkyn Lockyer – No fuss pre-season by Tarks. Has participated in everything he had to. Whether he is rested or not this Friday will be interesting, but I’d say he’ll play.

25. Josh Fraser – Has not had a full pre-season, but that is to be expected considering his dodgy knee. He is been groomed as a roaming forward and part-time ruckman, which should suit him. May play this Friday despite not playing long in the 2nd scratch match. Realistically, I thin we’ll see him more in the 2nd round as he looks to hit full fitness before round 1. But he is now off the injury-list and participating in full training.

26.Ben Johnson – Not hearing much about Johnson but has had a full pre-season. His spot is contentious amongst Collingwood fans, but he seems a coaches favourite. Should play on Friday and continue in a tagging type role.

27. Jarrad Blight – Reportedly the standout of the pre-season. Was really good in the scratch matches and has trained the house down. Should get his chance in the NAB Cup. With his pace, there is definitely a spot in the team if he earns it. Looking really good and I’m excited to see him play seniors.

28. Ben Sinclair – Sinclair has impressed in pre-season training. It is his first year so I doubt we’ll see him in the NAB, although his form in the scratch matches may warrant it.

29. Ryan Cook – On his last legs, but has had a solid pre-season. Needs a big year, but it’s going to be very tough to break into the side.

30. Brent Macaffer – Got over his injuries last year to impress in the finals. Has had a good pre-season, playing predominantly in the midfield. I think we’ll see him play midfield on Friday night, however with a few forwards out he may be called upon there as well. Good to see him have a full pre-season.

31. Chris Dawes – Looking huge and having a good pre-season. Was great in the first scratch match where he kicked a few goals playing on Reid. He’ll play Friday night due to the absence of other forwards, so needs a big game to break through.

32. Travis Cloke – Had his pre-season interrupted in Arizona where he hurt his knee. Missed a bit of training after that and has been playing the intra-club games with strapping on the knee. But he is moving very good and was solid in both hitouts, having to deal with Presti. It’s a big year for Cloke, and all the news is positive as he seems to be overcoming the knee complaint.

33. Brad Dick – Hurt his shoulder and will not return until mid-year. Is also struggling to fill out, which will not be helped with a shoulder injury.

34. Alan Toovey – Having a good pre-season and will be keen to have a good NAB Cup. Is one whose spot will always be under threat.

35. Simon Prestigiacomo – A quiet pre-season. Looked a bit slow in the scratch match but expect the veteran to have another solid season. May be rested on Friday to give Nathan Brown and Reid a shot and we may have to expect the odd rest during the year as well.

36. Dane Swan – No fuss pre-season. Looked sharp enough in the scratch matches and is fully fit after a few niggles late in 2009.

37. Luke Rounds – Having a good pre-season. Hoping to see him in the NAB Cup, but I think he’ll miss selection.

39. Heath Shaw – Has been moved to the midfield, where he has starred in both scratch matches. His move in the midfield may open a spot up for Buckley or Blight. No doubt he will start in defence, but the club is looking to add a string to his bow incase he gets a tag. Looking really really good and set for a big year.

40. Josh Thomas – I am excited by this kid. A bargain selection in the 2009 draft and has been really solid in the scratch matches. I think he may be a surprise selection this Friday, perhaps as a substitute as he has good size about him already.

41. Simon Buckley – I think a really good recruit by Collingwood. Has not necessarily stood out on the track and his scratch matches were ok. Should debut for the Pies this Friday night in perhaps a half back role. Has really really good size about him and has bulked up. Seemingly over the injuries that ruined his 2009 and saw him delisted by Melbourne.

43. Jaxson Barham – Was prominent in the scratch matches but kicking still an issue. Will be vying for a spot this Friday, but may miss out. Is improving but has a long way to go. Having a decent pre-season but.

The Wrap Up

So if you haven’t fallen asleep, you will have gathered that the Pies have had a good pre-season and hit 2010 full of excitement. Can’t wait to see you all on Friday…but remember, let’s just keep a lid on it because Round 1 is far more important.

Can’t wait to see the new recruits in the black and white.

Pies by 10 on Friday night.

By David Natoli
aka DaVe86

Comments are closed.